We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Aubelo's but it's gone!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy - CLOSED

Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy
3415 Briarfield Blvd, Maumee, OH 43537-9503
419-866-4500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
NW Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Loved Aubelo's but it's gone!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Unfortunately, Abuelo's closed recently. It was one of my favorite restaurants in town and we will miss it. Hopefully, the chain will come back to our area someday.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

18 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    8
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We were started iff with corn chips and four types of salsas! All were delicious and lots of fun to try and compare. Raspberry iced tea was perfect. Entrees were not absolutely the we'd sver had, but were very, very good. Waitress was top notch! Oh, and they had some options other than the traditional bean and rice sides, including some really great veggies and red potatoes with cheese and red pepper sauce.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davison
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Mexican Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Best Mexican food we've had in a long time! Excellent service, moderate prices, and the Chocolate Eruption dessert was FANTASTIC!!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Linden, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Decent Mexican Food-Would Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

Went to Abuelos on a Sunday evening at 7:00 P.M. We were staying next door at the Baymont Inn and Suites and had arrived a little later than expected. We (myself, wife, 21 year old daughter, and 10 year old daughter) were very hungry as we had been travelling all day. This is a very nice looking restaurant with what appears to be a very nicely decorated dining room. I say this because even though the dining room was less than 1/2 full, they seated us in a small area adjacent to the bar.

We found the food to be a little on the expensive side but very tasty. All of our meals consisted of extremely large portions. Margaritas and beer were reasonably priced, mixed drinks were a little pricier. Our waiter started off a little slow, not being overly friendly but then the manager came over to talk to us and he was extremely friendly. Before we left, he came by again and also held the door for us when we were leaving. This attention also seemed to improve the service we were receiving from our waiter.

Overall a decent experience. We would stop again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Guess I like my Mexican food served in joints”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Food was fine but a bit pricy. Margaritas are more the Planter's Punch/Kool-Aid format than some of the harder versions available to residents of NW OH. Dining facilities are veyr nice.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abuelo's Mexican Food Embassy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.