We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
5785 Heisley Road, Mentor, OH 44060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Mentor
Wellington, Ohio, United States
1 review
“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Best motel I've ever stayed at. From the manager all the way down to the staff are very helpful and nice. the rooms are great. anything you want to do is just minutes away. I suggest if you need a place to stay in and around mentor this is the place. 5 stars

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, December 13, 2012
We appreciate your comments. I could not effectively run a hotel with out a great supporting staff. Having the right people working with you makes all the difference. When people enjoy what they do it is reflected in the work that is done. We are very fortunate to have the staff we have. Without their support I could not continue to create a hotel guest love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    69
    15
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
39
18
7
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wooster, Ohio
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel on November 9th, 2012. My husband and I were charged for TWO rooms! Torey the front desk clerk did not check us in under our reservation. She made a SECOND reservation unbeknownst to us. They charged us as a no show for OUR reservation. Deborah the manager said that it wasn't within her authority to refund the charges and she would have to speak with Mr. Lamalfa. She called back to inform me that he refused to refund the charges. When I asked WHY, she said that "two reservations were made." No further explanation was given and they were ALL aware that the mistake was made by one of Mr. Lamalfa's employees. In fact, I spoke to Torey again on November 12th who said that she made a mistake and those charges were going to be taken out of her paycheck. I am not sure how I was supposed to respond to that statement? I would HIGHLY reccommend that you search out another hotel before this one. I would be VERY wary when the owner of a company refuses to refund money that should RIGHTFULLY be refunded. He is just plain DISHONEST!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Constructive criticism is always welcome, it helps the staff and management move forward in creating great hotels guest love. Guest refunds are reviewed by management and ownership, when warranted a guest refund is issued promptly. No shows are a way a hotel recoups the loss of a night’s revenue that would have been other wise rented to another guest. At check in our agents ask if you are checking in, being that we are attached to a 60,000.00 sq. ft. convention center some guest are attending a venue at our conference center and simply need direction to the event at the conference center. By using a guest's last name or confirmation number it would have easily pulled up a confirmed reservation. When these are not provided, the proper procedure would be to walk a guest into a reservation. Our cancellation policy is very liberal, we understand that life happens and changes need to be made at the last minute, so we give guests up until 6 PM the day of arrival to cancel their reservations without penalty. It is unfortunate that you have chosen to make false statements regarding the staff and management of this hotel. Something we cannot change I am afraid for the damage is done. I did speak with IHG at the onset of your request, and they had agreed prior to your recent posting to refund your No Show charge. Many hotels hire college students to cover the front desk positions, it helps them establish work history, work ethics and social interaction. Unfortunately at times, not all experiences are positive and we try to prepare our staff that there will be times when any action taken by the hotel will be viewed less than satisfactory. We sincerely hope that you will continue to consider other IHG properties in our area when making your accommodations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

During Hurricane Sandy's swing through northern Ohio, we were without power and decided to head to our local HI Express while we figured out how to deal with next few days. Many in our locale had the same idea but we were able to reserve a 2-Queen suite for 2 nights. We were exhausted from 24 hours without power. All we wanted was a relaxing night to decide what to do if the power was out a long time. My husband and I met at our house after work, packed a few things by flashlight and with our son headed only a mile away to this hotel. When I made the reservation I told the agent I did not have my husband's Priority Club number but was assured they could look it up when we got there. Unfortunately, customer service does not seem to be a priority at this hotel. Standing at check-in, the clerk declined to look up my husband's club number. He proceeded to rifle through his suit case and found a receipt from a previous HI stay with his number on it. Finally checked in, I jokingly said, "No goodies for Priority Club members?" At EVERY OTHER HI Express we have stayed in in the last few years we have been offered at least a snack and drink on check in. This clerk said, you can have a couple of bottles of water, and she proceeded to hand us two very tiny bottles of water and invited us to partake of the cash bar going on behind us. Gee thanks.
This hotel does not have an attached restaurant but there are many nearby. One LARGE caution though - you can see many restaurants from the hotel parking lot but I guess there must be a feud going on between the hotel management and surrounding properties because there is NO connecting road to the road where the restaurants are. You must exit the hotel property and go down another road to get to all the food. On a very busy road, with no light at the hotel exit.
We had dinner then returned to the hotel hoping to relax in the hotel pool. This was something we had promised our son also. We go to the pool, no towels! They keep the towels at the check-in desk, a very looooonng way from the pool. The pool area was warm, the water was cold. Another fail.
Returned to the room hoping to get some coffee and snacks. There is a very large vending area near the pool. There was some coffee in the room. However, I am a tea drinker. In every other HI Express I have stayed in this year the breakfast area was open 24-7 for coffee, tea and hot water. Not here, it was locked up tight. No coffee in the lobby either. No tea to be found.
Our room had a kitchenette, no glasses, dishes or utensils.
We were in a 2 room suite. Room 1 was a living area with a TV. Room 2 contained 2 queen beds with a TV. Would have been better if the beds were in the separate areas. Also, the bathroom was tiny and the sink was OUTSIDE the bathroom in the room, not divided in any way from the sleeping area. That meant the next morning when my husband had to get up earlier than my son and I, we all had to wake up too so he could turn on the light to shave. A very weird room arrangement.
Unfortunately, when choosing a hotel in Mentor, this is your best choice as far a cleanliness and safety. But don't expect good customer service, even if you are a Priority Club Member.

