We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely updated hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7230 Engle Road, Middleburg Heights, OH 44130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Nicely updated hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

We stayed for one night. Upgraded due to our priority club status. Room had a balcony, looked over parking lot. Balcony needed cleaned up. Room was pretty and bathroom was tiny. Room seemed clean but there was hair behind the bathroom door. EWW. Lobby was pretty and bar was really cute. Looked like a wine cellar! Met Irish Rose there. Fab bartender!! Sweet and attentive! Amiee who was with her was also very nice!! We hung out in the lobby after dinner and met some nice people. There was a large church meeting and boy, everyone was dressed beautifully!!! I had breakfast and the food was good. The cut watermellon was to die for!! Hostess for breakfast was nice and my server was sweet! One area I found lacking big time was the outside. Only place to sit was benches where the smokers sit. I dont smoke so sitting by an ashtray is yuck to me! The area outside of the pool needs a complete re vamp. All the furniture was broken and beat up looking. I would put lounge chairs on the top level and some cute round tables w pretty umbrellas on the lower level. This would offer guests a nice outside area. There were speakers but no music was playing. Hopefully this is in the plans to re do ASAP!~!Overall, I would come back. Staff seemed very nice! The outside areas all need a bit of a spruce up,

Room Tip: It you like to be outside try for a balcony room. Not the best view(parking lot) but you can be outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    34
    19
    12
See reviews for
30
17
9
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bloomfield, NM
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Stayed June 2012. So glad we booked when we did, someone came in without a reservation and they were full. Pleasant staff all around, clean, comfortable room. Went close by to get breakfast at Dunkin Donuts. Safe, efficient airport shuttle. Would have no problem staying here again. Got a discount through the company I work with. Everyone in the room was happy with accomodations.

Room Tip: Had elevator, so higher floors are ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henderson, Nevada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

It has been a long time since I stayed somewhere this bad. Let's start with the positive; somewhat comfortable bed and pillows. That is all. Oh, and the front desk staff were friendly.
Sheets are very cheap and feel slightly better than sandpaper. The Internet is very annoying. Every time you leave the service area you have to put the code back in. It looks like the bathrooms have been updated but mine smelled like someone had urinated a gallon and it was left for a month in no a.c. This smell also wafts into the room. Disgusting. The room floor feels like someone left a bunch of balls under the carpet. The hallways are very hot. Elevators are old and want to crush you if you don't enter in less than 2 seconds. Wallpaper falling off of walls.
I have to go now because I can't take the stench any more. If I have a choice, I will never stay at a Crowne Plaza again

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Scott G,

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review regarding your stay. I appreciate your positive feedback on our friendly staff and comfortable bed and pillows. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I'm sorry our hotel fell below your expectations in a few areas. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience and discomfort it may have caused you. Your comments are being shared with the hotel management and you can be confident they will take necessary steps to improve our guests experience.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I was in Cleveland for work and ended up having to stay an extra day as my flight was delayed several times and I would not be able to meet my connecting flight. I actually ended up staying at the Crown Plaza in Middelburg Heights, Ohio.

I went to the restaurant to grab something to eat and since I was traveling alone, I sat at the bar. I was so impressed by the bartender, her name was Irish. She was such a breath of fresh air from just having a some what bad day. She made my experince at the motel for the evening so much better. She was so engaged with all of her customer and it was like a big familly. I would stay at this motel again just to see Irish's friendly face and get the best service I have had in years!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Van Wert, Ohio
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Booked a room with a king size bed for a one-night stay. Room was clean, bed was great and the decor was definately well thought out. For the amenities, which wasn't much, it had a decent coffee maker and a nice tv.... I liked the ease of the clicker (which states was a clean remote) when searching stations. Bathroom was good size, clean and they supplied the usual soap and shampoo (shampoo/conditioner and soap) was first class! It was a hot and humid day and the A/C was pumping pretty decent.The staff was attentive, the hotel inside and outside was clean, well lighted and felt safe outside. Though the hotel was filled, you really didn't hear anyone in your room. You can be downtown in about 10-15 minutes where everything is at. We hit the Westside Market, Rock in Roll Hall of Fame and the Casino.That's the good.

I did have a few complaints. I'm 6'2" and the bottom of the shower head came up to the top of my shoulder......If I was a child it would of been great. NO fridge or microwave in room....so if you bring home leftovers from downtown or want to chill your own wine or beer, forget it! We stopped in the hotel bar around 1045 for a few drinks and told it was last call with people at the bar and just walking in. For the price of the room, a cont. breakfast should of been included. We skipped the $12.00 a plate of eggs/toast/bacon and hit Perkins a short drive away saved some $$$.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

After a horrible flight and missing our connecting flight United Airlines put us up in this hotel for the night without our luggage. We arrived exhausted with nothing but the clothes on our backs but were so well taken care of at this hotel they turned a bad experience into a great one. They picked us up at the airport, had our room ready, provided essentials and when I asked if they had contact lens solution and a contact case Mike actually went to a store and purchased it for my daughter. To top it off, upon delivering it to our room, he refused any payment for the items he purchased and refused to accept a tip. The Italian restaurant in the hotel was fabulous and our server was warm and friendly. The hotel room was nice, clean and up to date. If we are ever in Cleveland again we would stay here without a doubt.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, MI
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It's difficult to saying anything extravagant about the hotel, but the fact that it met our expectations is good enough. It was a standard hotel which was clean, friendly, and convenient. The decor was "fresh", not deteriorated. The shower was excellent.

I gave it a "very good" rating not because there was anything bad, only because it wasn't a special hotel to get excited about. It was fine though. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: We were on street side and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport

Address: 7230 Engle Road, Middleburg Heights, OH 44130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Middleburg Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middleburg Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Convenient Location at this Middleburg Heights Hotel Downtown Cleveland, Ohio and the Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (CLE) are just minutes from our Crowne Plaza - Cleveland Airport Hotel. Nestled in Middleburg Heights, our hotel looks forward to helping you during your stay. Many of the area's attractions are just a short drive from our hotel near the Cleveland Airport, such as the stadiums of several professional sports teams. Other popular area attractions include the famous Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the NASA Glenn Research Center and Playhouse Square, the second-largest theater complex in the US. If you can't decide, consider seeing the city with Trolley Tours of Cleveland. Our Cleveland, OH airport hotel is also convenient to the International Expo Center, Cuyahoga County Fairgrounds and businesses including Moen World Headquarters, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, AT&T, Ford Motor Co. and Sanford-Brown College of Cleveland, Ohio. Our hotel has 14 meeting rooms with 16,000 square feet of space, a 24-hour Business Center and free wireless Internet access to meet your needs. Our 100% non smoking Cleveland, Ohio hotel offers the comfort and convenience you deserve with a heated, indoor pool and sauna, a 24-hour Fitness Center, a gift shop, Buccis restaurant and lounge and well-appointed rooms and suites. Call today and reserve your Crowne Plaza of Cleveland hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Middleburg Heights
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport Middleburg Heights, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.