We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great BBQ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Smokey Bones BBQ

Smokey Bones BBQ
7725 Reynolds Rd, Mentor, OH 44060-5320
(440) 942-0993
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #49 of 165 Restaurants in Mentor
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: American, Barbecue
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dickson, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great BBQ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Really enjoyed it here. Don't leave without trying their fresh doughnuts with dips for them. Husband got the ribs and I got the pulled pork. Both were excellent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    17
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Newton, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“cleveland trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

great location.close to the hotel.pulled pork was great.the service was great and very friendly and the meals were fantastic for the price

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Okay food, mediocre service, overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We were in Mentor and wanted to dine out on a Sunday night, so we chose, more or less at random, this BBQ place.

First, we were seated in the bar - not really that bad, but pretty loud.

Service started out fine, but we waited about 35 minutes for our food to arrive, whilst other diners received their food fairly quickly.

The ribs, but St. Louis and Baby Back, were just ok. Nothing to write home about. They were very pricey - about $14 for 3-4 small ribs (they call this a third of a rack). Too much for this little food.

The beans were great, and the baked potato was acceptable (too much butter).

My wife had a steak, and said it was very good.

Overall, we probably won't return as a family. As rib places go, just mediocre.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“I love their pulled pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Going to Smokey Bones is like a visiting a lodge. It's a very comfortable atmosphere and the food and service never disappoints. We love the pulled pork so much, we've ordered it by the pound, to take home and enjoy later. They are always very accommodating with their take out orders.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Decent BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

This is better than average BBQ. Great selection of meats and cuts to BBQ. The sweet potato fries are the best I've ever had. Definitely would recommend them. We had BBQ beef in a spinach salad. It came charred and was promptly replaced and this meal was free. The salad was nice in that it was not buried in dressing. The pulled pork was OK. A little dry, but lots of flavour. For a Friday evening it was not busy at all. Kids had BBQ wings and liked them. Great variety of BBQ options for the wings as well. Without drink and dessert we spent about $12 a person. Lots of large screen TV's going. Not noisy or crowded when we were there on a Friday night at 8pm. The service was bit slow and not terribly attentive. But I would return to try the variety of other BBQ items on the menu.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smokey Bones BBQ also viewed

 
Mentor, Lake County
Mentor, Lake County
 

Been to Smokey Bones BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smokey Bones BBQ, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.