We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victorian House

Victorian House
484 Wooster Rd., P.O. Box 126, Millersburg, OH
+1 330-674-0022
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Attractions in Millersburg
Type: Historic Sites, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This 28 room Victorian mansion is owned by the Holmes County Historical Society in Millersburg Ohio. The home is used for a dual purpose and also house the artifacts of the society. A self guided tour is enhanced by docent information. The society also has a Millersburg Glass Museum located next door to the mansion and discounted combo tour tickets are available for both museums. The house has been featured on HGTV and Victorian Homes Magazine.
Cleveland Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

I live in Ohio and never knew about the Victorian house in Millersburg. We planned a visit during a trip to Amish Country. It happened to be the weekend that the house opens back up decorated for Christmas. It was stunning and definitely put the spirit into the Christmas season. Every room was a delight. I was amazed at the level of preservation of the interior. Each room brought oohs and aahs from our group. It was well worth the trip to Millersburg.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Munhall, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Self-Guided Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Nicely restored Victorian house. Unfortunately virtually all of the original furnishings were not available and were replaced by 'typical' furnishings. Some of the displays in the house are out of place, e.g. a reconstructed local barber shop.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A sight to see! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Sundays in Amish country are quite. Which led my husband & I to this lovely home. We are antique enthusiasts and we really enjoyed our self guided tour. From the titles in the fireplaces to the detail paint of the family crest in the living area this place takes you back to appreciate good craftsmanship. I highly recommend stopping here to see this restored mansion.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersburg, Ohio
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A must see for Victorian Home enthusiasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I recently became a hostess at the Victorian House in Millersburg, Ohio, and want to take this opportunity to tell folks a little about the House. It was built in 1902 by a wealthy Cleveland, Ohio, industrialist, L.H. Brightman. In 1906, his business outgrew Millersburg, so they sold the property in 1906 to 2 individuals who used the house for a sanitarium. That venture lasted 2 years and the property was then sold to H.C. Lee and it remained in the Lee family until 1971 when it was sold at public auction to the Holmes County Historical Society. The furniture was also sold at auction. The furniture now in the House has been either gifted or loan to the Society. Carpets have been replaced with other "old" carpets.

The Society had their work cut out for them. The House was in a deplorable condition! The last resident of the House, Lena - daughter of H.C. Lee - lived in 2 rooms on the main floor and heat was provided by a coal stove. which covered everything in black soot. After washing at least 6 times it was discovered that the woodwork was light. The hand-painted ceilings were washed and floral detail was discovered. They were freshened up by an artist and the beauty was brought back to life. Much of the wallpaper is original and whereeve wallpaper was needed, it was replaced with a similar pattern.

This is a self-guided tour. The hosts will tell you the history of the House and other neat tidbits! The House consists of 3 floors, 28 room and a basement. Some of the bedrooms are used for special exhibits from the community. We are pleased to have an "open" museum where most areas are not roped off and you are free to room and examine the displays at your leisure. Each room contains a posted narrative about the room, along with other information posted throughout the House. Family decedents of the Brightman and Lee families have provided us with pictures of the family and House which hang throughout. This year, we started to allow visitors to take pictures in the House.

Recently a husband and wife from Illinois visited the House. They tour Victorian Homes throughout the US, and stated that their favorite Victorian Home is the "Molly Brown" Home in Colorado. Our House is now their second favorite! They commented on how nice it was to view our Victorian House and not be restricted by roped-off areas.

At Christmas time, we "deck the halls"! Each room of the House is decorated is all the Christmas beauty. It is a popular attraction in December and a must see.

And--the House is haunted!!! We have had professional paranormal investigators at the House numerous times over the years, and recently, have conducted Paranormal Nights to allow a limited number of individuals to come in and discover our friendly "residents"! We have a paranormal investigating team present at these events to educate the guests and allow them to see the equipment used to detect the paranormal.

Whether you are a history buff, Victorian era buff, or into the paranormal, we would welcome you to our Victorian House.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“What a lovely surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We've seen Victorian mansions before, and thought this would similar ... BUT, instead it is a home that has been lovingly renovated and some of the bedrooms made into period specialty exhibits, e.g., a dentist's office, a law office. Run by volunteers, it's well worth an hour of your time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Victorian House also viewed

 

Been to Victorian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victorian House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.