We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall A Good Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1702 Toll Gate Drive, Maumee, OH 43537   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Maumee
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Overall A Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Cost-We are AAA members. It saved us about $5. I thought it was excellent for the area and what you get. Large room, indoor pool, free wifi, refrigerator, microwave and hot breakfast. Our room was a king bedroom suite. It had a pull out sofa that was perfect for my son.

Amenities- Indoor pool was nice and warm and the hot tub was awesome. Breakfast was good. The orange juice and apple juice tasted funny and the biscuits were stale on our second day. Makes me think that they were left over form the day before. I hope the staff considers putting a microwave out in the lobby area for breakfast. It would be a nice touch. We did have a refrigerator and microwave in our room. That was nice.

Parking-More than adequate and appears safe. In other words, we had no problems.

Location- Very good. Close to turnpike and other expressways. Near Meijer and plenty of places to eat. Also, there seemed to be a sports park nearby with a splash area for kids.

Appearance-Here's where I had most of my issues with this place. Overall, it was a very nice place. However, when I walked in I immediately noticed how dark the lobby was and there was a very musty smell. The smell got worse as I got in the elevator. The next day, the smell was better. The grout between the tile needs a serious cleaning. There are areas of it that show that it used to be grey, but now it is black! The thing that really bothered me about the main lobby was the college banners. They looked cheap and then to hang them on the wall with push pins, really? Buy nicer banners and hang them appropriately or, better yet, hang some nice pictures. When I got to my room, I immediately noticed that all of the door signs and all the non-smoking signs had been put up by drilling a bunch of drywall screws through them so that they were all cracked and ugly. What a shame. If you are going to do that, then do it right! Buy the right screws and make it look good. Horrible. The bathroom had a couple of issues, but was clean.

My issues with the bathroom-The fan and light were on the same switch. So, I couldn't leave the bathroom light on for my son at night without keeping him awake. Second, the wallpaper was put up in the same haphazard fashion as the door numbers. If you are going to go to the trouble of putting up wallpaper, then do it right. Make sure the patterns line up. The room was huge! Nicely decorated, except that the drapes did not match the decor. Again, another one of those things that is a corner cutter. DO IT RIGHT THE FIRST TIME! You can never go wrong with making your place look nice.

The Bed-I thought the bed was great. I slept like a baby both nights. Very comfortable. My wife thought it was a little stiff. What a shock that we don't agree. ;-)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    20
    17
    6
    6
See reviews for
28
20
3
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kalamazoo, Michigan
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I got ran off the highway in a snowstorm and by chance just happened to see a Comfort Inn sign, so i called up for reservations and just pulled in. I've been by this place 100's of times but never new what i was missing. This hotel comes with all the amenities hot tub and pool both indoors, the rooms are immaculate with decent cable. Actually the whole place is new and the price was excellent. And theres a great place to eat "Saba's" right next door.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

We rented a room for 2 nights on New Years Eve and New Years Day. If you seriously think everyone is going to be quiet on NYE you are crazy. We had a few friends come over and celebrated for only 30-45 Min. As we swam before the front desk asked why we needed so many towels and asked what room we were in. The next morning after room service came, they changed our room key. As we went to the front desk they asked us again how many people were with us because the room was to dirty for only 4 people. To the Housekeepers there.. cleaning is your job. Its in your job title, don't complain because theres a mess. The lady that worked at the front office on New Years day was actually the nicest person there the whole visit. Top Kudos to her!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Took the family on a get away after the holidays! I must say I would definately stay here again! Pool was like bathwater! Kids loved it! Breakfast was not just coffee and donuts. It was MUCH more! 5 stars!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwinsville, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

rented two double rooms. was a overnight stay of about 7 hours. hotel was very exceptable in price and amenities. was satisfied, would stay their again. we did not eat breakfest their, went to tim hortons and waffle house.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Everything was great, staff changed rooms to two beds without hassle, maid left purse that was left in the room with the hotel staff at front desk without problem, Only negative was the gym - only a few items of cardio equipt and at least one did not work.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silvis, Illinois
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a nice clean place to stay. If anything, it is a little old, and needs updating. A light was burned out by the bed, but was replaced immediately with a call to the front desk. You can see the hotel from the toll-road, but it is slightly difficult to get in to. We would stay here again because of location and price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maumeegm j, Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
The staff at Comfort Inn & Suites would like to thank you for staying with us. We value our guest response and take pride in getting it done right. In the near future expect to see some upgrades to the hotel and we hope to see you back as you have stated. Thank you for recongnizing the hotel for its cleanliness.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites

Address: 1702 Toll Gate Drive, Maumee, OH 43537
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Maumee
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 hotels in Maumee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Choice Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites
Comfort Hotel Maumee
Comfort Inn Maumee
Maumee Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn & Suites Maumee, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.