We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better than I expected.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Super 8 Medina

Save Saved
You added Super 8 Medina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Super 8 Medina
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   5161 Montville Drive, I-71 & Hwy 18, Medina, OH 44256   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Medina
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It was better than I expected.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2011

Based on other reviews, I wasn't sure I should give this place a try, but I'm glad I did. It's a great location, free wireless internet, continental breakfast, and a comfortable room. My room even had a mini-fridge. The bathrooms could use a little updating, but the room was clean and roomy. The staff is very friendly. I will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    59
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
44
18
32
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
De Pere, Wisconsin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2010

The hotel was pretty nice. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was nice and the rooms were a decent size. I would recommend this hotel to a friend. Good locations also

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

My roommate and I were headed up for a day trip to Cleveland and decided to save money and stay outside of town. The hotel is about a 40min drive from downtown and the price was lovely...$48.56 at the AAA rate. Infinitely preferable to the $156 at the cheapest downtown hotel.

This Super 8 is right off I-71 in Medina, and is pretty utilitarian...it's a two-story building with no elevators, so be aware. Pets are allowed, with a surcharge of $10 per pet per night. When we got to our room, we were greeted with the scent of carpet deodorizer, which is preferable to some smells I've encountered in hotels. The beds were a bit hard for my taste and the bedding was worn, but everything was clean and dusted. There was free wireless internet, always appreciated, and while the bathroom towels were on the thin side, the bathroom was scrupulously clean, cleaner than some rooms that I've paid triple the price for.

The next morning, the hotel earned it's fourth star...the breakfast was above average for a hotel of this type...a good selection of cereal, reasonably fresh pastries and bread, and a waffle-maker that was both easy to use and cooked the waffle to perfection. A much better breakfast than I expected.

So, other than the breakfast, this is a pretty straight-forward, bare bones establishment, but it was a fantastic value. Good food, very clean room, and great price.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

Searching for a hotel in Medina was a bit challenging, since I felt the choice was very limited. I was extremely leary of staying in a Super 8, having spent the previous weekend in a Chicago Westin, but Ken Gandhi, the GM assured me the hotel was quiet, very clean, friendly staff, and secure. I was extremely pleased, and a bit more surprised to find all of his statements true.
Turning onto the street and seeing a closed, run down building on the corner made me a bit hesitant to continue, but I did find a very welcoming GM as I entered the door which put my initial concern to rest. I asked for a corner, 2nd floor room which was the one I was given, and a portable fridge was brought in immediately on my request.
The room, the bathroom was extremely clean. Even the towels smelled good, and although not plush, were better than a few I have in my closet!
Traveling alone, I felt secure in the room.
Beds were fine. Clean linens, soaps etc. put in the room each day.
Free internet which was great, especially having paid $10/night at the Westin.
TV had great reception.
I was on the backside of the hotel which looked over trees, which was great.
The only con statement I have which I'm passing onto the GM, is that the windows could be cleaner so that I could have had a better view of the little rabbits outside on the grass.
I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Medina. Especially after riding past the comparable competition.
If you're looking for a 3 or 4 star hotel, there are none at this convenient location (Interstate 71 & route 18).

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

I was in town for a wedding and found this place to fit the bill for me: clean, quiet, and a friendly and helpful staff. Being frugal (ok, cheap), I was impressed by the fact I could make my own waffles at the continental breakfast. They would have cups of batter set up in the morning and a hot iron on a swivel device. It was a great way to start my day and satisfy my sweet tooth!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrew, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

Locate just south of Cleveland and is close to interstate. Our second time here and staff is friendly and courteous. Very clean with continental breakfast in morning. Close to good restaurants and other services. Internet service actually worked.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2009

We again found the staff friendly and helpful. Our room was clean - with a small desk and electrical outlet for my computer. The only downside was that this room did not have a small fridge. The year before, one had been brought to our room by the manager. Since we were only there for one night, it really didn't matter. If traveling this way again, we'd definitely head to this motel.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Super 8 Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 Medina

Address: 5161 Montville Drive, I-71 & Hwy 18, Medina, OH 44256
Location: United States > Ohio > Medina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 hotels in Medina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 Medina 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Wyndham, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Super 8 Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super Eight Medina
Medina Super Eight
Medina Super 8
Super 8 Medina Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Super 8 Medina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.