We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Italian cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of TJ's on the avenue

TJ's on the avenue
7485 Mentor Ave, Mentor, OH 44060
+1 440-953-5959
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 168 Restaurants in Mentor
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good Italian cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

TJ's has excellent garlic rolls, abundunt salad and homemade, authentic pasta dishes. The servings are plentiful and the prices are very reasonable. This is a popular place, so be prepared to wait to get a seat. Wine selections are acceptable and service is great. My families favorite is the Chicken Tosca - outstanding!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    29
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Been going here for 20 years. Always consistent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

This restaurant has always had great service and the food is very consistent. We have our favorites here, but the best dish is Chicken Tosca. Same flavorful tender dish every time. The Calamari appetizer is the best in the area. No one around has better. The salad and fresh rolls make this a favorite place to go often. Definitely try it.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Midweek dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I was just looking for a bowl of italian wedding soup and a salad. My husband ordered our usual staple of eggplant Parmesan. Their italian wedding soup is very good and their house dressing is a great blend of flavors. You can never go wrong with their eggplant parm. Their sauce is on the sweet side and very good. We love coming here and supporting our local hot spots. Service is very attentive and friendly, too.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio, Usa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Just Like Homemade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I go here almost once a week for lunch. Everyday they have a special listed on their board. That's what I usually get. The specials are inventive and tasty, usually have lots of veggies and either chicken or shrimp with pasta and are generously portioned. The waitresses are attentive and you can get in and out for lunch without extending your lunch hour.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Love TJ's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

My husband and I have been going to Tj's since we started dating 14 years ago. The food is delicious, (we can't live without their rolls), the restaurant is cozy, and it doesn't have the feel of a chain restaurant. Their spaghetti is homemade, and so are some of the dressings, which is always good. We get the chicken parm. every time we go there, and we are never disappointed. If you are ever out in Mentor, this is definitely a place you want to stop.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed TJ's on the avenue also viewed

Mentor, Lake County
Mentor, Lake County
 

Been to TJ's on the avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage TJ's on the avenue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.