We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could Not Have Been More Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Mentor
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Could Not Have Been More Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

I really could not have been more disappointed. I booked this to get a break from the allergies and uncomfortable accommodations where I had been staying. Basically, I was looking for the simple retreat - comfortable bed, nice bath, good food - that I've learned to expect from Best Western. This wasn't that at all.

I had to check in late, and the woman at the front seemed offended. They were doing some remodeling or something, so things didn't smell right and breakfast was in the basement. Not a big deal having breakfast in the basement, except that it was difficult to maneuver around the tables. I got up to get a refill on coffee and turned back to find someone sitting in my seat! One of the attendants had swept in, scooped up my breakfast and newspaper, and made off with them in the blink of an eye.

Small bath, unmade(?) bed, noisy. Ugh.

You know the real kicker here? I'm writing this review over three months after my stay. That's how vividly I remember it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    150
    50
    10
    6
    2
See reviews for
86
54
13
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

We booked a room here based on geography, but would stay again on any trip. The hotel is new and beautifully appointed; very comfortable beds and the windows open.

But what really sets this place apart are the personal touches starting with the building itself. Built onto an historic home, just down the street from the James A Garfield Home, the hotel building and roof lines echo the old house with matching architectural details and even a gracious porch with rocking chairs along the side.

Inside, the spacious and comfortably furnished lobby feels like a family living room with stacks of books you are invited to read there or take to your room. The people behind the desk and the owner could not have been more friendly.

In addition, the hotel not only has a rather hip bar, but serves a very generous hot breakfast -- not just cold cereal or make-it-yourself waffles -- included in the room charge.

Room Tip: I bet they are all as good as ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for your detailed review of our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

We were so thrilled to check into this place after a bad experience at another hotel. The whole facility was lovely. And the staff was helpful and friendly. The free breakfast was awesome!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience at another hotel. We are pleased, however, that you enjoyed your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Well appointed, clean and very comfortable room. Public areas of the hotel are very attractive. Complimentary cookies in the evening and pastries in the morning. We enjoyed the free cooked to order breakfast in the pretty dining room. Much more peaceful and pleasant than a typical self-serve buffet. Staff was courteous and had a willing to help attitude.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western US
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We stayed here on a 3-day weekend trip to the Niagara Falls area. And were pleasantly surprised from the time we pulled into the parking lot until we (begrudingly) had to hit the road again! The ambiance was very pleasant, the room well-appointed and clean, bed comfortable, and staff courteous and efficient. We would have appreciated a little more in the way of breakfast included with the night's stay but this is a minor beef.

This place will definitely be at the top of our list of places to consider re-visiting when we're in the area again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay at Lawnfield Inn & Suites. We look forward to your return and appreciate your confidence in us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NEW WINDSOR
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 112 cities Reviews in 112 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

The stay at this lovely hotel was the most pleasant one of our recent month long vacation. Excellent service, very clean, well located and a very friendly staff. Their complementary breakfast was served to us. A wonderful surprise. I would hesitate to stay here again. An excelletn value

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, December 3, 2011
We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to write a review on our hotel. We look forward to your future visits. Best regards Lawnfield Inn & Suites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We were sssoooo pleasantly surprized at the decor of this hotel!! it was like going into a beautiful antique shop. Everywhere you look there was something beautiful to catch your eye! little or big, there were nick-nacks decorating walls, halls, stairwells, verandahs. I loved just wandering around, taking it all in...

the room we had was huge, it had a seperate lounge/study, with it's own television, large, long bench kitchenette, and then the bedroom.... and..... the bed was comfy too!!! i wished we could have stayed longer!!! there was an outdoor pool, and the afternoon was very warm, but again, we were short on time, but would have liked a dip! Free computer in lobby for email use.

i only have one small criticism... there were no luggage racks, but with all that space, we just used a couch. (we should have asked i suppose!!)
Thanks for the enjoyable stay, we will recommend it to anyone!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mentorhotel, Guest Relations Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to review our hotel. Was nice to hear that you took time browse around the hotel and enjoy viewing our special touches. We apologize if a luggage rack was either hard to find or missing from your suite. We do have them available in all of our rooms. Best wishes ~Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites

Address: 8434 Mentor Avenue, Mentor, OH 44060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Home away from home! That’s Lawnfield Inn & Suites, the perfect “Smoke Free” getaway for that special occasion. Come see why wedding parties, school reunions, family gatherings, and businesses choose us as their preferred hotel. Lawnfield Inn reflects the tone and feeling of that “Somewhere in Time” bygone era. Adding comfort, quality, and breakfast – all at an affordable rate. If you’re traveling from afar or live just around the corner – once you’ve stayed with us, you will come back time after time, year after year. Kids 17 and under stay free and we are pet friendly (small fee for pets applies). Enjoy dining in our newly remodeled Dining Room and Pub, “Skye Bistro”. Skye Bistro offers additional outdoor dining during the summer months on our veranda or poolside. Check our Skye website for events and live entertainment. Close to many attractions: James A. Garfield National Historic Site, Historic Kirtland, Holden Arboretum, Mentor Headlands Beach Park, Mentor Civic Center, Lake Farm Park, and Local Wineries, to name a few. Less than 30 minutes to major Cleveland attractions; Cleveland Indians, Browns, Cavaliers, Playhouse Square, Horseshoe Casino, Rock Hall and other major Museums and event locations. Additional downtown places of interest include The Cleveland Clinic or University Hospital Main Campus. We are also a Smoke Free Facility with Meeting Rooms and In House Catering. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Inn And Suites
Best Western Plus Lawnfield Hotel Mentor
Best Western Mentor
Best Western Lawnfield Hotel
Mentor Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites Mentor, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.