We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing experience!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ravenwood Castle

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Plymouth
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ravenwood Castle
Save
You added Ravenwood Castle to your Saves list
65666 Bethel Rd., New Plymouth, OH 45654   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 New Plymouth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An amazing experience!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This place is fantastic!! My husband and I went for their beer tasting weekend. We looked forward to just getting away for awhile and it ended up being better than we could have imagined! We didn't want to leave.

We stayed in the Cinderella coach house which was great. Very clean. The bed was comfy and the fireplace was great after walking from the castle.

The beer tasting was great and we got to taste more beers than we expected with not only tastings at dinner both nights, but also at lunch on Saturday. The dinners were delicious! Cheese and (amazing) meatballs as an app, salad, and a great main course along with dessert each night. Lunch from the pub was also great, but not many choices so be prepared. I highly suggest having dinner in the great hall. Breakfast was also great. The cinnamon rolls were the best ever.

The innkeeper, Steve, was very helpful in teaching us some board games and playing along. Our first night, we made some great friends and played many board games throughout the weekend. Karington also joined us for a few. He was very attentive and often went above and beyond to make our stay even better.

I do recommend that if you travel there in winter, drive a 4 wheel drive vehicle or be prepared to park and be shuttled up to the castle (karington also was great at this). There is also no wifi and super rare cell service. We loved this and welcomed the disconnect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    23
    10
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
81
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We just returned from the BEST trip to Ravenwood Castle for our five year wedding anniversary. I'm not sure I'll ever be able to adequately express what a fantastic time we had in this review, so let me just begin by shouting: THIS PLACE IS SO MUCH FUN!!

The castle concept in quirky and fun and they do a great job pulling it off. There's so much to see around the building and around the grounds and they pay close attention to detail. We stayed in the Clocktower cabin, which was AWESOME, perfect for a romantic getaway-- beautiful woodwork, an electric fireplace and a huge whirlpool tub made it nice and cozy for our snowy weekend.

We participated in the Beer Tasting Weekend event and it was a blast. The owner, Jim, knows tons about beer and keeps an outstanding craft beer menu on hand. The whole staff seems to know their boardgames, too. The innkeeper, Steve, even spent one night teaching us new games. The whole staff was really wonderful-- so helpful and so much fun to be around. They treated us like friends.

Also, be warned: You probably won't get any cell reception. We were a little nervous about that, but it turned out to be just what we needed.

We loved this place so much! We can't wait to come back, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: The Clocktower cabin is well-worth the money; it's really cute and romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

My family came down to the castle for the Alice in Ravenland event. I appreciate how well the actors interacted with the children. This was a magical moment that my family will remember fondly.

We have 5 children so we got 2 rooms. The rooms were so large, I think we could have all fit in one room(but I don't think that's allowed). The castle and the rooms were very nice.

The staff was great and very attentive. Being a large family, it was nice at how attentive the staff was to my whole family. We enjoyed the board games they introduced us to. In fact, getting away from all the electronics in this castle is something we will definitely do again.

It was well worth the drive and a great place for a family weekend road trip. My kids didn't want to leave. I am sure we will be back soon. Thank you Ravenwood.

Room Tip: There aren't any grocery stores close by. We picked up some munchies on the way down and it was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Had a fantastic time at Ravenwood Castle Alice in Ravenwood event. The cast charaters did a fantastic job. The staff was always ready to help in anyway the could. Very friendly staff. My girls enjoyed the experience and are already talking about doing it again next year. Enjoyed the experience and the new found friends that we made. Very well planned event for the kids. If you travel in the winter make sure to watch the weather. The driveway is off the road and you have to go up hill to get to the castle. We got stuck - only because it was dark and didn't know where we were going. The staff got the car up to the castle. Thanks staff you rocked the weekend

Room Tip: King Arthur Suite is a beautiful room - it is located off the main floor and is two story suite with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Planned a trip to the castle to get away from everyday life and have a romantic getaway with my now fiance! We stayed in the Duke's Dungeon, it was a very inviting for being a dungeon! Had a great time by ourselves in our secluded room in the depths of the castle. We also got invited to play some games with the staff which we thoroughly enjoyed. Got to explore the surrounding area around the castle, everything was so well decorated and looked amazing. Will definitely be back again!

Room Tip: The Duke's Dungeon is the only room in the basement it is nice and secluded, and the stocks in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiffin, Ohio
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

This was our 4th visit to Ravenwood. We stayed in the Woodcutter's cabin. It was cold and snowy outside, but warm and cozy inside. The views of the castle and grounds are enchanting. The staff is awesome! We look forward to seeing the same smiling faces each visit. We live the theme when we visit and forget our hassles when we visit the castle. Ravenwood is one of our favorite places to visit. We can't wait to go to Ravenwood again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

This is our second stay at the Ravenwood Castle, and we loved it both times. The first time we stayed in the Duke's Dungeon and this time we stayed in Shakespeare's Room. The castle quiet and serene and located quite away off the many road through McArthur, nestled deep in the woods. It is the best place to stay in the area hands down. Great rooms, comfy beds, toasty fires and a fabulous breakfast is included. Steve was a wonderful host, very inviting and attentive to all of our needs. I would recommend it to anyone needing a romantic couples getaway.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ravenwood Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenwood Castle

Address: 65666 Bethel Rd., New Plymouth, OH 45654
Location: United States > Ohio > New Plymouth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in New Plymouth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in the woods of scenic Hocking Hills, Ravenwood Castle provides a charming setting with a medieval flair. Whether you are planning a romantic trip for two or a unique getaway for family and friends, Ravenwood Castle makes for an unforgettable destination. Ravenwood offers a wide array of accommodations, from castle guest rooms and Medieval Village cottages to rustic Huntsman's Hollow cabins and Gypsy Wagons. Our guests enjoy dining in the Great Hall and Tea Room, or relaxing with a drink in the Raven's Roost Pub after a day exploring the caves and trails of Hocking Hills. Whether your vacation includes outdoor adventure or simply a relaxing escape from the stresses of everyday life, Ravenwood Castle is your destination. Leave the hassle, come stay in our castle! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ravenwood Castle Hotel New Plymouth
Ravenwood Castle Ohio/New Plymouth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ravenwood Castle, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.