We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but not up to Hampton standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Massillon

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Massillon to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Massillon
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   44 First Street S.W., Massillon, OH 44647   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double Points Weekends
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Massillon
Rotonda West, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Nice but not up to Hampton standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We just recently completed a long trip including stays at a couple Hampton Inns. We are Hilton rewards members and stay there quite often because they are dependable. Room was unusually large with hused floor space. At first it appeared nice and most things were. The mattress however badly sagged in the middle and was uncomfortable. Our only other complaint is a lack of signage directing you to the parking garage. They have a difficult set up that is actually quite easy once you navigate to the lobby.The location was convenient for our purposes but in the future due to the mattress and the cost which was pricey we would explore other options.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    22
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
36
19
7
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

This is our home town and it finally has a much needed clean hotel / motel. True the entrance is a bit odd if you enter from the first floor where there is a parking area off First Street S. W. Through the large doors is an elevator to the Lobby. There is also a car ramp off S. Erie Street which takes you up to the Lobby level and a parking deck. Once settled in, you find the rooms are clean and spacious, the staff is helpful, the breakfast/lobby area is inviting. The food was as tasty as any breakfast bar can be and the coffee machine, refrigerator and microwave in the room was nice. We've stayed in much worse and paid more for it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

This hotel has a strange entrance (3rd floor) which is only accessible by a poorly marked, street level elevator or up to the 3rd level of a parking garage. This has been noted in other posts and unless you are informed,difficult to navigate easily. The lobby/breakfast bar area was clean and the morning breakfast selection was very good for an included perk. They offered many cold items along with sausage, eggs, waffles and hash browns. The hotel room was on the small side and there was a musty/vinegar smell in the entry, but it was clean (and I checked prior to unloading). The post-it notes on the beds stated "Duvet covers and sheets have been changed for your arrival." I have not seen this before and it did not instill confidence as I am sure was intended. The beds were ok, the air conditioner loud and the water pressure good. As expected for the price paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Where to start?! Well first off the hotel is above the public transit authority which you are in full view of the city's winos and drug dealers while you pull into the parking garage which is not secured so you just hope and pray that your vehicle is secure. Then the entire hotel smells like a wet dog. It may appear to be clean but be aware of bedbugs! A co worker of mine was the lucky one to experience the bedbugs and to be confirmed by three ER physicians.

To top off my joyful trip the elevator when out which four of us has to climb 3 flights of stairs to the lobby and try the elevator to be told by the desk clerk just sitting there "oh the elevators are out..guess I should put up a sign." Then all four of us treaded back to the stair wells with computer cases in hand to climb 4 more flights of stairs to find that our keys to don't open doors from stairwells...so climb back down to lobby and desk clerk said oh, you have to use stairwell on the other side of the hotel....I was not about to go climb another 4 flights of stairs with a computer case. I asked when she was going to put signs on the elevator and she said she was too busy. Wow..talk about customer service!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dkspencer, General Manager at Hampton Inn Massillon, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I want to apologize for the unfortunate experience that you had at our hotel. The health and safety of our guests is of the utmost importance. We work closely with a professional pest control company to address and rectify any pest situation that might occur. We also have cameras within the parking garage for our guest safety .I also want to apologize for the elevator outage and the inconvenience you experienced. I’ve addressed the miscommunication and unsatisfactory service with our front desk staff and taken care of this matter. Again, I’m truly sorry for the experience you had as it is not typical of our friendly and secure hotel.

Deepest Sympathy,

Dwayne Spencer GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Very clean! Good customer service! Breakfast bar was great! Would definitely stay there again. A little confusing on the parking situation. You have to drive to the top of the parking garage to get to the lobby but once we figured that out it wasn't a problem.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

This spot was a bit hard to find because the GPS did not agree with the street names and you have to enter a parking garage to get to the lobby but it is a typical Hampton with friendly service, decent breakfast and comfortable beds. It is only a few minutes from the major highways but it is right 'downtown' Massillon

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

If you are passing through the Canton area, and just need a room to relax, no fancy stuff, this is the place for you. Clean rooms, decent beds, very friendly staff, all the basic amenities, and at a very good price.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Massillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Massillon

Address: 44 First Street S.W., Massillon, OH 44647
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Massillon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Massillon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Massillon 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn Massillon, Ohio hotel is located just 12 miles from Canton, Oh and the Pro Football Hall Of Fame. Our hotel has guestrooms and accessible rooms to accommodate all of your traveling needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Expedia, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Massillon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Massillon Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn Massillon Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Massillon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.