We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice stay, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Middletown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Middletown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Middletown
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   6575 Terhune Dr., Middletown, OH 45044   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Middletown
PA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice stay, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

A few friends and I went to a conference in monroe ohio, and this was one of the conference hotels to choose from. I was initially nervous, and didn't know what to expect. We were glad we chose this hotel. The staff was friendly and rooms were clean. I was so glad to walk into a very clean bathroom. Our stay was very comfortable (not luxury but nice). Our location was great! We were surrounded by multiple restaurants and shopping centers (Cracker Barrel, Olive Garden, Applebees, Walmart, Target and many more). My only complaint would be that the pillows were way to soft (mushy). Overall we had a nice stay and I would return if I came back to the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    15
    13
    6
    0
See reviews for
23
3
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kingston, Tennessee
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010

I stayed here in mid June 2010 for several days on a business trip to AK Steel. The hotel even offers a discounted rate for contractors there. Given the size of the facility, I would imagine a good percentage of business travelers might be doing the same. Its also very close to the facility, just a couple of miles away the south east entrance. Breakfast is served 6:30 to 9:30 and is good (bacon, eggs, sausage gravy, fruit, pastries, juice and milk). The pool is on the first floor inside, with a hot tub. they are open till midnight, with the last hour adults only. My room was clean, AC cold, good table with outlet for laptop charging. No fridge or microwave in room 223. Access is good from the parking lot from either end or the lobby in the middle. the local road is a little tricky, requiring you to around by turning off 122 and taking 3 lefts to get to the hotel. If you turn right out of the parking lot, you can't get back to 122 easily, just go back left around. I would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville KY
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2010

Staff was excellent at this well kept property. Inside pool clean and inviting. Rate of $81 for two bed room was an excellent buy. This is 3 story hotel with elevator. There is considerable construction at this time on I-75 and access roads at this Middletown location but the congestion is managable. Cracker Barrel,Olive Garden,Lone Star, Wendy's very close to hotel. Kroger's grocery across street. Hotel breakfast from 6:30-9:30 was well stocked with good service. Front desk service is really excellent with caring helpful attitude. Coffee and tea available all day in breakfast area. This is not a new property but it is very clean and exceptionally managed. For shoppers the Cincy Premium 100 store outlet center is on I-75 at exit 29 at Monroe just a few miles from the hotel. Hotel Business center with free computer and printer working and convenient.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2009

We stayed one night at this hotel. We were traveling with our 8 yr. old son. The hotel is close to a movie theater which was a plus. The hotel employees were friendly enough. The room was clean and the mattress and bedding were very comfy. The floors did squeak more than they should have but most noises were drowned out by the a/c in the room. We were able to get a good night's sleep without being awoken. Overall, it was a good value for the money. We would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

I chose this hotel for a one night stay because of its location on I-75 and relatively quick drive (about 12 miles) to King's Island amusement park. Had all the things I wanted for my 2 boys -- indoor pool, decent breakfast, and 2 large beds. Found the room clean, smoke-free. Chose the top, third floor. The evening was quiet. Desk staff was helpful when we were looking for a pizza place that would deliver. Convenient to restaurants, gas stations and supermarkets.
Only issue is that it's a little tricky getting to the place and back out to I-75. I had stayed here in April, so I knew my way around.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2007

We stayed at this property 9/1/2007 - 9/3/2007. We had 2 rooms, each with 2 queen beds. Our rooms were adjoining. We used this as a place to sleep while we spent 2 days at Kings Island. This was not the closest Holiday Inn Express by any means, it was about a 20 minute drive from the park. We knew that going in, it did not bother us. We had a nice stay.

Pros:
*The beds were very, very comfortable, linens were clean and very soft (seemed to be a high thread count), 4 pillows on each bed and were labeled (two firm, two soft). Blanket had a sheet on the top and bottom covering the blanket entirely, plus the normal sheet and a fitted sheet.
*The hotel website photos are a very acurate representation of what the rooms look like. Modern furniture, looked as if the room was recently renovated.
*The room was exceptionally clean, except for one thing (see cons).
*Free breakfast in the morning.
*Nice clean (although very small) indoor pool and hot tub.
*Well lit parking lot.
*Plenty of restaurants close by, several within walking distance.
*Towels were very soft and bright white.
*Bathroom adequately stocked with shampoo, conditioner and a hairdryer.

Cons:
*Mold/mildew in grout around bathtub. The rest of the room was very clean. I saw no other issues. I took away one circle on the rating for this.
*Breakfast was over at 9:30. I think 10:00 would have been more appropriate but this is personal preference.

In summary, the pros outweighed the cons and I would stay here again. The grout looked like something that could be easily fixed by maintenance. If you are looking for a clean, well-appointed basic hotel/motel room this is a good choice.

FYI - This hotel is not a suite hotel - at least the two rooms we had were not suites. We did not have a refrigerator or microwave. I did see a refrigerator in the supply room, I bet you could ask for one.

  • Liked — The beds were very comfortable. I slept very well here.
  • Disliked — The grout around the bathtub.
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Middletown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Middletown

Address: 6575 Terhune Dr., Middletown, OH 45044
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Butler County > Middletown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Middletown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Middletown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Middletown, Ohio is conveniently located near restaurants and shopping. We are right off of I-75 at exit 32. We are located 35 miles south of the Dayton International Airport and 45 miles north of the Cincinnati/Northern Kentucky Airport. The hotel is located within 15 miles of Kings Island Amusement Park and The Beach Waterpark. If your are into flea market shopping, Trader s World is a short distance from the hotel. For the business traveler the hotel is also within minutes of AK Steel, Wausau Paper, Proctor & Gamble, General Electric and Miami University. We feature 64 spacious rooms ; with indoor heated pool and hot tub; complimentary Express Start breakfast each morning. Our staff is friendly and willing to assist you in finding a great place to dine or directions to any of our local entertainment. If you are looking for a convenient location for your trip, then come and stay with us on your next visit. We look forward to seeing you at the Holiday Inn Express, Middletown, Ohio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Venere, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Middletown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Middletown Hotel Middletown
Holiday Inn Middletown
Middletown Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Middletown Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Middletown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.