We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable, well-situated” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kensington Inn Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kensington Inn Hotel to your Saves list
Kensington Inn Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1421 Golden Gate Blvd., Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 (Formerly Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights)   |  
Hotel amenities
Great Neck, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable, well-situated”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was seeing a seriously ill relative at the nearby Hillcrest Hospital, and I got a low ($69 per night + taxes) "negotiated rate" thanks to the help of a hospital social worker. My room at the Comfort Inn was spacious, clean and comfortable ... folks at the front desk were courteous and helpful ... and the free breakfast was a big plus. No, it's not a luxury hotel, but I was perfectly satisfied with it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    7
    6
    14
See reviews for
12
5
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tempe, Arizona, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

I was attracted to this hotel by its clean exterior and modern lobby area. But that is where it all ended. The first night I was there, I noticed that the vending machines had not been stocked in quite some time. I was also drawn to the free internet, which did not work on the third floor. Plus, on my second day, the 6 am breakfast was late and I left for work without one. The fitness center has three cardio machines and a universal machine, with a TV and water cooler. The weight machine did not work because the pulleys were installed wrong, and the water cooler leaked all over the carpeted floor. Five days later, the leak had not been addressed. The TV's in the rooms are a joke and are all at least 10-15 years old. The coffee was weak. My toilet leaked. My room was not cleaned daily. I did get a hot shower every morning. If you book a stay at this hotel, you must be an idiot or the other hotels were all sold out.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Mayfield Heights hotels

Indiana, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

We chose this hotel because of the pet policy. When we turned the bed down, we found that the sheets had numerous stains. When notified, the desk clerk promptly offered to change the sheets. When stripping the bed, she also found dirty tissues made into it. The new sheets were also dirty, so she left to search for clean ones. She soon called to offer us an upgraded room on another floor because she "could not find any clean sheets." The new room was disappointing. There were small soot-like specks on the sheets that smeared when brushed off, and the bathroom had many hairs on the floor. We were exhausted, so we chose to live with "soot," wear shoes into the bathroom, and wait until we arrived home the next day to shower. Breakfast offerings were limited and did not seem very fresh. The hot water for tea was in a coffee pot, which made the tea strongly taste like coffee (not acceptable for this coffee hater). On a positive note, the evening desk clerk, Christina(?), was friendly, efficient, and helpful. She was very apologetic about the room condition and handled a difficult situation with professionalism, courtesy and respect. The next time we travel to the Cleveland area, we will definitely choose a different pet friendly hotel for our stay! Unfortunately, good customer service cannot make up for the meager breakfast offerings and the run-down quality and uncleanliness of the rooms. I may have rated different categories higher than terrible, but the disgusting sheets and floors force me to give an overall rating of "terrible."

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

A good location for the far east side of Cleveland visitors. Could do with a re furnish, beds are particularly old and lost their support. TV probably from the early 90's and way past replacement with a modern unit. Price moderate for the area.

Room Tip: cannot add anything .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quitman, Texas
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is older and in need of repair and upgrades. The shower curtain rod was broken causing the water to go all over the floor. The ac ran continously and barely kept the room cool. The tv was an old tube tv type with a green tint and no guide. The shower head was loose from the wall and the valves were backwards. The hallways smelled musty as well. The outlet by the sink was so worn out that it would not hold a plug. The coffee in the breakfast room was terrible. The phone in the room had nothing but buttons and no other indication of what they were. Overall it is no wonder the parking lot was empty.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

This "Choice" property is located in a pleasant suburban setting with shopping centers, restaurants, and other conveniences. Proximity to a major hospital would seem to provide an ideal marketing opportunity for this inn. From the exterior the inn appears to be well maintained. Parking is plentiful in a large lot with few cars. This should have been a clue of things to come. Inspite of the positive exterior the interior was dated, gloomy, and badly in need of repair. The hallways are dingy, the room doors are loose, easily rattled and have the apperance of being forced open on numerous occassions. The telephone had no inforrmation template with no directions on how to dial long distance,emergency or the front desk, if needed. These are obvious security issues. There was no soap tray in the bath/shower and one small shampoo for three days is unacceptable. Also, the soap was not replaced during the entire stay. The vents in the window installed ventilation sytem were partially clogged with lint. The television was a worn/tired Zenith box that colored everything red. This was a major negative since modern televisions are so inexpensive. A modern TV is badily needed. (Hint: Best Buy is next door.) The staff could use some training on hospitality, but I will spare the details on this. In conclusion this property does not present a positive image of the "Choice" hotel brand. This Comfort Inn will not be my choice in the future and causes me much reservation about choosing another Choice brand hotel for upcoming travel.

Room Tip: Keep on driving.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We used this hotel four times over the last four years, and once about eight years ago. Nothing has ever been changed. The rooms feel stinky especially after you start the AC. You feel mould in the air. you see it growing in the AC unit and upper edges of the rooms and bathroom.[ HEALTH HAZARD] The staff is nice and try their best to do what THEY could.
Location is great in the east side of Cleveland, but newer hotels are in the area now.

Room Tip: Pay extra and go to a newer hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kensington Inn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kensington Inn Hotel

Address: 1421 Golden Gate Blvd., Mayfield Heights, OH 44124 (Formerly Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights)
Location: United States > Ohio > Mayfield Heights
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Mayfield Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kensington Inn Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Improvements included all new furniture, lighting, art, window treatment, bedding/mattresses,some flatsceen TV's etc. in the guest rooms and the suites. Upgrades to bathrooms included new granite vanities, mirrors, lighting and fixtures. Public areas and corridors received new granite flooring and carpeting, wall covering, ceilings, lighting and window treatment. Renovations to building exterior incorporated architectural enhancements of additional trim detail, installation of stucco treatment and upgrading of landscaping. Perfectly located at the I-271/Mayfield Road exit near Hillcrest Hospital, Progressive Insurance, the Cleveland Clinic, and the Beachwood/Willoughby Office Corridor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Kensington Inn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Mayfield Heights Hotel Mayfield Heights
Baymont Inn Lyndhurst
Lyndhurst Baymont Inn
Kensington Inn Hotel Mayfield Heights, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kensington Inn Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.