We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Winans House

Winans House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Madison
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winans House
143 River Street, Madison, OH 44057   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Madison B&B and Inns
Edinboro
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Classy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in October 2012 for our 16th anniversary. To be honest, we were a little bit unsure of what to expect after viewing their web page, but were happy once we arrived! The entire property was very clean (important to us). Our room was comfortable and the bathroom with claw-foot tub was fully stocked with anything we may have forgotten at home. The owners were very friendly and the breakfast was delicious. We were visiting the wineries in the area and the B&B is perfectly located in the middle of them all!

The only negatives were the tight parking behind the house (I had a tough time backing my Honda Pilot down the skinny driveway out to the street), and the house is on a main street (so you hear cars through the night). The street noise wasn't a big problem for us since we always bring white noise machines with us when we travel.

Room Tip: Bring a white noise machine if you're a light sleeper. The rooms are next to a main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
13
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This historic home is now run by a lovely couple as a Bed and Breakfast. Though they've only have ran the home as a B&B for 5 years, they state they've owned it for 20 years and you can see the love and work that they have put into the home. The home has been redone to resemble a typical Victorian home with most of the work being completed by the owners over the years. If you're interested in the history of the home, the owners can give it along with all the thing they have done to restore it. The B&B only has two rooms but both are huge with large private baths. The owners also live on the premise in a connected portion of the home. The rooms are furnished with beautiful old furniture. However, don't go expecting to sit down and watching your favorite TV show. Neither room has a television and if they did, you would be wasting your time in the area. The home is only a few miles from several major vineyards in the area and you can spend the whole day and evening at the various vineyards. However if you spend the whole day, then you probably will want to get a private driver. The quiet little town also looked like it would have been fun to walk through but we were short on time and couldn't see it.

The couple (Jim and Georgia) that owned it were very delightful and were happy to share any information about the area and make recommendations. The breakfast that was served was delicious and was served in the formal dining room. By the time you are finished, you will be about ready to pop. They also left little snacks all around the home. It was a dieter's nightmare, luckily I wasn't planning on dieting for this trip.

If you're in the area looking for a B&B, then I would highly recommend visiting Winans House. Between the beautiful home, comfortable room and bed, wonderful owners, fantastic breakfast, and perfect location to the vineyards, you won't go wrong!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allendale MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This was our 5th visit to Winan's House and we can't wait to return! Georgia and Jim are perfect hosts. The home is beautifully appointed, very roomy guest suites with period antiques and fireplaces. Jim keeps the entire property in perfect condition. Georgia's breakfasts are reason enough for us to drive 6 hours to visit, they are always delicious and served perfectly. To compliment the wonderful meal, her dining table is always a picture, yet comfortable and inviting. The front porch is a great place to watch the world go by or the garden in the back is a peaceful retreat. There are several good restaurants within walking distance; antique shops, wineries, covered bridges and many parks to visit. We do travel a bit and this is our favorite B&B. We highly recommend a visit!

Room Tip: Both rooms are beautiful, one done in darker tones - King James The other suite is light and airy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan USA
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

This was our first stay here and it certainly won't be our last. Jim and Georgia (and Dana too) made us feel very welcome on one of the hottest days of the year. They are truly dedicated to their B&B and went out of their way to make sure everything was in order. There were even some special dishes to accomodate a special diet, the food was very tasty and looked just as pretty as it was good.
All the rooms in the house (with the exception of the kitchen) are furnished so as to represent an authentic Victorian home. The East-Indian and Oriental additions only reinforce that effect.
Our spacious suite was perfect, the bed oh so comfortable and the bathroom was filled with anything anyone might need. Off-street parking was a plus, and our air-conditioned room felt like an oasis in the heatwave! Thank you for being such wonderful hosts, we loved the room, the bed, the food and the companionship!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio USA
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Winans is a small and beautiful B & B. Jim and Georgia are great hosts. Beautiful Victorian house that is an easy drive to numerous Grand River wineries. Our suite was very spacious and the food was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uniontown, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2011

My husband and I just came back today.I need to say the online pictures do not do this B and B justice. It is charming and romantic and quiet. The owners are the most wonderful people I have met.They put their heart and soul into making their B and B not only a success but comfortable and wonderful for guests. Georgia's meals are incredible and the little touches like homemade cookies are thoughtful. I most of all enjoyed talking with Jim and Georgia they made me feel like family. They go above and beyond. I will be sure to return soon.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Augustine, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

I grew up in Madison, OH, but no longer have family there. Staying at Winans House was the next best thing to coming home. Beautiful Victorian architecture, stunning decor, comfy bed and delicious breakfasts were just the beginning. The owners made me feel so at home, adjusting their schedules to fit mine on the morning I had to leave. Winans House is walking distance to Madison Village (great for park events, holidays, Old Fashioned Days) and only a short drive to numerous wineries. The perfect weekend escape.

Room Tip: Only 2 rooms makes it feel like you're part of the family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Winans House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winans House

Address: 143 River Street, Madison, OH 44057
Location: United States > Ohio > Lake County > Madison
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Madison
Also Known As:
Winans House Madison, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Winans House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Winans House to your Saves list