We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad, bad experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   2117 Marion Mt. Gilead Road, Marion, OH 43302 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel University Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Save up to 20%
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Marion
1 review
“Bad, bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2014

I would like to share my experience from this weekend in hopes that you avoid this hotel and don't get treated the way our group did. We set up 11 rooms for a softball group approximately 3 weeks prior to our arrival. When we went to check in, the hotel had cancelled our reservations in order to fill our rooms for 2 nights instead of the one night stay we were scheduled for. They did not notify any of us and to make it worse, they had spoken to our group organizer one day prior to our arrival to confirm the rooms. After spending 2 hours in their lobby with a manager and on the phone with customer service, they found us rooms 20 miles away. They then called the sheriff while we were still on the phone with Best Western customer service. I might also add that as we were waiting for them to find us suitable rooms, they checked numerous people in. When we were speaking with a couple of those being checked in we learned that they had just made reservations 3 days earlier. I also later found out from some other team's coaches that they checked in another group later in the evening. The managers were trying to accommodate us, but the owner basically said, let them walk. Apparently only concerned with a few extra dollars and not treating customers with any type of respect. Do not stay here, stand up for decency and treating customers with a little respect.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the other hotels nearby!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BWP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
We would like to apologize for your experience, apparently there were several misunderstandings related to this event. We appreciate your feedback and will use this experience for future training. We would appreciate the opportunity to provide you with excellent customer service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    18
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
22
9
6
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

Clean, comfortable room for a reasonable price....good place to start your day in....nice bathrooms and bed was comfortable in a good location...I felt safe as a woman traveling alone......200 words are too many to ask for to describe a 1 night stay in a hotel room......

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BWP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased that you had a great stay and hope to visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2014 via mobile

Pattie was GREAT! Her food was amazing!!!! She was very nice and helpful every morning. I really appreciated how she took the time out to express her concern for everyone who came in to eat. She deserves a Raise!

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BWP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 21, 2014
Thank you for your positive feedback. We are excited that your stay was great. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lansing, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2014

After a 9 hour drive it was nice to be able to relax in a clean comfortable room. I was very pleased with the service of the staff, my mother doesn't like to walk up and down the stairs so the clerk gave us a room near the elevator (we didn't arrive until late so there were no rooms left on the main floor)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BWP, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, October 2, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We strive to provide an excellent experience for our guests and hope you will return for another stay .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2014

Pleasant hotel, very comfortable beds with great location and very helpful staff. Showers had no pressure and hot tub jets were almost non existent. Location is excellent with easy highway access, various stores and restaurants. Recommend Steve's Dakota Grill for dinner. Overall, this hotel provides decent value for a basic, clean hotel and I would rate much higher without the two previously mentioned issues.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014 via mobile

Everyone that we spoke with not only at the hotel but even in the town was very very cordial..staff at hotel was extremely helpful with everything we needed or inquired about..had a great time in Marion Ohio..came up for the popcorn festival..fun

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BWP, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2014
Thank you so much for your positive feedback. We appreciate you giving us the opportunity to serve you and give you such a wonderful stay. Thank you for choosing Best Western for your stay. if you are ever in the area again please contact me personally to accommodate your needs and better serve you.


Thank you,
Jennifer Shearer
Front Desk Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2014

We stay at this hotel often because our family lives in Marion, Ohio. The hot tub was broken in April and June 2014. Our most recent stay 9/6/14 the hot tub was a vivid green with viable dirt on the bottom of the spa, however, this time there was no sign or caution tape blocking entry into the hot tub.

I am a nurse who works in the specialty field of urology and I was disgusted that management would not at least have a "do not use sign" this hot tub. This is a health hazard - bacteria in hot tubs is one of the leading causes for bladder infects and lung infections.

I believe that if an establishment wants to charge $92 dollars plus change a night than they should make certain the advertized amenities are functioning properly.

The stairs still have painters tape on the carpet which we originally noticed in June while we were guests in your hotel. We stayed in room 213 but could not place our clothes in the top drawer of the dresser provided because the drawer would not remain shut. My husband and I tried to reduce the amount of weight in the drawer by taking clothing out, however the drawer continued to open until the dresser was completely empty.

I would like to say that the staff at this location truly are wonderful;. We actually have been dissatisfied with the building the past 2 visits but the friendly staff kept us returning. After this most recent visit however, even the staff may not be enough. I do not like feeling as if I paid way too much for less than ideal accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management_BWP, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,
I would like to apologize that we did not meet your expectations . We have been having problems with our spa and it is now out of service. I would like to offer you a discount the next time your traveling our way for your experiences with our hotel. I appreciate all of the feedback because it allows us to see where we can improve and how were doing as a team. On behalf of our team we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience this caused on your family.

Thank you for your loyalty to our brand,

Jennifer Shearer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn

Address: 2117 Marion Mt. Gilead Road, Marion, OH 43302 (Formerly Magnuson Hotel University Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Best Western Plus is located near Ohio State University, Marion Technical College, Marion Coliseum and Fairgrounds, Delaware Lake, Marion County International Raceway, Kildeer Plains Wilderness Area and Big Island Wilderness Area. Recently and completely refurbished in late 2013, the hotel offers microwave, refrig and in-room, laptop sized safes in each bedroom ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marion Super Eight
Marion Super 8
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn Marion, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN PLUS University Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.