We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)
5785 Heisley Road, Mentor, OH 44060   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Buffalo,NY
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

very clean and roomy!. All staff was exceptionally friendly, & our king room was delightfully comfortable! 2 rooms..small express kitchen w refrigerator, desk/couch with tv in one..then bed,tv and countertop/mirror in the other outside bath. big breakfast room at n/c in the morning.. Great value for this one night stay!

Room Tip: they did some events going on..banquets/weddings...be sure to ask if there events that may get nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you so much for your comments. Our staff prides itself on delivering great customer service and providing you the guest with a clean comfortable stay. Once again, having owners on property help me to provide a great hotel guest's love to stay with. Our staff is constantly improving our hotel based on your comments and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know about your recent stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    19
    10
    6
    6
See reviews for
45
21
7
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania, USA
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

This has to be the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in. Every place we were in here was spotless.

Great location right off of the highway with a few restaurants within a 3 minute walk across the parking lot.

We went to the Rock 'N Roll Hall Of Fame which was 20 minutes down the same highway were this is located.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Our guest rooms are inspected daily either by the Executive Housekeeper, the owner, or myself before they are permitted to be placed in the system for use. We have one opportunity to make an impression before you enter the room and we want to make sure that each and every guest room has been inspected to provide you with the freshest linen, well stocked amenities, and well cleaned guest rooms.

Some guest prefer to stay outside of the city limits when visiting the Cleveland area and we love having you here. With the new expanded shore way connecting routes 2 and 90 we are just minutes from big city nightlife and attractions.

We hope to see you in the future when visiting the Cleveland area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OHIO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

Decided to stay here because of the convenience. Loved it! Very Clean! Checking in & out was super fast.Will stay here from now on.The room that they gave us was like a suite, very big for the price! The breakfast was great..real plates & flatware..very clean room too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, September 30, 2012
We appreciate your comments regarding or housekeeping staff. Our housekeeping staff is outstanding. When you have employees that enjoy what they do it shows in the finished product. When given the opportunity to share these reviews with our staff members they see first hand that when guests take the time to share their thoughts regarding their stay it sends a clear message that what they do matters and our employees take pride in their work very seriously and personal.

Having the right staff in place helps us create Great Hotels Guest Love!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

This hotel is very clean & the entire staff is friendly & happy to help and serve you. You may even find the owner filling in & helping his staff when they have too much to handle. The hotel is conveniently located walking distance to the movie theater and resturants. The breakfast bar is bigger and better than most hotels we have stayed at & if you are lucky enough to have Billie working the breakfast station, you can be sure you will have a wonderful dining experience. The hotel was happy to provide us with extra towels, pillows and other essentials we needed along with separate towels for pool use. We had quiet restful sleep even with a hotel full of people. You won't go wrong staying here.

Room Tip: Ask the reservation person whether the room you are booking has the sink outside of the shower area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond and let us know how we are doing. You certainly will not find an absentee owner at this property! Our owner Is very hands on and involved in every aspect of our hotel. When you have an owner or manager that has a take charge attitude you can't help but want to do your best. With our employees, it matters who you put where! Billie is a treasure and the apple doesn't fall far from the tree, her mother Pat is also an asset to our team. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to having you as our guest in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leatherstocking Region New York
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Check-in was a little haphazard due to numerous wedding guests checking in at the same time. Felt a little like a second-class citizen, when clerk kept answering other guests questions, etc.

Room was VERY CLEAN, and we had the necessary number of towels and washcloths (4). This is not always the case with IHG properties. My wife could not find any dirt or dust, and not a single remnant from a previous guest. A/C was efficient and not noisy.

Walking distance to several eateries: Ruby Tuesday, Buffalo Wild Wings, DQ, and The Brown Derby (which we did not see until our walk back to the hotel).

Reception that was going on looked like it was well taken care of by the hotel. Even had an area to hold the ceremony in that was a glass encased room.

Pool area is SUPER! Not too deep, but big enough for quite a number of guests to use. Showers, bathroom, and lockers for swimmers to use as well.

20 miles outside of Cleveland. Wish it was closer so that we could have stayed here for another two days.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMLaMalfa, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thank you! Your comments help us to be a Hotel Guest's LOVE and we certainly could not do it without your feed back. Check-in-time can be hectic, and we go out of our way to make sure the stress of checking in is minimized. With check in beginning at 4:00 PM we advise our guests to call the hotel between 12:30 PM- 1:00PM to see if a clean room has become available, if one is not we offer to take your cell number and call when it is ready.
I appreciate you taking the time to point out quite a few aspects of our hotel you enjoyed, it let's us know we are doing something right!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here because we attended a friends wedding. They had reserved a block of rooms and we got a king bed executive suite. The room was very clean and spacious. It had a mini kitchen with microwave, frig. and sink plus some cabinetry. The suite had a pull out couch and two tvs. One for the bedroom portion and another for the pull out bed area. The tub and toilet were seperate from the sink which was nice. The only problem with the room was that the bathroom fan made a strange noise and the fitted sheet kept coming off of the bed. The fact that the reception hall was connected was really nice. The food at the recption done by Lamalfa was very good and presented nicely. The decorations were well done too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

I booked 17 rooms for our family tour which included 27 youth ages 5-18 and 24 adults including grandparents - a wide range of taste to please. We could NOT have been happier. The rooms were immaculate, roomy and gorgeous (according to the teenage girls). The pool was heaven on earth (according to the teenage boys). The breakfasts were delicious and plentiful (according to all). The staff hovered and attended to our every need and we needed some extra things. I will encourage everyone I know to stay here whenever they are in this area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center)

Address: 5785 Heisley Road, Mentor, OH 44060
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Mentor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Mentor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites LaMalfa. This unique property provides the finest personal service and facilities throughout Northeast Ohio. The atmosphere is warm and relaxed and the ambiance embraces the uniqueness of the European decor throughout the eighty-three all suite facility including Executive Suites, Penthouse and Presidential Suites. Wireless and Ethernet are available throughout the hotel as well as the 60,000 sq. ft. banquet and convention facility. Come enjoy a fireside, hot Continental breakfast in our expanded breakfast area complete with a view of our 25'x52' lap pool with under water lighting and fountains. Located in the corporate hub of Mentor, Ohioand the home of corporate headquarters to Steris, Avery Dennison, First Energy and Rollkraft makes this hotel the number one choice for business travelers. Located just minutes from downtown Cleveland guest can enjoy the excitement of big city entertainment with near by Cleveland Indians, Cavs and Browns, Rock Hall of Fame, House of Blues and Lake County Captains.Local attractions include Mentor Civic Arena, James A. Garfield's Home, Lake Farm Parks, and Kirtland Mormon Temple. Transportation is available upon advance request, contact the hotel directly for arrangements and pricing. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites at LaMalfa is a completely smoke free facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Hotel Mentor
Holiday Inn Mentor
Mentor Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center) Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Mentor (Lamalfa Conference Center), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.