We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel at a great price” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2X get $50 gift card
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great hotel at a great price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

The hotel was clean and very well decorated. The employees were very friendly. The breakfast was good. The special promotion price on a two night stay was good. The only thing that could have been better were the towels. They were as rough as sand paper, but that is minor.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    69
    16
    9
    2
See reviews for
131
68
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel was all I'd hoped it would be after reading all the reviews. The very front is an old house that they added the hotel onto, and then a restaurant. It was super easy to get to from I-90 and a warm/ welcoming place to come to after a 12H drive. VERY nice staff, super clean and quiet, and reasonably priced.
Why would you want to stay anywhere else? Breakfast buffet (free) was hot and yummy. Whole place was decorated nicely, inside and out.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
We are happy to hear that we lived up to our reviews during your stay. We strive to maintain excellent customer service and meet the needs of our guest. We appreciate your review and hope you will stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

What a place. And they allow dogs! Beautifully appointed suite in a transformed Victorian house in the center of town. They even honored the travel coupon we got at the visitor center on the way. Restaurant and bar on premises. They delivered food to our room! Windows in the room opened...an important feature for me. Hallways decorated with antique furniture and pictures. A hot breakfast came with the room...buffet style. People from the public could buy the breakfast. No ordinary "breakfast included deal" here. There was real china and cutlery! This hotel was such a find, I just might go out of my way to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We recently drove across the USA with our large dog. This was definitely the nicest place we stayed. Our room was very comfortable, with nice furniture, and good beds. We requested a room near the exit and they were able to provide that for us. The room was clean, did not have that "pet" odor.

There is a GREAT restaurant at this hotel. Their chef is excellent!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

Just adores this hotel with it's look and feel of a historic home! There is one drawback which has nothing to do with the hotel and that is the location adjacent to a busy intersection... That being said the staff is amazingly sweet and very accommodating!! The customer service is wonderful and any small problems we had were met with a smile and efficiency! We will recommend this hotel to anyone who asks our opinion. Oh, we also ate one evening at Skye restaurant and enjoyed a delicious meal served with excellent customer care!

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Thank you for your recent stay with us. We are happy to hear we met your expectations and hope to see you in the future. Your friends at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Have stayed here before and enjoyed it as a nice break for the Ohio toll road. Maybe it's gotten too popular, though. The Skye restaurant is very good and well-priced for dinner - local ingredients, well cooked and served inside, poolside or on the veranda. Breakfast? Another story. Benny's travelling companion said it was the "saddest" buffet ever: the scrambled eggs and orange juice were both waterey and tasteless. There is a pleasant, quirky little pool area, but they allow smoking poolside, so you get second-hand smoke with your swim. Also, our room was a little worn, with badly-stained carpets. Might come back for the excellent restaurant, but otherwise would look for an alternative next time through Cleveland.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are sorry to hear about your disappointing stay with us. We appreciate you letting us know so that we can fix these areas. Smoking is not permitted near the pool area. We have spoken to the restaurant staff and are keeping a tight watch on this. We hope that you will consider staying with us again in the future. We again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marquette, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We stayed at the Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn & Suites for three nights in June, 2012 and can't say enough about this hotel. The staff was welcoming, courteous and friendly; and the room, hallways, lobby and restaurant were spotless. We enjoyed the historic charm of the Inn, a nod to the nearby President James A. Garfield Lawnfield Home Historic Site, and the surrounding area. Our room, a king suite with pullout sofa bed (and an air mattress) easily accommodated our family of four, including 2 teenage sons. The refrigerator, microwave, and free internet access were convenient, but we especially liked the two TVs! The room's decor pleasantly reflected the historic ambiance, the bed was quite comfortable, and the A/C worked terrifically in 93 degree weather. Please note that while the hotel was completely full during our stay, noise was never an issue. The free hot breakfast each morning was delicious and the restaurant/breakfast room was well attended and spotless. Although we didn't dine at the restaurant due to family commitments, the menu looked appetizing and it was obviously a hit with guests and locals alike. The location was perfect, with easy access to multiple highways and shopping. We'd definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear we were able to meet all your needs. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Address: 8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.