We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not "pet friendly" barely "non-smoking"” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Marion Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Marion Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Marion Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   256 Jamesway, Marion, OH 43302   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Marion
Austintown, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not "pet friendly" barely "non-smoking"”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

They refused to service my room unless my pet was in a cage. For $15 a day, you can hire someone to feed and care for a pet in your home, let alone be willing to close the door while cleaning so the pet won't leave. I was here for work, but I think a vacationer would also want to be able to leave their pet unattended but not caged. I've stayed in many motels with this pet and never had this problem. Also, there were exposed cords in the outlets on every wall.

The bed linens smell like smoke. The first 2 mornings I did not get a wakeup call, which made me too late to have breakfast. The sink had dirty cracks near the drain and it took 3 days to get them to fix the slow drainage.

Room Tip: Ask what "pet friendly" means. Just allowing you to have the pet with you does not mean i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyoti D, General Manager at Marion Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I apologize for any inconveniences that this may have cause you and your pet. We have policies and rules in place for the safety of our guests and employees. We did ask you for your pet to be caged while your room was serviced for the safety of your pet. We understand how much a pet means to one and did not want to harm him/her in any way with our cleaning equipment or have your pet run out in the hallway and getting lost. If you have any questions please feel free to contact me. I hope that you would consider us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    11
    9
    4
    3
See reviews for
17
8
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels cross the country due to my job. I would have to say that this hotel was one of the best that the mid west had to offer. First, let me explain the staff their was the nicest, friendliest and more helpful that any hotel I have stayed at by far. The rooms were clean and the beds were very comfortable. The hotel was very quiet so therefore I had a very restful night. I travel their often and this is the ONLY HOTEL THAT I WILL STAY AT!! Coming from a very tried business man!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We needed a pet friendly hotel in Marion and based on the trip advisor reviews, we booked the Marion Comfort Inn. In a word, UGH! This is the first time I felt like the trip advisor reviews let us down. The smell of cigarette smoke permeates everything. The carpet was icky. My husband says the toilet seat was disgusting. (I was spared that experience.) The bedspread and drapes seem to be circa 1975. There are signs saying that the hotel is under renovation, but, according to the reviews, it's been under renovation for months. Shouldn't they be done by now? We did not stay and will not be back.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyoti D, Manager at Marion Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
I apologize that the hotel failed to meet your expectations. We are currently under renovations. The lobby is completely done and we have just started on the room renovations. Due to manufacturer's delays it has taken a bit longer than expected. We hope to completely done by August 2013. I would like for you to visit us once we are fully done remodeling.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

This is a great stopover..nice , friendly staff, clean and tidy hotel.Excellent warm, clean pool...one of the best little hotel pools we have encountered. they honored our discount cards..no problems here. be sure to see the impressive Harding Tomb if you have the time!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We only spent one night at this hotel. There were 3 adults and the two queen bed room was more than enough room for our needs. They provided a nice mini fridge and microwave as well as a small table with two chairs. We did not use the fitness center or the pool since it was too cold to swim in - but the hot tub was perfect! The provided a nice selection at the breakfast and we were all able to get a nice meal as well as juice and coffee. Check in/out was very easy and we had no problems during our stay. The location is close to many resturants/gas station/fast food. It is also very easy to find off the main roads. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Rooms are clean and the staff are great to help you out. Pool was clean well taken care of. The no smoking rooms have no orders. I would make my plans around staying at the Marion Comfort inn. The breakfast area is very nice and good selection of food to feast on. Parking is safe. I use to stay in Delaware my car was broke into twice and that was enough of that .

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Road
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

If you want internet go elsewhere... .37 mbs upload (YES THAT IS POINT 37 Mega Bites Per Second) Dial up is .566 mbs. So if you want netflix, youtube, facebook, or anything else other than mail (not web based) better have an air card that is verizion cause sprint and att dont live in his area. As for reservations don't bother they are just suggestions to this place. I reserve a single first floor and get a double second floor. I am not the only one my crew of 4 reserved the same thing and got the same result. Construction is going on also. Dust everywhere and the contractors that they hired have no quitting time. 7:30 pm and still using a hilti jack hammer to take tile off the floor. AVOID IF YOU CAN

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Marion Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to post your experience so that we may address the situation. We will be working with our internet provider to check the speed to make sure it is running at 1.5 meg and to see what needs to done to provide a smoother internet surfing experience. Our hotel takes pride in our service results and can assure you this is not our typical guest experience. Your feedback will allow us to to review certain operating procedures which will allow us to eliminate similar issues in the future. I apologize for the inconveniences that our renovations may have caused you. We are working hard to get these key items done to improve the quality of our hotel to give you our guest a better stay experience. We hope to be able to have the opportunity to once again be of service to you.

Sincerely,
Vick Dayal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Marion Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marion Comfort Inn

Address: 256 Jamesway, Marion, OH 43302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Marion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Marion Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marion Comfort Inn®, located in the downtown historical society, is near many Marion attractions including the Marion Centre shopping mall, Marion County International Raceway, Ohio State University at Marion and the Wyandot Popcorn Museum. The Harding Home, the Victorian home of President Warren G. Harding, and the Marion Municipal Airport are less than three miles from this Marion, OH hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Marion Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Marion
Marion Comfort Inn Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marion Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.