We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway, just don't expect real fireplaces” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages

Save Saved
You added Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages
3230 O'Possum Run Road, Mansfield, OH 44903   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 Mansfield B&B and Inns
Dayton, OH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway, just don't expect real fireplaces”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We rented a king cottage with a kitchenette and found it to be a very nice, clean room. I was excited about having a fireplace, but was disappointed to learn they are electric. The jacuzzi tub was nice.

We only had a few minor issues. Their office is very poorly marked, you can only see the sign after driving past it to the cottages then back again. The cottage areas are clean, but there was so much junk around the office we thought it was an old storage building. I had mot realized the cottages are duplexes. Ours could've used more soundproofing, we learned way too much about our neighbors' activities. The deadbolt on our door was broken and there was no security chain. If you expect to use the kitchenette, bring everything with you. We were told it was furnished with basics, but it didn't even have 2 forks.

All in all, we had a relaxing stay and would probably go back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    9
    11
    4
    0
    3
See reviews for
5
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
rrogers
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

After looking at the website and seeing the pictures of the cottages, I couldn't wait to book my stay. Having a 5yr old child, we didn't want to stay at a hotel, we assumed that one of these cottages would be a much better option and give us more room. WOW....what they say about assuming is true!

We arrived a few days before Christmas. It had snowed the day before and the entrance and road to the cottages was not cleared off at all. I had to call three times to figure out where we were supposed to go check in.We drive up the steep hill to the cottages to find that the parking lots were also not cleared and you could not see where you were supposed to drive. Its a terrible first impression to have no signs or cleared roads to guide us.

When we finally found which cottage was ours, the door was unlocked, so we went in to take a look. It was nothing like the pictures we saw on the website. The nicest thing in the place was the jacuzzi bathtub, and it was near the front door. Two queen size beds were within 5ft of each other, the TV was in a cabinet behind one of the beds. The stove and refrigerator was placed right in entrance way.

To top it all off, when I told the owner I was completely unsatisfied, she said "Well you already paid in full." We paid for 3 nights, and did not even recieve a partial refund. The owner called and offered us an ajoining cottage, but after all we saw, we were not interested. An ajoining cottage wouldn't solve the problem, as there would still be no room for a child to play.There is too much furniture to do anything but sleep here. We ended up staying at a local hotel, and it had much more room, better price and far better customer service.

Having grown up in this area, I was the first of my friends to book a room here. After the way things turned out, we will not recommend this place to anyone that we know.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDC3230, Owner at Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
I'm, sorry to read your negative review on us. I tried to address the issues that you raised when you were here, but you simply closed on me. There was a snowstorm when you came, and you saw that we were trying our best to clear the driveways --you saw one of our guys plowing. This shouldn't be of so much issue to you because you were driving a 4-wheel drive vehicle, anyway --and you did not have a problem at all getting up the hill. You came 2 hours earlier than our check-in time, and we let you go to your cottage earlier. I'm sorry that the cottage did not meet your expectations. You asked for a 2-bed cottage, of course it is a little bit crowded inside. The cottages are one big room either with 1 bed or 2 beds, not 2 bedrooms -I made that clear when you made your reservation over the phone. You asked for a bigger cottage, and I answered that's the biggest one, unless you want 2 adjoining units, but you said no. You said you were not staying. You didn't ask for refund, you pretty much assumed and knew that you wouldn't get a refund, and you said to me --"enjoy the money", and drove away, left me before I could say anything. I was stunned, standing there outside the cottage asking myself -what happened? --what did I say to him? I tried to call you several times on your cellphone, offering you a special deal on the second unit of just $50 so you would come back and not lose your money --but you never called me back. I planned on giving you adjoining units 115 & 116, with one bed each so you would have more space, at a total price of almost 50% off --but you never called back. You simply left without negotiating with me leaving the impression that you didn't care about the money you already paid.. And for you to vent, complain, and write these negative things about Spruce Hill is simply unfair, unrighteous and unjust. We are a small time family owned business, and we are deeply hurt with negative comments like this. We are very sorry that we were not able to handle your case very well when you were here. Please accept our offer of free stay on your next visit to Mansfield. You are important to us --we are so sorry for giving you a very bad first impression. We always try our best to take good care of our guests in all human ways possible. Please give us a chance to prove that our website is not misleading.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massillon, Ohio
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We found this place on a Living Social offer and took advantage of the deal for a quick getaway. We stayed in cottage 116 that featured a small kitchenette, fireplace and a nice eating and sitting area in a bright cozy round turret. Our cottage was very clean, furnished nicely, comfortable and very quiet. The setting at the top of a hill overlooking a valley was quite scenic, especially since the ground was covered with fresh snow.

