We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Millersburg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Millersburg to your Saves list
Hotel Millersburg
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   35 W. Jackson Street, Millersburg, OH 44654   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 3 nights - 10% off.
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Millersburg
Lone Star, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Normally not ones for historical (aka "old") hotels for overnight stays, we booked our stay at the Hotel Millersburg with hesitancy. We could not have been more pleasantly surprised. The room was clean, as was our bathroom, and wonderfully quiet. The staff was pleasant and the owner took time to chat with us on several occasions. We also enjoyed a lovely meal at the restaurant with a very friendly and downright jovial waitress. The price was excellent. Granted, it is not the Waldorf Astoria, but for a small town with lots of history we highly recommend staying and eating here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    28
    13
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
32
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rootstown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wanted to spend a couple days on the motorcycle riding central Ohio over Memorial Day weekend. Stayed here for the first time and found the hotel to be in excellent condition with very well appointed rooms. For being the 3rd oldest operating hotel in Ohio it's in great condition. The tavern/restaurant was excellent with really good service. All staff encountered was very helpful. Loved the 12 foot ceilings.

Room Tip: 214 overlooks the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware,OH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

On several occasions we have stayed at Hotel Millersburg and were thoroughly delighted. It has undergone quite a restoration of the entire property fairly recently. The rooms are smallish but quite adequate for the two of us. We have always had a clean well kept room and had a pleasant experience.

The hotel restaurant serves very tasty food and beverages at affordable prices. Their angus beef is particularly very good with adequately sized portions. We also enjoy the ambience of a location over 100 years old and this is one which is pleasant. We plan to return as often as we can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Ohio
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

I'm originally from Holmes Co so when I visit the area I'm usually eating at a relative's home and not at a local restaurant. However, several years ago we ate at the Hotel Millersburg and have been back several times due to the positive experiences. All of our meals, except one, have been excellent. The one meal which was bad the server profusely apologized and explained the regular cook was off sick and a sous chef was in charge. She removed the meal from the bill and encouraged us to please return. We did and I ordered the same thing and it was delicious.

I also wanted to mention that my wife hosted my niece's baby shower on the brick patio several years ago. She reported a wonderful experience w/ the hotel owner and restaurant staff and they were very amenable in allowing her to decorate the patio as she pleased. They had a burger cook-out theme and the whole experience was well-received by all the guests.

This dining experience is a welcome change from the usual 'amish' fare the area is known for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth, wv
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Quaint, historic (circa 1847) hotel in small quiet town. My wife and I stay here when visiting the Ohio Amish centers of Berlin, Walnut Creek, et al. It's about a 10-15 minute ride from those places. I started my review with the location because that is what we like best about it. Millersburg is a small town where one can safely walk the streets and explore the handful of craft and antique stores. The hotel itself is a bit worn, as you can imagine, but is reasonably clean and adequate for our needs when visitng the area. An in-house restaurant adds to the conveniance. If you prefer unique places to stay and to eat as opposed to chains, this should fit the bill quite nicely, as long as you're not too picky.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here fall 2012. We had a very small room but it was charming. It was near Sugarcreek and all those place,about a 10-15 minute drive. After having dinner out there we had some drinks at local pub right down the street,it was great and the bartender was very friendly,such a hometown feel defiantly recommend checking it out! We didn't get to try out the restaurant in the hotel but im sure it was lovely. I would defiantly stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connellsville Pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel three times in the last two years. It reminds me of a small hotel in London or somewhere else in Europe. The first time we stayed, our room was tiny. We learned to look at the rooms on the website and choose the particular room we wanted. It WAS NOT dirty. The decor is quirky, lots of Victorian wallpaper, pictures, etc. Our room had a fridge and a microwave and two big beds. So much better than staying in a generic chain hotel.
Barbara K, Pennsylvania

Room Tip: Get a room which looks out on to the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Millersburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Millersburg

Address: 35 W. Jackson Street, Millersburg, OH 44654
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Millersburg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Millersburg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Millersburg 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Hotel Millersburg welcomed its first guest in 1847 when it opened as a stage coach stop. Hotel Millersburg has kept up with the times, offering in each room private bathroom, hair dryer, television with remote, coffee maker, and air conditioning. Elevator service is provided to all three floors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Millersburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millersburg Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Millersburg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.