We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Headlands Beach State Park

Headlands Beach State Park
9601 Headlands Road, Mentor, OH 44060
440-466-8400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 9 Attractions in Mentor
Type: Beaches, State Parks, Outdoors
Attraction details
beford
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

love it here, even when it is a hot day you can alway find a nice place on the very large sandy beach. and it is always clean

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    49
    17
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Not a Great Beach”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

25 years ago it was nice here, now I can't imagine why anyone would go here instead of Fairport Harbor Beach. We went in June for a soccer tournament, greeted by a pair of panties on the sidewalk at main entrance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Clean postcard pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

(Slippery) Rocky Shoreline with clean water....lighthouse that you can visit. you can see Cedar point off in the distance.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Ocean Beach in Ohio”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

One particularly windy evening in late summer we took the kids down to the lake and Mentor Headlands to see the waves crashing on shore as the forecast was for 9-12 foot waves. I am not sure they were that big, but the large waves and constant crashing into the shore made us feel like we were back at the ocean. The water was rougher than normal and we had to watch the kids closely so that they didn't get knocked off their feet and pulled under, but they had a fabulous time frolicking in the water, running on the beach and playing in the sand. It is a wide and clean beach with lots of room to take a long walk. It is large enough that even with other people around it felt like we had the place mostly to ourselves. The sunset was beautiful and for a short time we felt like we were far away on vacation.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“FUN time @ beach”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

If your looking for some sun, cooking out, or sand castles.. this can be a very fun day plan.

Downside, not very clean.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Headlands Beach State Park also viewed

 

Been to Headlands Beach State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Headlands Beach State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.