We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Forget The Beer Tasting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Debonne Vineyards

Debonne Vineyards
7840 Doty Road, Madison, OH
+1 440-446-3485
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 10 things to do in Madison
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in Madison, Ohio about an hour east of Cleveland, Debonne Vineyards is now the largest estate winery in Ohio, boasting over 175 acres of vines. Debonne Vineyards central location in the Grand River Valley wine region benefits from a climate moderated by the thermal effects of eastern Lake Erie. Our family commitment to excellence begins in the vineyards and is reflected in the quality of our premium Debonne Vineyards varietals and the original Chalet Debonne blends. Debonne Vineyards is also the first Ohio winery to open up a micro-brewery, Cellar Rats Brewery.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't Forget The Beer Tasting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

After an afternoon of wine tasting, we decided to switch it up and beer taste here instead of wine tasting. the Cellar rats brewery area of the winery had some delicious beer tasting. They also sell beer grain all natural dog treats which were devoured quickly by our Boxer. Overall fun experience.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    19
    6
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
PA
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Our favorite of the 4 wineries we visited in area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Spouse & I each got our own 'sampler' tray of several wines each. You can take these trays anywhere on the property, inside or outside and take your time sipping & deciding on your favorite(s). Spouse had variety of semi sweet & I had drier ones. My favorite whites were the drier reisling & the pinot grigio (but wine preference is very personal!). The we moved over to the brewery counter & husband tried a couple of of their beers.

Ordered paninis & chips at the bar and they were brought out to table outside.

The staff were very pleasant (Michelle was very personable). A live band was arriving just as left - wished we had stayed longer! Great place - a winery with a brewery combined!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TOLEDO
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Definitely check it out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

They had many varieties of wine to choose from (which the women in our party loved). There is also a brewery in the same building (which the guys loved). They both have a lot of variety and something for every taste. I highly recommend getting a sampler which had a small glass of each type of beer that they offered. It was perfect for everyone to find out which kind they wanted.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

What a great time I had here, The Ramada hotel told us about this place and Im glad they did had a great time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, OH 44060, USA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Interesting tour and a working winery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

The interesting part of this winery was that we could see it operating. I wouldn't recommend it for romance (that would be Ferrante) but I took interesting pictures of the wine making process and enjoyed it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Debonne Vineyards also viewed

 

Been to Debonne Vineyards? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Debonne Vineyards, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.