We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible, dirty, noisy place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Mt. Vernon

Super 8 Mt. Vernon
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Super 8 Mt. Vernon to your Saves list
Super 8 Mt. Vernon
1000 Coshocton Rd, St. Rt. 36, Mount Vernon, OH 43050   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Ocoee, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Horrible, dirty, noisy place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

Rooms are dirty, hotel is rundown and the owner cannot even speak English. Will not stay there again and would not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    16
    37
    22
    13
See reviews for
52
11
10
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

good breakfast &kids like pool.all res.nearby.good helpful staff.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

Rooms were clean and beds were comfy. Pool was warm and maintained. Breakfast was acceptable. Nice location. Only stayed for 2 nights-in town for my daughters competition. Not a bad stay at all.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McComb, Ohio
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2009

The place was fine for an overnight stay but nothing fancy or outstanding about it. The young lady at check-in was pleasant and helpful regarding the area.

Room was so-so and the bathroom fixtures could have been cleaned a little better but then again I think it was the water in the area. We did not go swimming but the pool area appeared clean and maintained.

Furniture in breakfast area was dirty but the breakfast itself was acceptable.

Its difficult to make a left turn out of the exit to go west and the parking lot was small.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2008

This is much nicer than one would expect. The rooms were clean. The breakfast is pretty good.

Two concerns:
This hotel needs new pillows. They were pretty flat and pathetic. Secondly, non-smokers have to walk through a hazy, smoked filled hallway to get to their rooms.

Also, I feel that it's a little overpriced for the market.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

I contacted Arika at the hotel to book my stay. She was wonderful. We arrived and found are room was nice for the price. Here are the problems I had though. My daughter is very sensitive to smoke so we booked a non smoking room. However, the hotel has the smoke smell all through the hallways leading to your room and it is heavy.
The reason I stayed was because my daughter was having surgery at the near by hospital and Arika did give me a 10% discount for that. I promised my daughter she could swim since she couldn't for a week after her surgery. We went out to eat and came back and the pool was closed. There was a problem with the chemicals. I understand they had to be safe but I asked for them to do something to reduce the price and they said I was already getting 10% off and the manager wouldn't be there until the morning. That is like saying "If you paid full price for your food and it's wrong, we will fix it. But since you had a coupon you should expect there to be a problem." My daughter was disappointed. I would stay here again if I could have a voucher for a reduced cost because of this problem.

  • Liked — clean room w fridge and microwave
  • Disliked — pool down w no manager on site and smoke smell
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, WV
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

This place was comfortable but needs some renovations. The hotel is small and the parking is very limited. If you couldn't park by the hotel and had to park by a cell phone store next door the hotel insisted you move your car by 8:00 the next morning or the cell phone store may tow your car. Nice neighbors. When I first entered the room it smelled like bug spray. It had a recliner, but it didn't recline and the footrest was bent so it couldn't be open or closed. The bed was comfortable though. In my reservation I asked for a quiet room away from the stairwell, entrances and the main road. They gave me a room right by the stairwell and the back door. I guess they could read the main road because the letters were smaller. The staff didn't seem that bright. They were slow and not very helpful. The pool area looked nice though and it was well used. I think shelling out the extra bucks for the Holiday Inn Express down the road a half mile would be the best option if I travel that way again.

  • Liked — The pool
  • Disliked — incompetent staff
  • Tips/Secrets — go elsewhere
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Super 8 Mt. Vernon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Mt. Vernon

Address: 1000 Coshocton Rd, St. Rt. 36, Mount Vernon, OH 43050
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Vernon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Mount Vernon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Close to Downtown and Restaurants with Indoor Pool, Super 8 Mt. Vernon hotel offers convenience for your travels. Located on Route 36, our Mount Vernon hotel is just minutes from downtown. Enjoy close proximity to local universities, golf courses and outdoor recreation. Stay connected from your Mount Vernon, Ohio, hotel room with free Wi-Fi. Our comfortable rooms also feature microwave, cable TV, hair dryer, refrigerator and access to guest laundry facilities. If you need to unwind from a long stretch on the road, swim in our indoor pool or book one of our Jacuzzi suites. We offer non-smoking and handicapped-accessible rooms, and free coffee in our lobby 24 hours a day. After a sound sleep, wake up to free SuperStart continental breakfast and get back to the road. Kids 17 and under stay free with an adult at our pet-friendly, Mount Vernon hotel. LOCAL ATTRACTIONS: If you love golf, choose from several challenging area courses, including Chapel Hill Golf Course, Hiawatha Golf Course and Irish Hills Golf Course. For a thrilling adventure, zip-line through the canopy of Mohican Wilderness. Canoe down the Kokosing River and fish for small-mouth bass along the way, or bike scenic, 14-mile Kokosing Gap Trail. Visit the childhood home of classic American composer Daniel Decatur Emmett or the historic Woodward Opera House. If you are in town for a campus visit, Kenyon College, Mount Vernon Nazarene University and Mount Vernon Campus of The George Washington University are all close to our Mount Vernon, Ohio, hotel. DINING OPTIONS: When you get hungry, choose from a range of nearby restaurants. Enjoy steak, ribs and pizza within walking distance at Jake’s, or try creative dishes in a casual atmosphere at The Alcove. Other choices include Ron’s Pizza and La Paloma Mexican Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Super 8 Mt. Vernon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Mount Vernon
Super Eight Mount Vernon
Mount Vernon Super 8
Mount Vernon Super Eight
Super 8 Mt. Vernon Mount Vernon, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Mt. Vernon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.