We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acceptable, but not much more.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo to your Saves list
Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   150 Dussel Drive, Maumee, OH 43537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Maumee)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel virtual tour
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Maumee
Kalamazoo, MI
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Acceptable, but not much more.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

We only paid $40 for the night so given that price I didn't expect much. The bed was fine which was really all we needed. It was quiet. When we checked in the guy said the key card machine wasn't working so he let us into our room with his key but couldn't give us a key. Huh? Fortunately we were in for the night, but otherwise pretty inconvenient. He told us just to come back to the desk if we needed to get back into the room. Breakfast was coffee and boxed donuts and cereal.

Room Tip: Good location for getting on and off the turnpike
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future You will be glad the key machine has been fixed we thank you for your patience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    7
    4
    5
    11
See reviews for
13
10
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

Booked this to have a place to swim on a hot week-end. There is no pool there. They have 1 broken down chair. it looks over the dirt where the pool used to be. Able to get a full refund from the 800 company that was running the scam. They said it was not advertised as a pool but guess what it is listed on the hotel features a POOL. Something is wrong here folks . Management gave us a hard time, do yourself a favor and never use this place.
R.Chamberlain

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Hello
I was able to trace your reservation to expedia.com which claims the guest was never told their was pool onsite. The reason we could not issuing a refund at the hotel was the fact the the payment you made was through expedia so the hotel has to go through proper channels to issue a refund.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012 via mobile

Me n my family stayed their few days ago. Very nice n clean area very quite. Room was Nicely cleaned n kids enjoy their breakfast. Price was reasonable too.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit to the Americas Best Value Inn. It was truly a pleasure to serve you.
We hope that your stay was pleasant and that our accommodations and services exceeded your expectations. We are looking forward to your next visit and wish you all the best in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

My confirmation was for TWO nights. When I left the hotel, for the day, after my first night, everything I had left in my room was thrown out. This includes a Ralph Lauren Polo Shirt I had soaking in my sink. Some, but not all, of the items were subsequently retrieved from the trash, BUT I DOUBT I WILL BE WEARING THAT POLO SHIRT AGAIN!! The hotel manager said he thought I had already checked out, despite my two night reservation. This is unforgivable. Management comprehension of English was very limited and they seemed very aloof.

Despite being a "non-smoking room", at least one of my pillowcases reeked of tobacco odors.

I agree 100% with Traveler325 about stale, limited "breakfasts".

No chance I will go back.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thanks for staying. I apologize that the service did not completely meet your standards. We take all our guest feedback to heart, and will use this to improve our service for our guest in the future. Your satisfaction is our measuring stick. I hope that you will consider us again on your next trip to Toledo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2011

Pros:

-Looks to be run by a family. They were pleasant, but made no special effort to be helpful.
-Outside is well kept.
-Area was quiet
-Inside looked like it was reasonably well cleaned (day-to-day cleaning)

Cons:

-I had trouble believing it was renovated 2 years ago. Looked like it really needed a deep cleaning- perhaps replacement carpet, tiles, etc. because it was worn and had the built in dirt that day-to-day cleaning can't take out.

-Because it looked so grungy, I felt neurotic (unusual for me) and did not want to touch anything.

- Breakfast consisted of your choice of 2 types of cereal, an english muffin, orange juice and soapy coffee. Not impressive to say the least.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, September 6, 2011
“We take all feedback seriously, and sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations.”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011 via mobile

We just stayed at this hotel for several nights and I didn't expect it to be wonderful at this low of a price, but I did expect to at least have some minimal quality of service. Our room was fairly clean when we arrived, but there weren't enough towels so we called for more towels and were told we couldn't have any until the cleaning person came in the next day at 9:30. Also, a continental breakfast is advertised which consisted of some cereal that looked like it had been there a while milk in a pitcher that had lines on it where the milk level had been for several days. There were a few english muffins laying on the counter and there was coffee but no cups or creamer. We were there 6 nights and our room was cleaned 2 times. The other times we just had some towels thrown in a pile in the bathroom. The trash wasn't even emptied. Very poor customer service. We will not be back.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your input, and I am so sorry to hear about the inconveniences you experienced while staying with us.
We strive for perfection and satisfaction, and I am sorry we did not hit that mark this time. I hope we get a chance to earn your trust in the future.

mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

I am a 50 yr old professional traveling with 3 generations of family requiring 2 rooms. We had an unpleasant experience and would not stay here again. The building itself is newly freshened up, generally clean, and basic, as you would expect at this price. We paid for the rooms and pulled around to unload to find the manager yelling at a man in our room to get out, who apparently had been squatting there, taking a shower, with a can of Pringles on the table inside. Seeing me, he moved us to 2 adjacent rooms. At midnight we discovered the toilet did not work. I complained, and he gave me the key to the original room. I objected that it was a dirty room, a man was just showering there. He insisted it was clean. I went back to look at it; the shower was wet, a towel was missing, the tub was dirty. I demanded that he give me some cleaning supplies, I would clean the tub myself. He insisted the room was clean. He refused, either because he couldn't or simply wouldn't. He gave me a key to a room in another building, separating the family with grandmother and children. At 12.30 am I did not want this kind of hassle; my wife agreed to stay, get it over with, and would not go in the shower next morning. We moved to the dirty room. Our neighbor was setting off firecrackers in front of our car. Men were milling about with 6-packs. The place has the feel of a place for grifters, with a share of longer term tenants.
The a/c worked and provided some white noise, I was not disturbed overnight with noise. The beds seemed clean. There is something amiss when a motel will not even allow you to clean your own room. I am easy to please and do not complain easily. I do not recommend this establishment.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeemike, Front Office Manager at Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, responded to this review, August 2, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience. We are continually striving to make improvements here at the hotel , working on cleanliness and most importantly, making sure we provide the best customer service we can. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and we hope to see you back in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo

Address: 150 Dussel Drive, Maumee, OH 43537 (Formerly Econo Lodge Maumee)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Maumee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 18 Hotels in Maumee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Americas Best Value Inn Maumee/Toledo, conveniently located near I-80/90. With its charming decor and comfortable amenities, our hotel provides a warm and welcoming atmosphere to please business and leisure travelers alike. Our hotel is near the Maumee Sports Mall, Maumee Antique Mall, Lucas County Recreational Center, Stranahan Theater, Arrowhead Park, Toledo Zoo, Fifth Third Field (home of the Toledo Mud Hens minor league baseball team), Seagate Convention Center, Bowling Green University, and University of Toledo. Our hotel is also close to many local restaurants and shopping centers. Our attentive 24-hour staff is here to help make our pet friendly Americas Best Value Inn Maumee/Toledo your home away from home. Start your day right with our free continental breakfast served from 7am -10am. Relax in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, satellite TV, hairdryer, radio, desk with lamp, and free local calls. At Americas Best Value Inn Maumee/Toledo, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maumee Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge Maumee
Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn - Maumee / Toledo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.