We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good above average hamton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5675 Emerald Court, Mentor, OH 44060   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good above average hamton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Nice location, normal hampton amenities, newer hotel. Easy walking distance to casual dining, and movie theater. would rate it average to above for Hampton, which is a good thing. Bedding, flat screens all that one would expect for newer hampton hotels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    35
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
59
23
7
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Huntingdon, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at the Hampton Inn while attending an event in Geneva, OH. The room was spacious, comfortable and very clean. The hotel itself was clean. The hotel provided breakfast beginning at 6:00 AM. There was a good selection which included eggs and waffles. Overall, we had a very good experience at this hotel and will probably be staying there again when we attend the event in Geneva.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastlake, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

Spent the weekend here during some repairs to our house. We are local, so we know the area, which is great in terms of highway access, restaurants, etc. Only downside to the local is there are no grocery stores close, which made it tough to get my son's soymilk.

Hotel is very nice, very clean, very new. Rooms were nice, but was surprised that both rooms we were in did not have a refrigerator. We had to get a foam ice cooler for my son's soymilk and my daughter's expressed breastmilk.

One of the reasons we chose this hotel over some of the other ones in Mentor is because it had an indoor pool and hot tub. We loved the hot tub, but the swimming pool was so ice cold we couldn't use it. We tried getting in for a few minutes, but I couldn't stand to get in above my waist and my son's lips starting turning blue. I asked the front desk clerk if she could adjust the water temperature, but she said she could not.

The other big issue came with the front desk staff. We initially only had booked Friday night. After checking in and seeing how nice the hotel was, we decided to stay the whole weekend. I told the clerk at the front desk and she said she had extended my checkout until Monday and that we were all set.

The next morning, Saturday, we woke up to see a bill under our door that had a checkout date of that same morning. I went down to the front desk, and asked the same clerk to make sure we were indeed extended until Monday. She looked at the computer and said, "Uh-oh. I messed up, and someone else already has your room". Luckily they had other rooms available, so we were able to stay, but we had to pack up our entire room and move it, no easy task with three small children.

All was well again until the morning of checkout. When I first checked in, they authorized my credit card as usual. When I extended our stay, they said there was no need to reswipe my card, we could just settle up at checkout on Monday. They authorized an additional night on Sunday morning I was going to keep the amount they originally authorized on my credit card, and pay cash for the difference.

I awoke 2am on Monday to a knock at the door. There was a copy of our bill, showing a balance of $100, with a note to see the front desk before checkout. Checkout wasn't until 11, so no problem, going to get my kids to school, and will come back and settle up and get checked out. At the same time, the red message light starts blinking on the hotel phone, although when I picked up the phone, there were no messages.

After getting my kids to school, I ran a couple of quick errands and started heading back to the hotel. Then I get a call from my bank. The Hampton Inn had tried authorizing the $100 balance on my card literally 8 different times. There wasn't room left on the card because I was planning on paying cash for the balance at checkout. Being that they already had my card authorized for all but $100, there wasn't a need to go gorilla warrior on my credit card! The bank actually shut down my card for potential fraud because of all of the declined authorizations.

I know hotels require a credit card at check-in, but they always say you can pay any way you want at checkout. So why not wait until checkout to see how the customer wants to pay rather than freezing up my credit card?????? Nice hotel, but if this is how Hampton Inns treat their customers, I will not be back

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here for a family wedding which was taking place around the corner.

Quick, hassle free check in,
The room was a very good size, clean, modern & very comfortable with free WiFI.
Bathroom was again a good size with a excellent shower unit( the best I have encountered in any hotel).
Breakfast was complimentary & had a good variety.

No complaints what so ever, the owners are very hands on & make sure you have a good stay.

excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

What a lovely hotel! Went to Mentor for a weekend of beach combing along Lake Erie. Our room was just beautiful. The location was perfect and the staff could not have been nicer. Great Breakfast included!!

Room Tip: KIng mini suite well worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were in town to see a minor league baseball game, and this hotel was very convenient for us. Nicely located in an area with a number of national chain restaurants. The facility seems fairly new, and the desk person was very competent. One problem we encountered was the handle on the bathroom door ... when trying to open it from the inside, the handle pulled off in my hand. When I mentioned it to the desk she said she was aware that this had been a problem in this room, but thought it had been fixed. I was concerned that someone would be in the bathroom and unable to open the door ... this did not happen. When I mentioned this to the manager the next morning she very kindly comped my room. Overall, this is a very nice place that we would choose again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I do not agree with Hampton Inn's policies for payment. This hotel chain requires a credit card to rent a room at any of its hotels even if you don't come with a reservation and even if you're paying cash for the room. They will keep a hold on your card for 3 to 5 business days even after you've paid cash for the room apparently because they're too paranoid people will steal towels, blankets, ect.

I was already furious at this hotel before I even checked in. The lady at the front desk took 17 minutes to check in the man before me all because he wanted to switch to a smoking room. Unacceptable!!! Hotel and guest rooms are very clean but no HD TV, no mini frig, and no microwave in the standard 2 queen bed rooms.

Overall I have lost faith in the entire Hampton chain. A few years ago it was the only place I wanted to stay, now it's becoming the only place I don't want to stay

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday Inn Express next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor

Address: 5675 Emerald Court, Mentor, OH 44060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Cleveland in the suburb of Mentor. In addition to the free hot breakfast, fresh Hampton Bed and free high speed internet in every room, our hotel proudly offers the 100% Hampton Guarantee on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor Hotel Mentor
Hampton Inn And Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.