We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crown plaza cleveland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7230 Engle Road, Middleburg Heights, OH 44130   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Crown plaza cleveland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The room was clean; nothing spectacular stayed 2 nights. Showers were adjustable and shower curtains were changed daily. Floor boards were vacuumed and dusted. No refrigerators in rooms. Beds not as comfortable as expected. Exercise room down stairs in a secluded area. food was good but over priced

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Mac5656,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding room and bathroom cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the bed and room amenities. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    51
    34
    19
    12
See reviews for
30
17
9
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I have to say, the hotel itself is very decent and the staff was very helpful. I found the hotel to be clean and the restaurant and bar downstairs very nice. My only complaint is the heater/ac. It is probably the loudest one I have ever heard in all my stays. The room temperature is very unbalanced. I normally never turn on the heater but in Feb in Cleveland the draft would hit the windows making it super cold in the room. The problem is when you are going to sleep when it kicks on you will jump up. So I hate to complain about the hotel because the staff and place are very nice but the one thing you go to a hotel for is to sleep and that is not guaranteed here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear travelsinger97,

Thank you for leaving feedback about your stay with us. I am pleased you found our staff to be helpful and the restaurant service lived up to expectations. However, I regret the condition of the air conditioning and heater systems that impacted your stay. We take all reviews negative or positive very seriously and your feedback will help us improve for our next guest or your next visit.

I hope the next time you are in the area you give our hotel another try.

Sincerely,

Pam G
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and the restaurant was closed for a private party, even the bar was closed so you could not even get food there. It was a rainy night, closest food was maybe 15 minute walk plus, but they would not take me there in the hotel van. The front desk staff is absolutely unprofessional, I've encountered that now on 2 previous stays. The restaurant (when it is open) is actually very good. Public areas are very dated and worn, need refurbishing. To me it appears this hotel management simply does not care. There are many better options close to the Cleveland Airport, and many that are more professional and reliable than this one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear AirlineGuyNYC,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We are committed to providing our guests with the highest quality services and facilities. However, I am deeply sorry we fell below your expectations specifically with the unavailability of our restaurant, level of service from our staff and condition of the property. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We will definitely utilize your comments to improve our services for future guest. Once again, thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shakopee, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Crowne Plaza at Middleburg has now become our mid-way, dependable, always have a smile, stop point. Rooms are always clean and comfortable. Service outstanding. Always helpful. Beds - always comfortable. The only reason I gave it a 4 this time instead of a 5 was due to the heater noise. However, after 11.5 hours in the car, this was a minor distraction.
I like the dependability of the Crowne. It's the first hotel I look for when traveling.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avondale, Arizona
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

I'm a flight attendant for a major airline. I know the company pays for our rooms but the front desk could at least be polite. Stayed on 27th Dec 2012. I know from working in the customer service industry you always greet & pay attention to your guest. You don't act like your put out when you see us & talk down to us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GREEN COVE SPRINGS
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

This was my first stay at a crowne plaza, nothing impressive would probably compare it to a low budget hotel like a best western. You could definitely tell it was an older hotel, definitely a little rough around the edges. The staff was unimpressive, not friendly I would even go add far as saying they acted like snobs. We had a double room with 3 adults and a child and they only gave us 2 towels, we stayed a total of three days and everyday we had to ask them to bring us more towels. Which I thought was pretty stupid if top pick up 4 dirty towels leave 4 clean ones.

Overall unimpressed and will probably not stay at another Crowne Plaza in the future.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear BECKY H,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I am sorry our hotel fell short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and rest assured that these will be taken into consideration in our efforts to continually monitor and improve the quality and services we offer.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Celina, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

I booked and paid for two rooms at the Crown Plaza Cleveland Airport through Expedia. Upon check-in, the clerk asked for a credit card (nothing unusual, since most hotels do so to cover additional expenses or damages), but the clerk then quoted me the price for the two rooms. I explained to her that I had booked and paid for the rooms online already, which she checked on and agreed that I was right. After the trip, I found that I had been charged both by Expedia and then by the hotel! Expedia contacted them and the manager promised a refund...but none ever came. I'm still in the process of disputing the charges with my credit card company.

Beyond that, while staying at the hotel, we asked the desk clerk if the hotel shuttle was available to take us to a local attraction. This is a normal service for pretty much any hotel with a shuttle service available, but we were told that the shuttle was only to go back and forth from the airport. When I then asked that the clerk call us a cab, she acted if we were inconveniencing her. At least she actually called...

The room itself was unimpressive. The bathroom in particular was in need of an update, with water stained wood around the sink and what appeared to be spots of mold on the black marble around the tub. The two rooms, which were booked at the same time and were supposed to be of the same quality, didn't even have the same contents, with one having a fridge and the other without one.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport

Address: 7230 Engle Road, Middleburg Heights, OH 44130
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Middleburg Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Middleburg Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 238
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a Convenient Location at this Middleburg Heights Hotel Downtown Cleveland, Ohio and the Cleveland Hopkins International Airport (CLE) are just minutes from our Crowne Plaza - Cleveland Airport Hotel. Nestled in Middleburg Heights, our hotel looks forward to helping you during your stay. Many of the area's attractions are just a short drive from our hotel near the Cleveland Airport, such as the stadiums of several professional sports teams. Other popular area attractions include the famous Rock & Roll Hall of Fame, the NASA Glenn Research Center and Playhouse Square, the second-largest theater complex in the US. If you can't decide, consider seeing the city with Trolley Tours of Cleveland. Our Cleveland, OH airport hotel is also convenient to the International Expo Center, Cuyahoga County Fairgrounds and businesses including Moen World Headquarters, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, AT&T, Ford Motor Co. and Sanford-Brown College of Cleveland, Ohio. Our hotel has 14 meeting rooms with 16,000 square feet of space, a 24-hour Business Center and free wireless Internet access to meet your needs. Our 100% non smoking Cleveland, Ohio hotel offers the comfort and convenience you deserve with a heated, indoor pool and sauna, a 24-hour Fitness Center, a gift shop, Buccis restaurant and lounge and well-appointed rooms and suites. Call today and reserve your Crowne Plaza of Cleveland hotel room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Middleburg Heights
Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport Middleburg Heights, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Cleveland Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.