We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally an upscale place that gets it right” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Club Wine Bar

Canoe Club Wine Bar
5831 East Harbor Road, Marblehead, OH 43440
419 960-7030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Marblehead
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating
Port Clinton, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Finally an upscale place that gets it right”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

The location is semi difficult to find but its sure worth the effort! An upscale place in a blue collar area that gets it right fro the most part. Quiet, comfortable dining with some outdoor seating. Warm in the winter pleasant in thewarm weather months, the atmosphere hits the spot and is comfortable and relaxing without being pretentious or "themed" . Brick iron pizzas are great and larger groups may want to order a few different choices and share. They're all different but really good! Also, the iced tea here is the best I have found period. Its brewed in house and has a tinge of berry flavor to it that makes me wish they sold it by the gallon. Other local places advertise classy. For the real thing, follow the locals here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Streetsboro, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice addition to the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Is a very nice place to sit and talk, the art gallery was cool to go through, had some neat pieces in it. Only thing I could really complain about is some more selection when it comes to wine by the glass, and since it's in a wine producing area, get a few local ones. Food was very good, especially the pizza

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
2 reviews
“wine dinners are greeeeaaaatttt!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

keep up the great wine dinners they are greeeeeaaaaattttt! don't pass this little charming place up. they do a great job. we stayed the the south beach resort hotel and it was great toooooo!!!!!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strongsville, OH
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Marvelous in the Off-Season!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

I was eager to have my husband try Canoe Club for the first time, but a little worried it might not be as good now that the off-season has arrived. We were delighted with our meal and he was raving about it to friends the next night. He ordered the Philly Steak Pizza and I had my old favorite, the Spinach artichoke. We split a delicious caesar salad and had a nice box of leftovers for the next day while we worked up at our cottage. It is so nice that you can just walk in and get a table without a wait in this lovely setting. The wine selection is awesome and they'll happlily seal your unfinished bottle to take home too.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perrysburg, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great couple place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

highly recommend this wine bar for a nice couples night out. little, cute, quaint, great food!!!! nice drink menu and wine list.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Club Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Canoe Club Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Club Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.