We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A decent place to stay, but maybe we had some bad luck” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7820 Capital Boulevard, Macedonia, OH 44056   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 20%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
Kansas City, Kansas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A decent place to stay, but maybe we had some bad luck”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Overall, it's hard to complain about a clean room, a good sleep, a fine breakfast and pleasant and helpful staff members, but our stay had glitches. The carpet under our AC was wet, which I and one of the managers suspected was caused by a blocked condensation line, and they did offer to move us to another room the following day, (there were no vacancies on the first night) but by that time, we just walked around it or wore shoes. The next night, the hot tub was shut down and the indoor pool was freezing. The third morning, the men's restroom off the lobby was also closed due to repairs. The hotel was clean, and the breakfast varied every morning, and was very good, but there wasn't much of a selection of fresh fruit. They did have a large bowl of frozen fruit, and everything else was well stocked.

I would rate this hotel "very good," and maybe even "excellent" if it weren't for these problems. I wouldn't let my experience on this trip keep me from staying there again and recommending it to others.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    31
    19
    11
    7
See reviews for
35
29
2
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Mary, Florida
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The good points, the hotel was very clean, the rooms were sparkling, the cleaning staff really does a fantastic job. The front desk staff as well were very polite and helpful.

The bad points, the hot tub was broken when we visited that was a bummer. Things were a little run down, worn out carpets in hallway, etc. Also, most of the parking was taken up with construction vehicles, I don't know if that is usual, or just on the night of our stay.

Breakfast room is large, and breakfast was very nice. Overall a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frostburg
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Extremely Clean! Loved my stay here. Beds comfortable, entry welcoming as always in a Country Inn. Nice breakfast. The bathroom is SOO clean, a bit small, but very clean. The shower curtain is very thin. Close to services. Will stay here again when I return to the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marcellus, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I am a big fan of the Country Inn and Suites chain so I was not worried about booking this hotel for one night for myself, my father and my two kids. However I was surprised by how many problems we encountered. We arrived around 6:00 so we planned just to leave our things in our room and go to dinner, but found upon leaving the room that the door did not lock! It was firmly closed but we were able to open the door. We were moved to a new identical room. The room was on the small side compared to other Country Inn and Suites I've stayed in which was somewhat disappointing.
After returning from dinner my kids wanted to swim and I was looking forward to spending time in the hot tub. We found the (indoor) pool to be almost too cold to swim in and the hot tub did not turn on. Thankfully a staff member did get it working.
The breakfast was adequate but nothing special. The best points of this hotel were cleanliness and the staff.

Room Tip: Rooms in the front of the hotel may be quieter as they are away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Binghamton, New York
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

this is my third time i have stayed hear an being a club carlson member i got a great rate for the room . checking in late around 11:00pm wanted to get a bite to eat so asked at front desk an the lady working there gave us some good places to go aslo warned us about a speed trap on the way which proved to be very accurate so not only had a good meal but saved on a speeding ticket good job.this is the second time i got good advice for dinner from front desk staff so be sure to ask they wont steer you wrong. hotel is good for the money nothing fancy but clean an convenent to highway and a good deal.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle Island, NY
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

When we planned our vacation to Ohio, we researched all nearby hotels and chose to make a 3-night reservation here due to its proximity to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in Canton and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame in Cleveland; the availability of a room with a private jacuzzi for two; and previous excellent experiences we have had at Country Inn and Suites.
We arrived around 4:30 pm and despite our reservation and a posted check-in time of 3 pm, the friendly desk clerk regrettably informed us that our room was not yet ready; the reason being that finishing touches were being done by housekeeping following the completion of a renovation to the room. We patiently waited in the lobby and ate free chocolate chip cookies while the desk clerk ran back and forth upstairs checking on the room's progress, making sure it met Country Inn's high standards. After about a 45 minute wait, the room was finally ready.
Brand new, clean, comfortable, spotless room. Plush, thick, comfortable king-size bed and pillows. Heat and A/C, cable color TV with remote control, refrigerator, microwave, hair dryer, coffee maker, free WiFi, and plenty of hot water. We enjoyed our first evening here.
Unfortunately, a problem developed when we retired for the night and things got quiet. Although my fiancé had a restful night of sleep, I was bothered by a loud, constant humming noise that vibrated the walls; which I determined was being caused by the filter pump for the indoor swimming pool, located directly below our room. I didn't sleep a wink all night! Early the next morning I notified the same gracious desk clerk of the problem, and she immediately moved us to another available room; however another jacuzzi suite was not available. The new room (on the top floor) was clean, comfortable and QUIET. We enjoyed comfortable, restful sleep the second and third nights of our stay. However, it was difficult to latch the door and took several slams to be sure the door was secure, or the door could simply be pushed open while we were out.
Free complimentary hot continental breakfast with lots of fresh food to choose from. Indoor pool, whirlpool and gym. Extensive renovations to the entire facility are ongoing.
Unfortunately, the problems I have explained prevent me from giving this facility 5 stars, although overall we were very pleased. The professional, accommodating staff gets 5 stars though!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Top Contributor
377 reviews 377 reviews
135 hotel reviews
Reviews in 154 cities Reviews in 154 cities
190 helpful votes 190 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

I chose this hotel for my coworker and I due to its proximity to my worksite visit. When travelling for business I chose location, cleanliness and comfort. I found this hotel to be satisfactory in all aspects.

Staff was genuinely friendly. Helped out whenever in need. I had a minor issue and was corrected immediately.

Wifi is included, fast, never got dropped. There is a desktop in lobby, I used it to print out boarding pass. There is a small workout area with three machines, treadmill and bike, but no weights. There is an indoor pool and small hot tub.

Breakfast was included, the usual cereal, canned and fresh fruit, toast, pastries, scrambled eggs, biscuits and bacon. Coffee was good and breakfast was also good. They had fruit yogurt parfaits with granola that I enjoyed. Pretty typical, all edible.

The rooms seem to be recently refurbished, new carpet, large flat screen tv without annoying hotel channel, room had fridge, microwave and coffee pot. Bathroom was new too. Excellent room. AC was not too loud.

The room was overall quiet, only problem is that doors have a large gap at floor level, no weather strip, so when loud guests are passing by, you can completely hear them.
Elevator is painfully slow. Door is slow to close.

Overall very satisfied, good location next to highway, close to restaurants and my jobsite, friendly staff, clean, comfortable beds, recently renovated, good value.

Room Tip: Tip: Book away from elevator. Ask for room not facing busy road since it is loud, ask for room in fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia

Address: 7820 Capital Boulevard, Macedonia, OH 44056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Macedonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Carlson so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn And Suites By Carlson, Macedonia
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia Hotel Macedonia
Country Inn Macedonia
Macedonia Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Macedonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.