We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long time Cincinnati resident, disappointed with long time Cincinnati restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Montgomery Inn

Montgomery Inn
9440 Montgomery Rd., Montgomery, OH 45252
513/791-3482
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Montgomery Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 13 Restaurants in Montgomery
Price range: $8 - $40
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Entertaining clients, Families with children, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Cooper Road
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Long time Cincinnati resident, disappointed with long time Cincinnati restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

So, when you read the reviews for Cincinnati the books say visit The Montgomery Inn. My latest visit was on New Year's Eve at around 9.30pm when the crowd had left. My wife and I sat at the bar and for the first few minutes three bar staff passed by us and we were not acknowledged. Eventually we managed to attract the attention of the bar staff, ordered a drink and looked at the menu. During this time, one of the bar staff in particular was loud, self centered and very self absorbed.

We orderded, the food came and it was acceptable. A few years ago a salad was included in the price of the meal, but alas no more as it is now an extra item on the menu. Now everyting seems to be an additional charge.

Bottom line is this - the food here is OK but they charge top dollar for the product and for about half the price go to Texas Roadhouse - heck even Quaker Steak and Lube.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    58
    47
    10
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Such a special place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The food is amazing. We selected the Old Montogmery location for our wedding reception. They took great care of us - such good care we go back every year for our anniversary (3 years in a row). Montgomery Inn always has the best servers, and takes excellent care of their customers. My husband and I will continue going here every year!

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maineville, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bets Ribs in Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Great food, wonderful service, best restaurant around. If you don't like ribs they have great steaks, seafood & chicken dishes. The crosstini is the best that I have ever eaten. Food is cooked to perfection and always have gotten great service.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Great ribs, great BBQ sauce”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

This is a Cincinnati institution. Boathouse or in Montgomery. Huge restaurant, but there is a wait unless you get there early. I had not been there in a while, but the ribs were great- well cooked and the Montgomery Inn BBQ sauce is wonderful- very tasty - sold in grocery stores. We had a chocolate volcano dessert that was chocolatey but not great. You can get BBQ chicken, etc if you want. I did not like the brisket.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love the ribs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What more can be said. The ribs as usual were simply great. Large serving size, although a little pricey. The sauce that is used makes all the difference in the world. The atmosphere is very inviting - casual or dressy does not matter. Service has always been great here. I think many waiter staff remain here for years (that says something). The Saratoga chips make wonderful starters. We will continue to come here again and again

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montgomery Inn also viewed

 

Been to Montgomery Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montgomery Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.