We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   11600 US 250 Milan Road, Milan, OH 44846 (Formerly Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Overall Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I went to the Hampton in Sandusky as part of a trip with my family. It is close to Cedar point which was good for us because that was the reason we stopped in Sandusky. We got two king beds and one queen all for about $180 per night. The room was very large (it was once a meeting room) and fairly clean, although it did have some coffee stains on the ground. The staff was very nice, and the free breakfast was good. The only complaint I have is that we asked for a late checkout and the only way they would give us one was for about $80 more, which is almost half of what we paid for the room. I think that is kind of ridiculous. Overall it is a good hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
I’m glad you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to go to Cedar Point. We do all we can to create a great experience for each of our guests; actively looking for ways keep costs low and offer enhanced services for comfort and convenience. I appreciate your feedback about your late check-out charges as it provides valuable feedback for the future. The next time you are in the area, please consider staying with us at again.
Drew Schaeffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    65
    28
    15
    5
See reviews for
68
44
15
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Washington, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I read several reviews as we were driving in late at night and was a little worried! All for nothing though. The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and helpful as well. I honestly think some people could find something to complain about anywhere. Don't be afraid because of reviews. Typical Hampton stay:). (Very small beds though!)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the postive feedback from your stay with us. i hope that you will come stay with us again when traveling in the Sandusky/ Milan area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed in this hotel in the Sandusky/Milan OH area. It was very nice and the front desk was very helpful. Was not sure if this was the correct hotel that we'd made a reservation earlier as there were two Hampton Inns along Rt. 250. It was and we were fine with the room. We had eaten dinner in Norwalk as we knew of the Berry's restaurant so we did not have room service. I again would recommend this Hampton as I would most as they usually do not disappoint.

Room Tip: They asked us if we would take a room with two beds which was fine for us. They had overbooked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Came to Sandusky, OH for a family reunion for 4 days. We booked two rooms with an adjourning door at this hotel. As soon as you walk into room 220, the urine smell slaps you in the face. Once you get pass the first bed, the smell goes away. We were so tired upon arrival we just went to bed. The next day, you could hardly smell anything. Left the room, spent the day out and about and at the pool. When entering the room, again you get the urine smell. We had housekeeping change all the linen. Still the room smelled. It felt like I was sleeping in mildew/damped room. The other room had not problems. This is not an original Hampton Inn where most "true" hamptons are three stories. As a diamond hilton member, I was very disappointed. Breakfast wasn't all that exciting either. Staff was friendly and provided us with a can of frebreez.

Room Tip: Read trip advisor first. I believe if I would have read this site first, I would have skipped this...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience at my property. I’m very disappointed that your stay was not all it could have been and you left feeling unsatisfied. I often times utilize guest reviews to assess insights within our hotel operations and I have reviewed your feedback with the hotel team and we are now actively taking steps to freshen our guestrooms. Once again I apologize that your stay with us was not satisfactory. I appreciate your time in reviewing our hotel and hope that if you are in the area again you choose to stay at my property so that your unsatisfactory experience can be a good one.
Drew Schaeffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel met the normal standards of a Hampton Inn. Staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were very nice, air conditioning worked very well. The hotel is just in need of some updating. The housekeeping was excellent, however the rooms were beginning to show their age.

The price however, was very high, especially for a Hampton Inn, though that is it be expected in a tourist area such as this. For the price I could have stayed at any umber of 5 star hotels in other non tourist areas.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had the misfortune to stay at the Hampton Inn Sandusky (6100 Milan Road) and then at the Hampton Inn in Milan (11600 US250 Milan Road). I had to write this because the others said it was sooo good. It was because the Sandusky OH hotel was so bad, we had to move to the Milan Hampton. I was hoping for a nice stay with my family on the last day of a terrific vacation. Hampton (Hilton) ruined the terrific memory. It was a nightmare !! At Sandusky OH Hampton, Room (Rm 316) smelled of smoke covered up with perfume. Pool was disgusting- too hot in pool area. Toilet broke - manager couldn't fix it. I asked for another room. Phone in room called Hilton Reservation line instead of front desk. I had to walk down to the front desk for assistance. I asked for another room but there were none, so manager (Spencer) called the Milan facility and got us a room there.

Now, its 10:30 PM and we had to pack up and drive 5 miles to the other Hampton. I was expecting a nicer room, but no! Room 214 had no closet and an AC that must have been broken. It made loud sound like helicopter when starting up a new cycle. High and low fan were same rate. The room was damp and smelled of urine. Dirt on toilet seat cover (see photo). Everything was moist and seemed wet. Also, my bed was next to air duct (see photo). This made sleeping extremely difficult (slept only 3 hours). The next morning I noticed that there was no security cameras on back door. Really? I value my family and safety is paramount when I stay somewhere. Who knows what could have happened.


In my sleepless state I was smart enough to cancel my second night and booked a room at a Marriott an hour away. (Marriott was beautiful I might add.) There were restaurants around the Milan hotel (like Bob Evans just down the road) where I could get a good breakfast for my family. By the way, the free breakfast at the Milan Hampton had the most disguisting processed cheese omelets that looked like they were 15 years old.

I hope this review will be helpful to other Dads who want to show there kids a good time at Cedar Point. Stay away from the Hamptons in this area. They did 'comp' me for the stay, but I must get this review out there since these other people must have stayed in a different room. These events and rooms ruined the end of a perfect vacation.

Room Tip: Please don't stay here. Spend a bit more for hotels or even the Water Park Hotel down the stree...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Drew S, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the bad smell during your stay. We understand that travel is very important and try to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. Our closet in the room is outdated as it is a wardrobe closet, sorry for that inconvenience for you to think there was no closet at all in the room. We have worked with our maintenance team to correct the other issues in your room. Again, I apologize for the level of service you experienced while you were here. This is not typical of our hotel and we hope you will consider staying with us In the future.
Drew Schaeffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just spent 2 nights at this hotel and overall it was a nice stay. The big negative is location- while it is very easy access on the turnpike, there is literally NOTHING nearby. The only close Mcdonalds is not 24 hour and it does close early. We drove in from Ashland and never passed a gas station that was open and no restaurants. It is close to Cedar Point, about a 20 minute drive to Cedar Point but not difficult at all so it was fine for that.
Our room was clean, beds are very small doubles and not the usual Hampton fluffy beds but it was clean so thats a big plus for me. :) They definitely need to update the furniture in the rooms and add a fridge and microwave like most Hamptons have now especially given the location of the hotel since nothing is close. I will comment on my shower- there was only the "fabric" shower curtain that was too short (no usual Hampton shower liner) for the tub so the entire time I was showering, water was running out all over the floor. There was no way to keep it in because the shower curtain was above the edge of the tub so I had to use all the towels provided to mop up all the standing water on the floor. That was a real inconvenience I will say....but again I say at least the bathtub was clean.
The breakfast area was spotless and well stocked. On Tuesday the breakfast hostess was constantly making sure everyone had what they needed and she was extremely nice.
Overall a good experience and I would definitely stay again ( I think I would request a new shower curtain though.)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH

Address: 11600 US 250 Milan Road, Milan, OH 44846 (Formerly Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan)
Location: United States > Ohio > Milan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH 2.5*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Sandusky/Milan Hotel Milan
Hampton Inn Milan
Milan Hampton Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH Milan, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Sandusky South, OH, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.