We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never go on a Saturday if at all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Sichuan Bistro

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sichuan Bistro
7888 S Mason Montgomery Rd, Mason, OH 45040-9316
513-770-3123
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 135 Restaurants in Mason
Cuisines: Chinese
Restaurant details
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never go on a Saturday if at all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We arrived 5:30 on a Saturday and were the first customers of the night. At 7pm we were still waiting for my friend's meal. Our 4 dinners were delivered one by one 20 minutes apart and then only if we asked multiple times and after needing to somehow prove it wasn't on the table. My husband's meal was tasteless. The other two entrees were fine, but not exceptional. My friend had to take hers to-go. Since I noticed the table next to ours waited for over 20 minutes to pay the bill we went to the front counter and stood in line with many take out customers. It still took a long time. The 15 or so people waiting to be seated had nowhere to wait except for a few chairs inches from other diners or outside. The restaurant management, kitchen, service, and layout all need an overhaul.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    3
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
World Wide
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“The only close to authentic Sichuan in Cincinnati”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Food is as authentic as it gets in the US. Wish their service matched the small restaurants of China. Good food reasonably priced and never been disappointed. My favorites here are Mapa tofu, sizzling chicken, ziran yangroe (lamb) and boiled beef. The veggies are good too. Skip the dumplings and Dan Dan mien. Enjoy!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Enjoy Great Chinese Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Since it opened several years ago, my wife and I have eaten at Sichuan Bistro on numerous occasions. Despite several shortcomings, it is our favorite Chinese restaurant.

Located in the Cincinnati suburb of Mason, Ohio, the restaurant is situated in a strip mall. There are plenty of parking spaces.

The dining rooms are plain and the serving staff is slow. They always seem shorthanded and some are not particularly helpful. Most are Chinese and have limited English fluency.

The restaurant's saving grace is the food. It is superb. Be sure to ask for the separate Chinese menu. Our favorites entrees include honey shrimp with walnuts, chicken with cloud-ear mushrooms, red dry chili chicken, dry roasted green beans and, as an appetizer, the scallion pancakes. The portions are large and the "hotnesss" ratings are realistic.

Enjoy great Chinese good

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

The place is not much to look at, but the food is exceptional. I see others have complained about the service, but I found the folks working here to be quite efficient. My husband and son ordered tasty (but hot) meat dished. I asked for a recommendation for a vegetarian dish and was pointed toward the "eggplant casserole," which despite its unappetizing name was creamy and delicious. Also enjoyed a nice Chinese beer.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mason, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Improve your service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

I would give five stars for the food but one for the service. Our first visit was at a busy weekend time, so it was excusable. However, there was no excuse at the second visit as there were only two families at the restaurant. As we entered, there was no greeting but a blunt question " how many? " Later, when we asked for extra rice, it seemed like they did not like it. It was very obvious that the entire staff was talking in Chinese about us. Nobody came once to ask if we needed anything or how was the food? If they have to stay in the business in this competitive market then they have to improve their service and manners!!!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sichuan Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Sichuan Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sichuan Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.