We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 2nd Trip to Great Wolf Lodge in 5 months!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Great Wolf Lodge

Save Saved
You added Great Wolf Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Great Wolf Lodge
2.5 of 5 Resort   |   2501 Great Wolf Drive, Mason, OH 45040   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Mason
Dayton, Ohio
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our 2nd Trip to Great Wolf Lodge in 5 months!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We just visited GWL for the second time in the last five months. We took our daughter (then 9 months) in September... and just returned for another two night stay. Both trips we stayed during the week...to try to cut back on the crowd. We stayed in a King suite which worked out better than staying in the two bedroom queen suite. The king suite seemed like it left more room for our daughter to play. Having an extra bed did us no good. She slept in her pack n play or with us in the king bed. Room was nice...I will say that it seemed more clean this time than the last. Plenty of space for a small family. We enjoy having the mini fridge and the microwave. It's pretty much a necessity when you have a small child. There were more activities going on during our stay this time. There was bingo, trivia and scavenger hunts going on in the lobby every afternoon. There were coloring stations set up...free coloring pages as well as items you could purchase for your child to color and create. I honestly thought that these items were really fairly priced. We didn't play the MagiQuest game but this seemed pretty pricey. My husband and I did spend $20.00 in the Arcade and it was enough to play for a while and have some fun. We had pizza the first evening we were there...it's not amazing but it is decent pizza at a fair price. We also ate at the snack bar for lunch...and I'm not gonna lie I absolutely love the French fries. It is about $8.00 for a combo meal which is expensive but worth it not to have to clean up and leave the lodge for a quick lunch. Water park area was very clean and the life guards are on top of their game. They do a great job!! There were plenty of chairs, towels and life jackets. If you have a small child it may pay to request a room semi close to the water park area. Our room was further away this time and I realized quickly that I enjoyed a room a tad closer to the action. One recommendation is I would consider making some of the items available to purchase in the shops...available as prizes in the arcade area. The prizes are pretty cheesy...and if you spend $20-$30.00 you should at least get something decent. Otherwise, it really doesn't pay to play in the arcade. You may as well just go to the gift shop and buy a nicer gift for less money. One other thing that I was surprised by is that there were no "perks" for returning. The prices to stay in this hotel are steep. I have stayed at 4 and 5 star resorts for the same money...or less. It would be nice to be noticed for returning. Some sort of Hotel comp would have been nice. Even if it was just a $10.00 -$20.00 credit of some sort to use at the lodge or a small gift for our daughter. We had just stayed in the Lodge about five months prior and I was shocked that this was not noted. Overall we are happy with our stay...and will consider returning.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    252
    241
    139
    65
    43
See reviews for
572
8
1
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Centerville, Ohio
Top Contributor
1,247 reviews 1,247 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 208 cities Reviews in 208 cities
2,204 helpful votes 2,204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This chain is great for families, and of course for business people who have conferences.

Recently stayed because of the conference location, and several younger members of the organizations greatly enjoyed the "amenities" of the lodge.

Kinda like Disney World: would you really go without kids? Well, no!

This chain has a clientele, who seeks to provide family opportunities.

The Lodge merits an A+ for families.

