We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, light dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Club Wine Bar

Canoe Club Wine Bar
5831 East Harbor Road, Marblehead, OH 43440
419 960-7030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Restaurants in Marblehead
Price range: $8 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night
Cleveland, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good, light dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We had fantastic tomato bisque soup, hummus with fire-cooked pita chips, and pizzas. We enjoyed it all!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    13
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toledo, Ohio
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I visited the Canoe Club with family and friends and had a delightful experience! The food, atmosphere, light menu, and service all exceeded my expectations. I had a crispy ruben sandwich with a small portion of pasta salad while another person in our party had the french onion soup. Though we did not have wine on this trip, I will definitely stop in again to sample the collection! The one thing that I was confused about was the families that were seated as I was leaving. Who brings their three children to a swanky wine bar with lunch portion food options? Maybe that's just my opinion.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chesterfield, mo
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Good food - not the best location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Located on a busy 2 lane highway, you wouldn't expect much. The interior is gorgeous with granite counters, etc. we had spinach-artichoke dip and a wood fired pizza. Delicious. The outdoor patio would be Greg if it wasnt in the parking lot.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelleys Island, OH
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unexpected great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Good wine selection, small plate (tapas type) samplers. Everything delightful and mostly pretty reasonably priced

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good Pizza, Fun Times”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

We have been to the Canoe Club Wine Bar about 4 times, and enjoy it for a casual evening out. The wine list is very good, with a nice assortment of dry and not so dry wines (this area of Ohio has a number of sweet wine drinkers). Pizzas are the centerpiece of their food selection, and are made to order in a wood fired oven. We have found them to be delicious. In addition to pizza, the menu offers salads, appetizers and sandwiches. There are no full dinners available.

Seating inside includes about a half dozen tables for two, two long tables that can seat up to eight, and space at the bar. There is also an outdoor seating area that is screened, and features a fireplace if there is a chill in the air.

We have found the service to be friendly and efficient. On nights when there is live entertainment, it may tend to be crowded.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Club Wine Bar also viewed

 

Been to Canoe Club Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Club Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.