We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great get away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winans House

Winans House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winans House
Save
You added Winans House to your Saves list
143 River Street, Madison, OH 44057   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Madison B&B and Inns
north ridgeville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great get away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at the Winans House B&B in the beginning of May (2013) for a quick one day get away from the kids and to celebrate my wife’s birthday. It is an old century house that was originally a doctor’s office and has been extensively renovated by the owners Jim and Georgia. It has much character and quite fascinating stories to go with it. While my wife and I generally gravitate toward a more modern décor when we travel, we couldn’t have been more comfortable than we found ourselves at the Winans House. We stayed in the King James suite. Very nice large room which included a sitting area that allowed for a short lived rest before our dinner. The bathroom was nicely updated with a jacuzzi unfortunately our schedule didn’t work out that we could actually relax in it for even a short time. We ate dinner at the Vault Restaurant which is a 5 minute walk to the center of Madison from the house. It’s a higher end steakhouse that had plenty of nice selections if you are looking for that. We finished with a night cap and entertainment at one of the local wineries. The room doesn’t have a TV (Jim said they do have WIIFI) but we didn’t notice anyway. In the morning we had coffee outside at the back table and relaxed in the warmth of the sun until breakfast was served. Breakfast was excellent with yogurt, French toast with peaches and sausage and a blueberry cobbler. Jim and Georgia were as welcoming as you could hope B&B hoists would be. Very engaging which lead to some enjoyable conversations. My wife and I have stayed in B&B’s in California (San Francisco, Napa and Sonoma) and we consider our stay at the Winans House to be of equal par with several of those. If we find ourselves returning to this area we would definitely consider staying here again only this time for two days so we could enjoy the Jacuzzi.

Room Tip: The other room looked very comfortable as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
17
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lorain, Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed here in October 2012, which was our first stay at a B&B. We were very impressed. We were thankful that we spent Friday and Saturday, one night would not have been enough to enjoy the house or the area. The innkeepers are wonderful, sincere people. They make sure you are comfortable and will tell you anything about the house and the area. The house and the rooms are very clean, the bed comfortable, and everything that you would need is even in the bathroom if you forgot something. There were also wine glasses and a cork screw in the room. Breakfast was served very elegantly and wonderful. Everything was great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinboro
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012 for our 16th anniversary. To be honest, we were a little bit unsure of what to expect after viewing their web page, but were happy once we arrived! The entire property was very clean (important to us). Our room was comfortable and the bathroom with claw-foot tub was fully stocked with anything we may have forgotten at home. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. We were visiting the wineries in the area and the B&B is perfectly located in the middle of them all!

The only negatives were the tight parking behind the house (I had a tough time backing my Honda Pilot down the skinny driveway out to the street), and the house is on a main street (so you hear cars through the night). The street noise wasn't a big problem for us since we always bring white noise machines with us when we travel.

Room Tip: Bring a white noise machine if you're a light sleeper. The rooms are next to a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This historic home is now run by a lovely couple as a Bed and Breakfast. Though they've only have ran the home as a B&B for 5 years, they state they've owned it for 20 years and you can see the love and work that they have put into the home. The home has been redone to resemble a typical Victorian home with most of the work being completed by the owners over the years. If you're interested in the history of the home, the owners can give it along with all the thing they have done to restore it. The B&B only has two rooms but both are huge with large private baths. The owners also live on the premise in a connected portion of the home. The rooms are furnished with beautiful old furniture. However, don't go expecting to sit down and watching your favorite TV show. Neither room has a television and if they did, you would be wasting your time in the area. The home is only a few miles from several major vineyards in the area and you can spend the whole day and evening at the various vineyards. However if you spend the whole day, then you probably will want to get a private driver. The quiet little town also looked like it would have been fun to walk through but we were short on time and couldn't see it.

The couple (Jim and Georgia) that owned it were very delightful and were happy to share any information about the area and make recommendations. The breakfast that was served was delicious and was served in the formal dining room. By the time you are finished, you will be about ready to pop. They also left little snacks all around the home. It was a dieter's nightmare, luckily I wasn't planning on dieting for this trip.

If you're in the area looking for a B&B, then I would highly recommend visiting Winans House. Between the beautiful home, comfortable room and bed, wonderful owners, fantastic breakfast, and perfect location to the vineyards, you won't go wrong!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale MI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 5th visit to Winan's House and we can't wait to return! Georgia and Jim are perfect hosts. The home is beautifully appointed, very roomy guest suites with period antiques and fireplaces. Jim keeps the entire property in perfect condition. Georgia's breakfasts are reason enough for us to drive 6 hours to visit, they are always delicious and served perfectly. To compliment the wonderful meal, her dining table is always a picture, yet comfortable and inviting. The front porch is a great place to watch the world go by or the garden in the back is a peaceful retreat. There are several good restaurants within walking distance; antique shops, wineries, covered bridges and many parks to visit. We do travel a bit and this is our favorite B&B. We highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful, one done in darker tones - King James The other suite is light and airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our first stay here and it certainly won't be our last. Jim and Georgia (and Dana too) made us feel very welcome on one of the hottest days of the year. They are truly dedicated to their B&B and went out of their way to make sure everything was in order. There were even some special dishes to accomodate a special diet, the food was very tasty and looked just as pretty as it was good.
All the rooms in the house (with the exception of the kitchen) are furnished so as to represent an authentic Victorian home. The East-Indian and Oriental additions only reinforce that effect.
Our spacious suite was perfect, the bed oh so comfortable and the bathroom was filled with anything anyone might need. Off-street parking was a plus, and our air-conditioned room felt like an oasis in the heatwave! Thank you for being such wonderful hosts, we loved the room, the bed, the food and the companionship!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio USA
Level Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Winans is a small and beautiful B & B. Jim and Georgia are great hosts. Beautiful Victorian house that is an easy drive to numerous Grand River wineries. Our suite was very spacious and the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Madison
7.5 mi away
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
The Lodge at Geneva-on-the-Lake
#1 of 6 in Geneva on the Lake
4.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
Hampton Inn Ashtabula
#1 of 5 in Austinburg
4.5 of 5 stars 236 reviews
13.3 mi away
Residence Inn Cleveland Mentor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Ashtabula
16.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lawnfield Inn & Suites
5.3 mi away
Motel 6 Geneva
Motel 6 Geneva
#1 of 2 in Geneva
3.5 of 5 stars 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winans House

Address: 143 River Street, Madison, OH 44057
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Madison
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Winans House Madison, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winans House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.