Room Tip: If you are an adult w/o family, avoid proximity to the water center!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We visited Great Wolf Lodge in early February with a 2.5 year old and baby. The water park is a great escape from the cold weather! I'd say the resort is best for children 5-12 years old, but older and younger children will also have a great time. Our 2.5 year old found plenty to do. There are several water slides (12 total) with the larger ones being fun for adults and older kids and the smallest appropriate for even 2-3 year olds. The clock tower show and story time really appealed to kids 1-5 years especially. Most of the older children were playing the MagiQuest game that seemed very involved (prepare to pay at least $40 or more to do MagiQuest). We stayed in a family suite and had enough room but prefer to stay in rooms with a separate "kitchen" type sink for washing dishes. They did provide a small fridge and microwave. It was also difficult to sleep before 11pm as there were lots of kids running and doors slamming around us. We visited Sunday-Tuesday and it was not crowded at all. We did wait about 45 minutes in a line to check in around 3pm on Sunday, but there was rarely a line at other times. There is a breakfast buffet and when the buffet is over around 11am, a sit down restaurant opens for lunch and dinner. There is also a pizza, ice cream, and snack place. I'd recommend this resort for families with children of all ages who want a kid-friendly getaway.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We visited for one night on 12/15. It's a wonderful family destination. Price for hotel and water park was very reasonable for what you get (hotel plus water park). The water park was amazing. I'd recommend it on Sundays or Mondays, it's not very crowded. I was shocked at the attentiveness of the lifeguard staff - best I've seen at any water park or pool. Kudos to the lifeguard staff. We felt that our kids were very safe both in the water, at the water park and the hotel. Room was nice and clean. We had a bunk bed room w/kids TV & video game, which our kids loved. We loved the in-room fireplace. The wrist band charging process was great so that we didn't have to carry wallets around. Food was good and reasonably priced in the buffet restaurant. Our kids enjoyed the hourly show with all of the animated animals. The water-park cafe by the river ride was awful - dirty, horribly slow, inattentive staff when we went on a Monday afternoon (12/16/2013). Probably the only black mark on the whole place. I'd recommend the "adult" bracelet for your kids, so that they can charge meals and the arcade to your room. We didn't do the quest activities, but we will be back to do that. It takes 4-6 hours for each one-pricey but our kids are really looking forward to doing that. No bed bugs that we ever saw and we checked everywhere. We'll be back.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

I looked into staying here in December but prices seemed very high for just one night of fun so I declined. I then found a deal online for late January- early February for about half the price so I figured we'd give it a try. While still rather pricey for a one night stay, I must say the waterpark was pretty awesome. All slides were operational and well kept, towels were provided as well as hair dryers/spinners for wet swimsuits in the restrooms were a nice touch as you can stay and play the day you check out. My kids loved it, ages 14 and 4. The game area was typical, and we did partake in mini bowling alley. I can't say anything for restaurants except for pizza place, it was ok, greasy pizza but still average. The story time before bed seemed good for little ones, but older kids not so much. The room was well cleaned and up to date, microwave and small fridge were nice for keeping our drinks/breakfast. Overall a family suite was good size for the 4 of us, waterpark was excellent, Sheila at front desk was very helpful and one lifeguard/ride attendant in particular (don't know his name but dark hair) smiled, laughed and engaged everyone who came his way making our stay a great one.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our experience was very positive. Two adults and two children ages 8 & 12 for a three day weekend.
The room was clean and comfortable. The beds were firm and light weight bedding, sofa and chairs adequate temperature warm,yet not stuffy, plenty of hot water for showers/baths. We did not spend much time in the room. There were many activities to do in the water park area and hotel. A good variety of food and food services available. Prices were in line with these types of attractions.
We preregistered so that upon arrival it required little time, literally less than five minutes. The staff were cordial and all attendants were friendly and helpful. The only negative was the room coffee pot. Morning coffee is a necessity. We purchased coffee from Starbucks located on the second floor. We would consider a return visit to this location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

We took our granddaughter for an overnight on a Thursday. Nearly empty which makes for a very pleasant time. Outstanding customer service. Large clean room. So many activities. Highly recommend. The waterpark is huge and we were very impressed with the careful supervision by numerous lifeguards. They were really great about watching and controlling conditions. Restaurants were about what you'd expect. ..a bit overpriced and pedestrian.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Great Wolf Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Wolf Lodge

Address: 2501 Great Wolf Drive, Mason, OH 45040
Location: United States > Ohio > Warren County > Mason
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 hotels in Mason
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Great Wolf Lodge 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel and Venere so you can book your Great Wolf Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Great Wolf Hotel Mason
Great Wolf Resort
Great Wolf Lodge Mason, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Great Wolf Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.