We made our reservation with very little notice and the owners were very easy to work with and responsive to our needs. Overall it was a great getaway experience and one we will most likely repeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

There is not enough I could say to express how thoroughly impressed I was with our weekend stay at Spruce Hill. Our cottage was exceptionally clean and tastefully decorated. Elizabeth’s special touches to the romance package were so beautifully arranged that you can help but stop for a minute to take it all in. Her breakfast in bed was a delicious experience as well. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave, the service is exceptional and far surpasses anywhere we have been in recent years. Spruce Hill is by far one of the best places I could recommend to anyone.

TKB

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We spend our Christmas as an entire family at cottages124-127. The cottages are small, but very 'homey'. Each one of our cottages were different: one had a mini-kitchen, one had a deck, one had a fireplace, one had a fold-out couch, etc. Each came with a jacuzzi tub & stand-up shower, plenty of plush, soft towels, your basic shampoos, lotions & soaps. They were all decorated comfortably, with neutral colors and clean linens. They also all came with plates, eating utencils, coffee makers,microwaves, hair dryers and ironing boards. Snow Trails is literally right outside the back door. The scenery is gorgeous, the views are beautiful!
The downfalls: even though it was December when we stayed there, we were finding ourselves killing spiders & bugs pretty often. The back door to our deck wouldn't shut properly, so we couldn't lock it. The driveway is VERY steep and wasn't salted or cleaned off. We had to get out and push 3 of our sister's cars up the hill. Our driveway/parking lot in front of our cottages never got cleaned or salted either, nor our steps. We followed our 75-year old dad around, for fear of him falling! The lodge lobby or check-in building was hit-or-miss, every time we walked down there it was locked. There is a number you can call if the building is locked, but we tried 4 different times and got no answer. The lady in the lobby speaks very broken English, but was very friendly and welcoming. The cottages were very inconsistant. One would have 3 coffee mugs, 4 spoons, 1 bottle of shampoo, 4 lotions. The next cottage would have 3 towels, 6 washcloths, 1 coffee mug, 1 salt shaker. Each of our cabins had at least 1 light burnt out. Only 2 of our cabins had phones in them (and the area isn't AT&T friendly).
Within 50 feet of our back door was the Snow Trails hills. Even though the trails were'nt open, the kids still sledded & boarded down the hills. (Natural & made snow) The Snow Trails lodge is beautiful, there was a live band there one night. Beautiful views, friendly people.

Room Tip: Even though you're literally a rocks throw from the slopes, you don't hear a thing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Just a few miles from Mansfield, OH, Spruce Hill is a gem hiding in the hinterland.

Built next to a ski resort, Spruce Hill is a quaint get-a-way. There is a central lodge and several cottages, some with porches and some with sun rooms. This is a perfect spot to just get away from it all, but conveniently located to some excellent dining, state parks and if the snow is falling... Skiing.

Our room was comfortable, the bed just the way we like them.

We came back from a trip to Malabar Farm and had lunch on the deck. A glass of wine and a book. We then took the opportunity for a couple massage... Bliss.

Spruce Hill is an ex Ellen's choice for that get away from it all weekend.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

What a lovely place! We took advantage of a Living Social offer and spent November 9 & 10 in cottage 127. We chose it because it had a deck, and after we requested it I thought we were foolish, because who needs a deck in November? We did - the temperatures were in the high 60s and wine, cheese, fruit and books on the deck made for a wonderful afternoon.

The room is very cozy and well appointed, with a comfortable king sized bed, a kitchenette and a gorgeous jacuzzi. The jacuzzi was beautifully set up with candles and rose petals for us, but after a day of hiking, sightseeing, an in-room couples massage and a wonderful dinner at the Malabar Farm Restaurant (separate review) we were too exhausted to indulge!

Coffee maker with coffee provided, microwave and toaster worked perfectly. Didn't use the stove or the TV, so I can't report on those. Our only problem was a non-functional hair dryer which was quickly remedied by the management who brought a replacement right up.

The only reason I did not give Spruce Hill 5 stars was due to the lack of wi-fi and, more important to us, the lack of good reading light anywhere in the room. We are avid readers, but it was impossible after dark as there wasn't a single lamp in the room bright enough for reading. The lack of light is why I gave the room only 3 stars - otherwise it was perfect.

Spruce Hill is a perfect romantic getaway - peaceful and private. It feels like you're the only people in the world. Just an hour and a half from Cleveland, but you feel you've really gotten away. We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages

Address: 3230 O'Possum Run Road, Mansfield, OH 44903
Location: United States > Ohio > Mansfield
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Mansfield
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Upscale hilltop jacuzzi cottages, in a wooded area with 23 acres of scenic views. Communing with nature, yet minutes away from the interstate, restaurants & area attractions: skiing, race tracks, state parks, golf, etc. Perfect for intimate corporate meetings, group, couple or individual retreats, reunions, fund raisers, weddings, honeymoons, anniversaries; graduation, Christmas or New Year parties, club & family outings or simply a beautiful "get-away" place to stay. Ski, Spa & Romantic packages available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spruce Hill Inn And Cottages
Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages Hotel Mansfield
Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages Mansfield, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spruce Hill Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.