We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Felt Very Un-welcome :(” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   5675 Emerald Court, Mentor, OH 44060   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save!
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Mentor
Taunton, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“I Felt Very Un-welcome :(”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

I do not agree with Hampton Inn's policies for payment. This hotel chain requires a credit card to rent a room at any of its hotels even if you don't come with a reservation and even if you're paying cash for the room. They will keep a hold on your card for 3 to 5 business days even after you've paid cash for the room apparently because they're too paranoid people will steal towels, blankets, ect.

I was already furious at this hotel before I even checked in. The lady at the front desk took 17 minutes to check in the man before me all because he wanted to switch to a smoking room. Unacceptable!!! Hotel and guest rooms are very clean but no HD TV, no mini frig, and no microwave in the standard 2 queen bed rooms.

Overall I have lost faith in the entire Hampton chain. A few years ago it was the only place I wanted to stay, now it's becoming the only place I don't want to stay

Room Tip: Stay at the Holiday Inn Express next door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    29
    13
    3
    5
See reviews for
51
20
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The hotel is in a good area with restaurants and a Dollar store withing walking distance. The breakfast was nice, with two hot selections that changed each day. You can make your own waffle. There is an indoor pool with a hottub which was used twice. The beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

nice hotel...nice location. just a few miles from the beach.

Room Tip: no view but great location formthe area...walking distance to plenty of eateries...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

When I first drove up and saw that this hotel was in a fairly busy location, I was concerned that it would be noisy. However, the opposite was true; my room was as quiet as could be. It was spotlessly clean, had an extremely comfortable bed, a good-sized bathroom with plenty of towels, and an air-conditioner that worked well without being intrusively noisy. The free breakfast was excellent and plentiful. The Ruby Tuesday was right next door for dinner, and there were a few quicker/less expensive places to eat nearby as well. The staff was very friendly and allowed me to check in a couple of hours early since a room was available.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel 3 years ago the beds are like sleeping on rocks. Also service isn't that friendly. Nice pool though

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

I've stayed in several hotels in the Mentor area and this is the best by far. It's pricier than others nearby, but "you get what you pay for" is true in this case. The hotel is newer with a modern, well-lit lobby. What struck me when I first walked in was how clean it smelled. That was true for the hallways and room as well. Check in was fast and efficient. Parking was ample and free. We had a king bed room, which was on the smaller side, but certainly big enough for two. The bathroom was large, with an oversized shower (no tub), good water pressure, and granite countertop. We had a small fridge, microwave, and flat screen television with cable channels including HBO. The reception was good. The bed was very comfy, and the linens were fresh and smelled good. The pillows were great, which seems to be a rare thing in hotels now. There is a mini-mart in the lobby. I went for popcorn and they were out, but the front desk clerk was nice enough to find some for me at no charge! The free breakfast buffet is served right off the lobby, but it didn't bother us. In fact, we seemed to get extra attention from the front desk staff who were constantly checking to ensure that trays were filled, coffee was ready, and guests were pleased. Both mornings, we had employees asking if we had what we needed. The buffet included cereals, fresh fruit, waffles, yogurt, pastries, bagels, juice, coffee and tea, as well as hot ham/sausage and scrambled eggs. The buffet area included plenty of seating, free newspapers, and a large flat screen television. This hotel is right off of the main freeway and there are restaurants, grocery stores, and retail shops nearby.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Stayed on our way to Canada at this very nice Hampton Inn. Front desk was very nice and helpful. Room was wonderful, quiet, clean and comfortable bed. Breakfast was great. Really enjoyed our stay here!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor

Address: 5675 Emerald Court, Mentor, OH 44060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor is conveniently located just minutes from downtown Cleveland in the suburb of Mentor. In addition to the free hot breakfast, fresh Hampton Bed and free high speed internet in every room, our hotel proudly offers the 100% Hampton Guarantee on every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor Hotel Mentor
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.