We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High Aspirations, High Prices; Food is Just Good to OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Quarter Bistro

The Quarter Bistro
6904 Wooster Pike, Mariemont, OH 45227-4427
513-271-5400
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Quarter Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Mariemont
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Route 50
Description: Welcome to The Quarter Bistro, located in the heart of historic Mariemont Square, only minutes from Montgomery, Maderia, Indian Hill and Downtown. The award-winning combination of seasonal cuisine and sophisticated ambiance are just the beginning of an unforgettable experience. As Cincinnati's premier "contemporary" bistro, the menu presents all things classic and creative in balance. Fresh fish and game daily? Of course. Outstanding wines at a great value? No Question. Whether it's a beautiful summer evening on the patio, a romantic wine and dine for two, or a down-to-business dinner for ten, The Quarter Bistro has it covered.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High Aspirations, High Prices; Food is Just Good to OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The food is good here, some entrees are very good. Be prepared to pay out the nose for wine and entrees. Our $9 wine had the smallest, barely 4 oz. pour, I've ever seen, I was immediately pleased I had not ordered the more expensive wine to get such a small pour.
Service seems good, if a little haughty when we dared ask the price of a special. If you have to ask, you can't afford it - which was true, here. Overall, we left feeling taken advantage of. The high aspirations and high prices of the Quarter are not matched by the food served or the service. The final indignity - turns out this snooty restaurant has no restroom of their own. They share restrooms with the next door theatre. Invest in some plumbing, people!
Local folks skip desert at the Quarter and walk around the corner to Graeter's Ice Cream for a real treat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great local spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

I've been to the Quarter many times, but this is my first review of it. In short, I highly recommend the Quarter. It's well known to the Mariemont locals, but I'd encourage anyone in the Cincinnati area to give it a try. The food is consistently excellent, as is the service. It's not a "fancy" place, but nor is it casual. It's perfect for a nice, comfortable night out. The adjoining independent movie theater is fun, and a great night out is to go to the Quarter for dinner and then catch a movie next door. Alternatively, the Quarter has a vibrant bar scene, which people enjoy. The outdoor dining in the summer is also very popular.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indy
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Mixed Bag”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Saturday night after the Reds game we picked this place as it ranked highly on open table for outdoor seating. Unfortunately you can only make reservations for "inside" seating and the patio at the restaurant is "first come first serve." (shame on open table that they only disclose that to you after you make the reservation on there, fyi).

We made an 8:15 reservation just in case the outside seating was going to be a long wait because we knew we'd be hungry. We arrived at 8:10. Greeted nicely and quickly, and the host did tell us that if we wanted to wait for outside it would be 20-25 minutes, so we decided that would be okay.

Bad estimate as the host finally came and got us 50 minutes later. I understand that it's probably difficult to determine exact times, but if we would have known it was going to be that long we would have just gone ahead and eaten inside.

Since we were so hungry we decided to go for an appetizer and chose the "Prawn Lettuce Wraps" for $16. Taste wise - great. Portion wise - terrible. Only 3 "prawns" and those were the size of normal cooked shrimp at the grocery store. There were 4 lettuce wraps, some sauce and greens, and also some great tasting pork bits that came too. But really for $16 I found 3 shrimp to be kind of sad. A quick survey of my dining club friends to "guess" how many they should get for $16 the minimum guess was 8 and ranged up to 12.

Before the meal we were also served a generous portion of nicely crusted bread with tasty whipped butter.

On to the entrees - for $27 I got the sockeye salmon special. A decent piece of salmon and it was cooked very well. It had a simple glaze and a fava bean puree. It also came with a generous portion of grilled asparagus served over fried noodles. I found the noodles to be burnt, but the wife kind of liked the charred taste. The asparagus was very good.

Wife had the fish tacos and pronounced them tasty especially with the chipotle lime and avocado.

We sampled a couple of wines and found the Italian Barbera was a decent choice at $31/bottle, good to ask for a decanting on that as it opened it up nicely. The rest of the red wine list seemed a little proud, for example they carry Simi Cabernet, which at $55 is probably $10-$15 more than I would expect to pay for a bottle that wholesales for about $10-$12.

Entree delivery time was a little slow, we were just about to the point of wondering when it finally came out. It wasn't ridiculously long, just saying we were at the point where we were hoping it was coming soon.

Want to add that the staff of the Quarter Bistro was very attentive and friendly. Our server was warm and friendly, spent time with us and made recommendations. Other servers checked on us (and others) and looked like a good team effort there.

The outside patio area is very nice with comfortable seats, not cheap plastic stuff like some places have.

Sometimes it's hard to say "average vs. very good" here as a rating, I think this falls between the two. Would we go back? Yes we would. Will we look at trying some other places first next time we are in town? Probably so.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IKE48
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

The Quarter is an excellent place to get a good bottle wine & great appetizers. The staff is awesome & treats you with excellent service.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fine dinner dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

A very eclectic restaurant with excellent ambiance. The food is superb and the atmosphere is good for friends or couples dining. For entertainment, you can always go next door to the theater. They also have a great outdoor patio for good weather dining. Recently they have brunch available on Sundays.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Quarter Bistro also viewed

 

Been to The Quarter Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Quarter Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.