We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“satisfactory overall, but with some issues” 4 of 5 stars
Review of South Beach Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added South Beach Resort Hotel to your Saves list
South Beach Resort Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   8620 E Bayshore Rd, Sandusky Bay, Port Clinton, Put-In-Bay, Sandusky, Marblehead, OH 43440   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marblehead
Windsor, Connecticut
1 review
“satisfactory overall, but with some issues”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The hotel seemed to be staffed by high school kids. Walking into the mail lobby made my teenage daughter uncomfortable, and even I noticed the typical high school 'look-over' and mannerisms from these people. They need a lesson in working in the service industry. The adult staff were great. The rooms were dated (they really need to get rid of the comforters on top of the beds, as they never get washed - (that's the reason no hotels have them anymore!). The bathrooms were clean and in good repair, as was the room in general. The pools, shuffleboard, tennis court were fantastic. Though the towels were like sandpaper. A great property overall. For adult's traveling, I'd pass on this. However, traveling with kids, you can't beat this hotel. The kids did not want to leave (ages 6-13). They are still talking about it. Worth the price if you have kids.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    42
    32
    24
    38
See reviews for
84
84
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Streetsboro, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2014

South Beach Resort is a beautiful hidden gem in Mablehead, Sandusky. Clean, quaint, with a beautiful veiw of the Lake. Winery's, shopping, and great resturants all close by. We'll difinely go back!! We stayed in the hotel. The room had a jacuzzi tub, plus a regular nice bathroom, two beds, and a private balcony. It was just the two of us, but I recommended it to my daughter and her family also. They have private houses lining the two sides of the property with a pool paradise for the kids, plus a private pool by the lake for adults only. The owners were friendly and welcoming. They shared interesting history about the place, plus your not too far from Johnson's Island where there is a historical Confederate Cemetary that was very interesting to tour. For you history buffs. (You hae to visit to find out the history of the place) :) Something for everyone. 5 Stars. Mary Gerak

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2014

A great hotel (and cottages) for family fun. Stayed with our two pre-teens in a Queen suite and spacing was fine for a 3 night stay. Don't expect luxury, but clean (although daily housekeeping services marginal) and lots to do. Pros: Front desk staff very helpful, outdoor pools (3, but small), shuffleboard, volleyball, fire pit, tennis court, corn hole, gazebos, picnic tables. Cons: No onsite restaurant (but did have free breakfast of cereals, muffins etc,), no work out room (but a walking trail around a marsh across the street). That all said, if the weather would have been bad, we'd have nothing to do in the area unless the trip was centered around Cedar Pointe.

Room Tip: Ask for Lake-facing side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Ohio, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

We just had a wonderful stay at South Beach Resort. The 3 pools were clean and inviting, the complimentary breakfast was great and the room had a wonderful view. The people working were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony overlooking the Sandusky Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I went to stay at this hotel. When we got there we were skeptical. The girls at the front desk just stared at us and we're not friendly at all. When we got to our room they were really outdated and in the bathroom there was water damage on the ceiling and black mold!! I couldn't believe it. My husband and I went to tell the girl at the front desk and they didn't even apologize. She said oh well that's not my fault. I couldn't believe it I was so mad. She offered us another room so we decided to check it out. It smelled like mildew and the carpet was bunching up from water damage. The bed was bending in the middle and it was just dirty. We left immediately and considering we didn't check in till 10:00 pm and had no where to go we still left. They didn't apologize when we left and couldn't refund my money. We called and spoke to the manager the next morning and he said he would handle getting us our money back. However he never apologized or anything. Horrible experience!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights MI
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We had last minute changes in our vacation (hurricane Arthur) so we call SBR and they were so accommodating to us. The service was exceptional. Accommodation were great. Great place for families. highly recommed!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Don't get me wrong....this is not a terrible place but I think you could probably do better for the money. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a decent view of Lake Erie. The room itself is clean but some updating is needed - paint is chipping around the doors, etc. This resort has a bit of an identity crisis - they claim to be a Resort Hotel but it's closer to a campground than any resort hotel we've ever visited. There are many cabins that line the property in front of the hotel which give it a very campy vibe. It's probably fine if you have a large group that wants a place to get a lot of people down. Something that turned us off was the daily/nightly hoe-downs that took place right in front of our balcony. Large groups put up tents and just partied away. It was loud and hard for us to enjoy the lake-front balcony room that we paid extra for.

They claim that they have 3 pools, one of which is a "quiet" adult pool. However, when we were there at least 40 people were down there at the "quiet" pool and at least 20 of them were loud kids, running and jumping into the pool and hot tub. One guy even brought some kind of old boom box and blasted his music...and that was the "quiet" pool. Obviously, no one is really monitoring the grounds.

We've been to many hotels that include a free breakfast in the stay....most of these businesses do a pretty decent job with their breakfast fare. The SB also claims to have breakfast included. However, the low quality sweet rolls and limited variety of cereal, etc. makes this a not very appealing breakfast option. They ABSOLUTELY need to buy a couple more toasters - it's ridiculous to make guests wait in a long line for a half hour just so they can make some toast. The breakfast for us was pretty much a waste of time - we did it once and that was enough.

We have to say that while we really like the concept of a hotel that has lake-front rooms, this one has enough negatives that we'll probably be looking to stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to South Beach Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about South Beach Resort Hotel

Address: 8620 E Bayshore Rd, Sandusky Bay, Port Clinton, Put-In-Bay, Sandusky, Marblehead, OH 43440
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Marblehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Marblehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — South Beach Resort Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 1/2 Acres waterfront resort, with three heated in-ground pools, private sand beach, Jacuzzi, tennis courts, basketball court, 38 boat slip marina. Centrally located near Sandusky, Cedar Point, Put-In-Bay, Port Clinton, Lake Erie Islands ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your South Beach Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
South Beach Hotel Marblehead
South Beach Marblehead
South Beach Resort Hotel Ohio/Marblehead

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage South Beach Resort Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.