We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a family trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nelsonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins
Save
You added Happy Hills Campground and Cabins to your Saves list
22245 State Route 278, Nelsonville, OH 45764   |  
Hotel amenities
Hilliard, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great for a family trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We stayed at Happy Hills this weekend and really enjoyed it. The facilities are clean and well-cared for. The owners/operators are always on the property, accessible, and friendly. The atmosphere is a family-friendly place, so I felt comfortable letting my kids do things like run to office by themselves to rent bikes and get ice cream. We enjoyed the swimming and kayaking in the lake.

Room Tip: The cabins are VERY small, but they are well-kept, and the idea is to be outside anyways!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    5
    5
    4
    7
See reviews for
25
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

We just stayed this past weekend. The owners were very friendly, nice, and customer service oriented.

Friday night around 11:00pm they actually walked the campground to check up on things. We made some small talk and we mentioned that we were about to go to bed because we were running low on firewood. They told us to meet them at the camp store in a few minutes after they finished their walk through and we could pick up some more. We met them up there and sure enough, they gave us a few bundles to get us through the night.

The campground was very well shaded and the sites were good sized. There were no rowdy campers and very little traffic. The pedal carts were a cool feature and my 7 year old rode one most of the weekend. The lake was nice and the water was clean. Bathhouse was very average for a campground.

We had a great time and will be back for sure. Thanks!

The Gibson's/Mack's site #66

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We stayed here for Memorial Day weekend and the very next weekend too. Camp sites were nice and clean. There is a nice size lake (with crystal clear water) for swimming and fishing. They have built a man made beach in the lake. We did not use the bath houses as we have one in the camper, but what I saw was clean. The owners were very helpful and pleasant. They both stopped to check on our camper when I accidently left the water on. The campground is close to several of the popular parks in the Hocking Hills area. We will definitely be back and highly recommend staying here if you are camping in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Outstanding place and owners. Family and friends stayed there last weekend and it was wonderful . We have owned several campers and have camped in numerous campgrounds and this is one of the best. The restrooms were nicer than any we have ever seen. The lake, and area in general, were very clean. The owners were very friendly and went out of their ways to assist us with a small problem we had with our camper's electrical system. Overall the weekend was OUTSTANDING! We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miamisburg, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed here for Memorial weekend 2014. The Website advertises a list of what seems to be attractive options. Lakeside beach (mud hole), Basketball court (parking lot w/ a crappy Walmart portable backboard), pool (small single family pool at a side property), bath house (I'll address this later), game room (four games, very basic)...the sites were adequate but the ground was far from level and very soft.
Bring plenty of cash because your going to be nickle and dimed to death. Even after the nightly fee of nearly twice Hocking Hills NP rates. Fifth person on your site? FEE! Internet access? FEE! Car pass? FEE! Visitors? FEE! I was waiting for a fee to use the bathroom.
Speaking of the bathroom...the men's room had two showers and two toilets for I'm guessing roughly 100 sites. We stayed three days and I cleaned the toilet twice. Once, I'm assuming was a child with bad aim and the second time there was diarrhea sprayed everywhere. Totally unacceptable! On Sunday there was some sort of additional plumbing issue that required the water be turned off making the bath house off limits. I honestly don't know if this was an issue for an hour or much longer. We went to see some of the local sites and the water was on when we returned.
The sites are what I would call a short drive. 20 minutes to Ash cave. 30 minutes to Old Man's cave or Cedar Falls. 15 minutes for gas or a minimart.
The grounds do have quiet hours but there's really no way to enforce them. Crying babies are going to cry and dogs are going to bark. However, obnoxious, cackling drunks should be asked to leave. Without a refund which is their policy. You'll learn that quickly as "no refunds" is posted everywhere. This should have been another red flag.
I suggest you stay at Hocking Hills National Park. The sites are level and paved and the park is maintained. It has a community sized pool and an outdoor theater and plenty of swings. Plus you are right next to all the hiking trails.

Room Tip: Stay clear of this camp ground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Just to address some of the comments. We have had a very rainy spring and it rained off & on the entire week before Memorial Day weekend, so that is why the ground was soft at the site and why this person thought the beach was a mud hole, which is impossible because you can't make mud with sand. Having said that,the beach area was packed all weekend long!

Our rate includes 2 adults 2 children any additional people are $6 per night extra as indicates on our website. We give 2 hours of internet for free and when you log off the system, the clock stops. It is very easy to stretch that 2 hours over the entire weekend. If you need more than 2 hours while camping (enjoying nature) then you can purchase a 24 hour pass for $5, that's not per day, it's for 24 hours use of the internet, depending on how you use it, it can last quite a while. We do not charge for a car pass, but we do charge for visitors. This is because they do use our water, roads, and amenities. It also discourages car loads of people showing up at a person's campsite. Our visitor fee is $4 per person and that gives them full use of all the amenities. Everything is included in our rates, except for our boat & peddle cart rentals. Those are $5.

The basketball court is not a parking lot, it was paved specifically for kids to shoot baskets. It's not a crappy hoop from Wal-mart, we purchased it as Dunham Sports! We do our best to provide plenty of things for kids to do. It's a campground though not a sports complex!

The pool is located in the same place as it was when we purchased the campground. It may not be an Olympic size pool that you see at a sports complex, but we have a pool. It cools you off on a hot day, regardless of the size or location.