Room Tip: No idea. Queen suite was strangely arranged, maybe others are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your stay. I remember the hotel being very active that week. We as well as the other area hotels were doing our best to house many of you who were without power. Along with our regular guests. Looking up a Priority Club number is never an issue, the front desk has access to Loyalty Connect 24/7, however if there is no activity the software will time out the program and the Associate would need to reinitialize the Loalty Connect and that would have taken a few moments. We do provide a bottle of water at check in, along with a nice variety of fresh fruit, which is at the front desk daily. We provide a nice assortment of apples, oranges, plumbs and bananas. Monday ~ Friday fresh baked cookies are also placed out by the 24/7 coffee station located adjacent to the front desk. Fresh coffee is available in our lobby area 24/7 as per the IHG standards. Hot tea is available upon request. We have found that the thermos method for tea does not keep the water as hot as most people would like. Each guest room has a well stocked basket of regular and decaf coffee along with regular and decaf tea. Microwaves and refrigerators are also in all guestrooms for your convenience. There is never a reason for a guest to do without. If at anytime you are in need of extra amenities or special items for your guestroom, contact the front desk or concierge and theses items can be brought directly to your guestroom. The convention center we are attached to provides hot Hor ‘dourves, cold canapés, light snacks, and a variety of desserts. These items are all complimentary and are available to all hotel guests as well as the guest attending the Conference Center for an event. Our pool is controlled by a state of the art computer system that automatically regulates the water and air temperature of the pool area to keep it comfortable for our guests. In close proximity to our hotel there is a wide variety of restaurants within walking distance. Unfortunately the hotel does not have a say regarding throughways and traffic lights those are determined by the city planning and zoning departments. We believe that every guest is important whether they are a Priority Club member, CEO, or railroad worker. We want all guests to enjoy their stay with us and we would like the opportunity to do anything in our power to see that the request you have will be taken care of. I sincerely hope that in the future if you find the neeed to make lodging accommodations out of necessity of a natural disaster or a simple get away you will consider staying with an IHG property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was excellent, very effecient & friendly front desk, room was clean, although finding the front of the hotel was a little confusing, it is behind the conference center.
Whole experience a positive.
Would stay again!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are always excited when we exceed a guest's expectation. Our staff goes out of their way to make sure your stay is positive. With specialized training in customer service, we make a strong effort in seeing that you the guest, have a stress free stay while you are with us. We appreciate it when a guest takes time to notice our efforts! Thank you Idaho, and we look forward to having you as a guest in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo,NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

very clean and roomy!. All staff was exceptionally friendly, & our king room was delightfully comfortable! 2 rooms..small express kitchen w refrigerator, desk/couch with tv in one..then bed,tv and countertop/mirror in the other outside bath. big breakfast room at n/c in the morning.. Great value for this one night stay!

Room Tip: they did some events going on..banquets/weddings...be sure to ask if there events that may get nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. Our staff prides itself on delivering great customer service and providing you the guest with a clean comfortable stay. Once again, having owners on property help me to provide a great hotel guest's love to stay with. Our staff is constantly improving our hotel based on your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This has to be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Every place we were in here was spotless.

Great location right off of the highway with a few restaurants within a 3 minute walk across the parking lot.

We went to the Rock 'N Roll Hall Of Fame which was 20 minutes down the same highway were this is located.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Our guest rooms are inspected daily either by the Executive Housekeeper, the owner, or myself before they are permitted to be placed in the system for use. We have one opportunity to make an impression before you enter the room and we want to make sure that each and every guest room has been inspected to provide you with the freshest linen, well stocked amenities, and well cleaned guest rooms.

Some guest prefer to stay outside of the city limits when visiting the Cleveland area and we love having you here. With the new expanded shore way connecting routes 2 and 90 we are just minutes from big city nightlife and attractions.

We hope to see you in the future when visiting the Cleveland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Decided to stay here because of the convenience. Loved it! Very Clean! Checking in & out was super fast.Will stay here from now on.The room that they gave us was like a suite, very big for the price! The breakfast was great..real plates & flatware..very clean room too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding or housekeeping staff. Our housekeeping staff is outstanding. When you have employees that enjoy what they do it shows in the finished product. When given the opportunity to share these reviews with our staff members they see first hand that when guests take the time to share their thoughts regarding their stay it sends a clear message that what they do matters and our employees take pride in their work very seriously and personal.

Having the right staff in place helps us create Great Hotels Guest Love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mentor
Quiet, Mid-rang...
Show More
3.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites
Free internet...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Cleveland-Mentor
Free internet...
Show More
5.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Cleveland East - Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
4.5 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Concord/Mentor
Wheelchair acce...
Show More
6.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Cleveland East - Willoughby
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Address: 5785 Heisley Road, Mentor, OH 44060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites LaMalfa. This unique property provides the finest personal service and facilities throughout Northeast Ohio. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the European decor throughout the eighty-three all suite facility including Executive Suites, Penthouse and Presidential Suites. Wireless and Ethernet are available throughout the hotel as well as the 60,000 sq. ft. banquet and convention facility. Come enjoy a fireside, hot Continental breakfast in our expanded breakfast area complete with a view of our 25'x52' lap pool with under water lighting and fountains. Located in the corporate hub of Mentor, Ohioand the home of corporate headquarters to Steris, Avery Dennison, First Energy and Rollkraft makes this hotel the number one choice for business travelers. Located just minutes from downtown Cleveland guest can enjoy the excitement of big city entertainment with near by Cleveland Indians, Cavs and Browns, Rock Hall of Fame, House of Blues and Lake County Captains.Local attractions include Mentor Civic Arena, James A. Garfield's Home, Lake Farm Parks, and Kirtland Mormon Temple. Transportation is available upon advance request, contact the hotel directly for arrangements and pricing. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at LaMalfa is a completely smoke free facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Hotel Mentor
Holiday Inn Mentor
Mentor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.