We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Discrimination” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kirkwood Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Mason
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kirkwood Inn
Save
You added Kirkwood Inn to your Saves list
4027 US 42, PO Box 644, Mason, OH 45040   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Mason
Stamford
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Discrimination”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

I contacted this hotel about its accomodations for same-sex partners, hoping to talk with them to make sure that they were okay with us visiting, and inquiring as to whether they thought this would be an issue, as I am familiar with the area and it is somewhat conservative. I got no response via e-mail. I sent a follow-up e-mail to the same address. I got no response. I sent a THIRD e-mail under a different name just asking about general room availability with no mention of my partner, and received a response that night indicating they had availability, would like to have me stay, and please confirm the dates. Needless to say, I won't be staying at this place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    28
    10
    4
    6
See reviews for
62
54
10
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2010

We often stay at the Kirkwood to visit family and nearby events. The service is ALWAYS excellent. A breakfast is provided in a historic home that adds to the pleasure of the stay. We recommend this hotel whenever you are in southeast ohio - especially in Lebanon or Mason!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln park
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

found this place on the internet it was so cheap had some dobut about it but man u get way more then what the price is a great hot breakfast great staff that go out of there way for u if u need a place to stay this is it. u just stay there to understand ive told everybody i know about it me and my wife are going back every month its five mins from evrything

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catawba, OH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

The Kirkwood Inn is fantastic! My husband & I were married at the OH Renaissance festival. We go to the Renaissance festival every year to celebrate our anniversary. Kirkwood Inn is a great value, convenient to everything, very clean, GREAT staff;GREAT owner,VERY accommodating & eager to please her guests. Enjoy a GREAT breakfast buffet in beautiful historic Kirkwood house. Breakfast buffet includes hot, cold foods; fruit; pastries , protein foods,juices,milk ,coffee.The breakfast buffet includes waffles made to order! All the food is delicious!On vacation usually like to sleep in, we wake up early so we do not miss this wonderful breakfast!After breakfast enjoy a stroll through the beautiful gardens.HIGHLY recommend Kirkwood Inn! This is why we return year after year!Go to Kirkwood Inn website for additional info and pictures of this terrific Inn!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

I found the Kirkwood Inn online and it saved us at least $100 for 2 nights. Good location for Kings Island, Lebanon & Cincinnati shopping, and Springboro dinner theatre. It provides friendly, helpful staff, clean rooms & grounds, and lovely breakfast in an interesting, historic building.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Wonderful independent inn/motel/B&B. Very clean, minutes from King's Island, lovely grounds and gardens (that's right, gardens!), friendly people, and a breakfast buffet in a charming historical house to boot! The rooms are standard motel layout, but charming, fresh and clean. What a difference being a only a couple of miles away from the park; quiet without a peep of highway noise. The breakfast is simple, but includes fruits, cereals, fresh muffins and breakfast breads, fresh biscuits, as well as a couple of hot entrees such as eggs, a meat or two, pancakes etc. and surprisingly decent coffee (yes, I'm a coffee snob). I called a couple of months before our trip and they put together a package for three nights, including two days of park tickets and parking passes, at a terrific price. Unless it's been updated, the Inn's website does not do it justice. If you are headed to King's Island (great park by the way!) do yourself a favor an call the Kirkwood Inn.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2009

We didn't get to go to the Kirkwood Inn. We had to cancel our trip. Their cancellation policy has a 48 hour notification clause. I notified them by email 72 hours in advance of our first stay date. I guess I should have used the telephone.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirkwood Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirkwood Inn

Address: 4027 US 42, PO Box 644, Mason, OH 45040
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mason
#2 Family Hotel in Mason
#3 Business Hotel in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located only 2 ½ miles from Kings Island between thriving Mason and historic Lebanon, Ohio, Kirkwood Inn offers modern amenities and attraction packages for guests seeking comfort and value. Business travelers enjoy free high-speed Wi-Fi, cable TV, refrigerators, on-site laundry access, paved running paths at the nearby Mason Sports Park, and a complimentary, full, hot breakfast buffet served in the on-site Historic Kirkwood House (c. 1799). Families experience unprecedented historical surroundings while walking through lavender-lined brick walkways, vibrant perennial gardens, and a wooded nature trail. Kings Island's breathtaking fireworks may be seen while swimming in the spacious outdoor pool. Clean and comfortable double rooms are perfect for families while luxurious Jacuzzi-fireplace suites offer a romantic retreat for couples. With packages available for LaComedia dinner theater, Kings Island, Cincinnati Zoo, Valley Vineyards, Wildflower Cafe, and more, Kirkwood Inn offers a getaway that feels like home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kirkwood Inn Mason, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirkwood Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.