The number of showers and toilets are adequate for the number of sites we have without sewer hook ups. We have less than 90 campsites.

As far as the bath house, for some reason, lots of people who use public bath rooms, don't clean up after themselves. I have found that to be true at Lowes, Krogers, airports, etc. I don't understand why people don't clean up after themselves because they have to do it in their own home. It was pretty sad that some male decided to leave such a filthy disgusting mess behind for us to clean (yes, we cleaned it cause it actually looked like the person stood on the seat and squatted with his butt facing the wall projectile crapping all over the stall) Who does that? Only a filthy person who has no respect for himself or his fellow campers or a child who hasn't been taught what to do while in the bathroom by themselves. Based on the mess this person left, it was an adult, not a child. Probably a man who drank too much beer the night before. Personally, I don't even know how it's humanly possible to do it!

It's not an owners fault if someone can't clean up after themselves and leave it for the next person in line. We regularly spot check our bath house during the day and it gets cleaned every morning and every night. If people don't tell us that there is something wrong, we won't know about it until we go check ourselves. Even an anonymous phone call would be nice when someone leaves the stall in such a state so we can address it immediately.

On Sunday, yes we did have a problem with our water pressure. Because of the low pressure, the bath house toilets wouldn't flush and that is why we had to close it temporarily. We had to turn off the water to determine where there might have been a water leak. It's a process that involves shutting off the water and turning on one leg of water lines on at a time to determine if there is a leak. Once we identified where the problem was, the water was turned back on, toilets were flushed, and bath house cleaned.

We personally walked around the campground all 3 nights around midnight to ensure our campground was quiet. We did speak to a group, reminding them that it was quiet time and they assured us they were going to bed. We had a few complaints about this group the next day and we addressed it again with them, letting them know we had complaints. Some people just don't care and have no respect for their fellow campers, they feel that they paid to camp and they can do what they want as if it's their property.

We do our best to keep our park staying clean, but it would be nice if people did their part as well.. Memorial Day weekend is the busiest weekend of the camping season and it attracts all kinds of campers, we would hope that anyone that had a less than great stay with us would give us a try on any other weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, ON
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My husband and I stayed for 5 nights in our 35 ft 5th wheel and very much enjoyed this campground. We found the owner Daren very friendly and helpful.....which is important to make people feel comfortable. We stayed over the memorial weekend which was a very busy time for the campground. We watched as every single campsite filled up....mostly with families with children. We weren't sure what to expect, however at 11 pm (quiet time) each night...everyone was quiet! We noticed that they offered games and fun activities for all the kids. The playground filled up with kids of all ages each day and they all seemed to be having lots of fun whenever we went by. Our campsite #77 had a lovely view of the little lake. It's not too far away from all the attractions, i.e. Old Man's Cave, Cedar Falls, and the other trails.....about 30 to 40 minutes....and such a pretty drive to get there. We use our own facilities, however I did check out the washroom and it looked pretty clean considering it was one of the busiest weekends. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
happycampesr2011, Owner at Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you! We're glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

This place is a perfect get away for the family. We are seasonal campers at Happy Hills. This is our third year staying there. Darren, Lorraine and their kids are very nice, respectful, and they stay on top of everything. I was reading some of the reviews and I have to say that I understand the pool is far...... but it is a pretty walk..... just like there are many beautiful places to walk. We are on site #46, and it is partially shaded, which we don't mind. The view at dusk is amazing!!!!!!! I can say they do their best to take care of the bath house. But they can only do so much, I have witnessed couples leaving from either bathroom at night, people's trash (pop cans,fruit, etc...), also women standing on the counters, and throwing trash all over the floors. But I have to say that depending on the type of people that stay is how they can keep up with everything. If you get the trashy people you get a dirty place. This is my personal opinion. I would highly recommend to stay at Happy Hills!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Happy Hills Campground and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Happy Hills Campground and Cabins

Address: 22245 State Route 278, Nelsonville, OH 45764
Location: United States > Ohio > Nelsonville
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Nelsonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Happy Hills Campground and Cabins is a beautiful campground in the Hocking Hills featuring a private fishing lake, swimming pool, game room, playground, Modern spotless bath house, a laundry facility and a camp store. Happy Hills is conveniently located to the State Park attractions, as well as great shopping, antique malls, craft specialty shops, golf, ATV and bike trails, and restaurants.A Great Family Place"Happy Hills is the perfect retreat for couples, family, or friends to enjoy nature."FEATURES - Camping Cabins & Spacious Sites - Premium/Deluxe Campsites with patio, grill, table & chairs - Beach area for Lake Swimming - Swimming Pool 2' to 5' - Fishing Lake, Fun Boats, Paddle Boats and Rowboat & Kayaks - Game Room - WIFI - Laundry Facility - Shuffleboard Court, Playground, disc golf, and Horseshoes - Modern Clean Bath house - Camp Store with Groceries, Snacks, Necessities, Firewood, Camper - Parts,LP Gas - Quiet leashed Pets are Welcome - All sites have a Picnic Table and a Fire Ring, (perfect for star gazing) - Shaded Primitive Sites - 45 Acres of Relaxation, Good Times, and Happy Memories - Walking/hiking trails - Open for turkey and deer hunting season - 8 miles from ATV trails - Shelter House with planned activities ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Happy Hills Campground And Cabins Hotel Nelsonville
Happy Hills Campground And Cabins Nelsonville, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Happy Hills Campground and Cabins, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.