We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Mentor Inn serving a warm welcome for guests!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Outstanding Mentor Inn serving a warm welcome for guests!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

Pro: The hotel provided very friendly customer service from the front desk staff, breakfast attendant, and housekeeping to even the night staff at 2 am. As for the room, it was wonderful with a soft bed and sheets that provided me with very sound sleep compared to other hotels I have stayed at recently that had hard beds and stiff sheets. The room also had very appealing well kept wooden furniture as well as soft comfortable room chairs. I was very surprised how comfortable the chairs were in the room compared to other hotels I have stayed at. The continental breakfast was refreshing and well maintained. The staff working the breakfast bar was very hard working and kept everything clean, stocked and fresh! The staff was kind to ask me and the other guests if we would like any more food before closing the breakfast bar at 10 am. I couldn’t believe I was drinking from a glass cup instead of a plastic or dixie paper cup, and I also had silverware with china to eat from instead of a plastic fork, spoon, and styrofoam plate like other hotels provide for continental breakfast.

Con: Room didn’t contain a small refrigerator, and housekeeping did not come to clean room until 4 pm (I stayed a couple nights). I left hotel earlier in the day and was surprised when I returned to not see the room cleaned (prior to leaving earlier that day housekeeping was working on other rooms). However, when the housekeeping staff did clean the room she went out of her way to make everything clean and provided friendly customer service.

Overall, I would highly recommend staying at this hotel. The price was right, room was clean and comfortable, all the staff were friendly, and breakfast was fresh and clean. This is one of the best hotels in northeast Ohio.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    69
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
131
68
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mentor, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

The night before our wedding night I satyed at Lawnfield and on our wedding night my new husband joined me. This spot was absolutely phnomenol! The antiques are beautiful the rates were super reasonable and the amenities were superb! the room was quite and comfortable and had many of the same perks that I've received in a 5 star hotel! A bottle of Chilled Perrier was waiting for me when I checked in. The bed was super comfortable and it was sooo quiet! The morning of my wedding I had continental breakfast and my Daddy joined me for poolside breakfast. I have to say having traveled all over the US their courtyard and pool area is one of the nicest I have had the pleasure of enjoying! You would never ever know as you sit there sipped freash coffee and enjoying pastries that it actually faces Mentor Avenue- one of the BUSIEST STREETS in town! It was quiet beautifully landscaped and a real pleasure! Located conveniently halfway between route 90 and route 2 its a 5 minutes or less drive to merge onto either, but you would never know you were that close to the bust freeway. I pam sending my best friend and her fiance there for their wedding night. I cannot even imagine a better place to sstay!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

This was our third night on the road. The room was great and a real value. The staff helped me get my bags in when they realized we were handicapped and having trouble. The room was three times nicer than the Hampton Inn we stayed at and about 1/3 the price.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We and our teenage daughter stayed here for one night on 12 Aug. We knew of the hotel and had considered booking it but then thought if we did not like the look of it we would book elsewhere in Mentor. However what a charming place. We liked look of it straight away and booked. The reception staff were so very friendly and gave us so many details when we asked about what was in the area. The room we stayed in - two double beds - was excellent. I like my rooms clean and I could not fault this. The continental breakfast was brilliant in the morning and we sat in a lovely dining room with sun pouring through the conservatory windows. There is even a swimming pool here. We would have loved to have stayed longer just for the hotel if our itinerary had allowed it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

My friend and I stayed there on our way to Vermont. What a pleasant surprise! It's more like a bed and breakfast. The beds were extremely comfortable. But the best thing was the breakfast. We had coffee/tea from china cups and saucers and ate yoghurt from footed glass bowls while looking at the beautiful landscaped pool. Best hotel experience on the road ever!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2010

After reading the reviews of other who have stayed in this hotel, I was quite excited to stay there since there were no poor reviews at all. When we got there I didn't even think to check to see how clean it was because of the great reviews. I pulled the blankets back to go to bed and there was a spot on the blanket, thinking it was a stain I touched it and it was crusty (like a food stain). Later I went to get a drink and I found coffee was spilled on the counter with crumbs all around it. This grossed me out the most because if they didn't even bother to wipe the counter, what else did they not bother to clean up. In the bathroom there was something sticky on the door with hair clung to it. It was disgusting. The air conditioner was so loud I could not sleep, but it was too hot to shut it off. The staff did apologize, and the 2nd night was cleaner, but not by much. Breakfast was great, and the staff was friendly, but I would not stay again because of the dirtyness of the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

My family and I stayed here as part of a week long vacation across Ohio. We came to Mentor to see the James A. Garfield home, which is just down the street from the hotel. This hotel feels like a bed and breakfast, with all the charm and atmosphere you would expect from a B&B, but with the privacy and amenities of a hotel. The room was spacious enough to accommodate our family (we had a travel crib for our infant). We had originally only booked one night and had planned to stay in Cleveland for the next two to see an Indians game. Our hotel in downtown Cleveland was so horrible (we didn't stay more than 20 minutes there) we called Lawnfield and went back and stayed there for 2 more nights as we finished our vacation exploring activities in and near Cleveland. I would like to go back to explore more of Mentor, which seemed like a cute little town, and maybe some of the beach areas. This hotel is wonderful and well worth it!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Address: 8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.