We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cabins at Deer Creek” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center to your Saves list
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
cincinnati
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Cabins at Deer Creek”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We too were in Cabin #8. It was the most disgusting place we have ever stayed in. The cabin was filthy and smelled of cat urine. The bathrooms were disgusting as was the carpeting and curtains with bugs disgustingly smashed on them. They have not been cleaned in years. We too had the racoons from 1:00 until 4:30 AM on top of our cabins. We will NEVER go back to Deer Creek. The cost was ridiculous for staying in a slum! BS Cincinnati

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
William G, General Manager at Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay at Deer Creek Lodge.

The type of experience you shared with us is certainly not what we strive for here at the lodge. Please accept my sincere apologies that we failed to provide you with a positive experience. I was concerned to hear about your experience with your cabin, because it indicates a lack of attention to detail on my part. Your comments have been discussed, and our team is doing a round of preventative maintenance to address these issues. I know that does not change your experience but I hope that you can feel confident that we heard your concern and are definitely doing something about it.


I apologize again for the problems, and thank you for taking the time to let me know about it. Without your guest feedback we cannot continue to improve our services.

Bill Griffin
General Manager
Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    61
    19
    19
    11
See reviews for
86
59
5
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I don't want to do one of the long rambling reviews but do yourself a favor and stay out of cabin 008. I'd retain more sanity at the Overlook Hotel. Raccoons or whatever scratching the walls/floors from 1-3 a.m., long nasty hairs pasted on the bathroom walls, unidentified persistent odor, door frames and toeboards that are falling apart, and wall sockets that have no hope of securing your plugs. The sockets I understand were an issue in all the cabins. The monthly rate on that cabin was $5000. You'd have to be insane to pay that. $170/night is absurd for a cabin this shabbily constructed. Having said that the park itself is beautiful. The pools were ok though we had to revolt in order to the outdoor one open during the one day of sunshine we had. Great park, awful cabins. Spare me the canned apology Mr. Griffin you guys got your money and I'm guessing we aren't getting any of that back, wouldn't come back even if we did. Sad because it is such a nice park. Oh well.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to get away for a few days with the kids and we chose Deer creek. The restaurant was good with great service and that's about it. The lodge is small, the indoor pool was dirty and the hot tub was broken. The game room was a joke....the token machine gave out the wrong amount of tokens....that didn't really matter since the games didn't work! We found a table one afternoon to sit and have a packed lunch and my three year old fell out of the chair because it was broken. Over all not a great experience. At check out we brought up some of the issues and received no apology. We did not get what we paid for.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Ohio USA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Great place to vacation-Rooms-Pool-Food are excellent -View is beautiful Feels like you are in Upper Michigan or Wisconsin and you are only 45 min. from Columbus. More Ohioans should enjoy the experience!

Room Tip: Pool rooms are great but a little expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

A group of the family stayed July 3rd for a cookout on the 4th. Our 4 rooms were not together when we told they would be but other then that no complaints about the room. We ate at the resturant which took forever and was pricey but the food was good. Starbucks from the giftshop was good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I had a great weekend away for a business training! I am excited to plan a trip for my husband and I to come back and visit. Very relaxing atmosphere! Was surprised that they had such a nice pool and playground equipment. Plus who can complain when you can still get your Starbucks lattes (at the gift shop), and be in the middle of no where!! Heaven!

Room Tip: Lake/Woods view is so wonderful! Peaceful being able to sit out on the patio and enjoy the scenery.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We met friends for a weekend break from the hustle and bustle and for the money Deer Creek Lodge definitely delivered. The views of the lake were outstanding from the lobby and attached patios. The entire resort was very clean including rooms, public areas and pools. The entire staff that we had contact with was outstanding. Very friendly and helpful including housekeeping, front desk, activity director and lifeguards. Our only disappointment was the food and service at the restaurant. It was average at best, although the fried catfish was pretty good. The restaurant clearly was not up to the level of everything else here. Nice little gift shop and the lounge served an outstanding pizza. Next time will definitely use the lounge more.

Room Tip: We did not pay extra for a lake view and will do so next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center

Address: 22300 State Park Road 20, Mount Sterling, OH 43143
Location: United States > Ohio > Mount Sterling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mount Sterling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by more than 3,100 tranquil acres, Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center is just 30 minutes south of Columbus, Ohio. We offer 110 guestrooms perfect for a quiet and romantic weekend getaway or a fun-filled family reunion. All lodge guestrooms have a private balcony or patio to give you a scenic view of the park, lake or outdoor pool. We also have 25 two-bedroom cottages (three with roll-in showers), each with a fully equipped kitchen, full bath, living room, dining area and a screened-in porch. Rafter's Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner; the gift shop operates seven days a week. Our 18-hole championship golf course is diverse, challenging and exciting for golfers of all skill levels. Other things to do: boating, fishing, hiking, cycling, camping, and many more recreational activities! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Creek Hotel Mount Sterling
Deer Creek Lodge And Conference Center Ohio/Mount Sterling

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Creek Lodge and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.