We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The fithiest stay I have ever had.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   268 East Highland Rd, Macedonia, OH 44056   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
Macedonia, Ohio
1 review
“The fithiest stay I have ever had.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

I checked in after along day of work and ready to go to bed. Then, I pulled back the covers and to my surprise the bed obviously had been slept in. I know this because there was hair, toenail clippings, and what looked like scabs ( or dead skin that was peeled off). I called the front desk and they apologized and gave me a new room. So, the first thing I did when I went in the new room was to check the bed and it too had signs of being slept in, lots of hair on the sheets. The 3rd room ended up being ok. It was a very unpleasant way to end my day.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    60
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
96
30
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2010

The general appearance of the hotel interior and room was shabby - both looked like they needed a good cleaning. The bathroom in our room had hair left in the tub and on the floor from previous guests - but for the price, we decided to stay. At least the sheets were clean... After our first night, the "cleaning" service the next day consisted of making the bed and emptying the trash. The bathroom was not cleaned. The worst part of the stay however, was the second night. We had a non-smoking room, but our room was filled with cigarette smoke coming through the bathroom vent from other rooms on the floor that allowed smoking. At 12:30am we called the front desk to see if anything could be done. The woman said "no" it was a frequent problem, and that she' would fill out a comment/complaint card. We had reservations for 4 nights. We checked out after the second night and moved to a smoke-free Courtyard Marriott in Independence. The Marriott was much better in terms of cleanliness, customer service, etc. and is smoke free. When we checked out of La Quinta, we weren't even asked why we were checking out early - because I would have told them if asked... This was my first and last stay at a La Quinta. We have family in Cleveland and visit often. We will not recommend this hotel to other friends or family members.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2010

My husband and I were moving from DC to Colorado, and stopped in this hotel as one of our stops. The hotel wasn't great, but we chose it because of its pets policy (All La Quinta Hotels are pet friendly!) Overall a good stay, but the location was a little sketchy.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

I often use LQ hotels when traveling with my dog and have stayed at various LQ locations throughout the midwest and northeast and am usually satisfied with my stay. The first room I was given at this location hadn't been cleaned that day and the desk clerk was surly about it...the second smelled of body odor and looked terrible (stained, cigarette burns - non-smoking room) and was simply shabby and gross -- I considered sleeping in my car. Seriously. The clerk did offer to upgrade me into what appears to be the room where the staff come for lunch (at least I'm guessing that from the fried chicken crumbs on the coffee table and the sticky soda residue on the night table) even this higher-end room is substandard for what I've come to expect from La Quinta -- which is clean, comfortable, basic hotel rooms with helpful staff. Sleeping here tonight, but will never stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2010

I usually try to stay at LQ during my trips because I'm a Returns member. I chose the LQ in Macedonia as my quarters for a visit to Cleveland mostly based on the reviews. Cleveland actually has a couple of LQs, all of them similar in price and different in ratings, somehow I ended up with this one. I can't say anything negative about the property itself. I have to admit that it is somewhat far from Cleveland, it takes half an hour to get back to the city, either by interstate or on highways, mostly downhill. The hotel is actually pretty far into the mountains (which I wasn't really aware of...) near some ski resorts - I kind of liked the area, despite the interstates it was quiet, forrest nearby, green, peaceful, nothing like the industrial city down the road. There are a couple of hotels nearby, but surprisingly few restaurants. You can almost see a large shopping mall with nearby restaurants, but its quite a long drive to get there because you have to go all the way around - plan for some additional time or pick up your dinner in advance.
The hotel is nothing spectacular, not the typical LQ building style, it used to be something else. The staff was really friendly, the rooms where basic but clean, including the bathrooms. I would recommend it, although I would look for a different property closer to downtown when visiting Cleveland.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macae, RJ
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The staff is very friendly, the rooms have good space. They need to improve the lights. The rooms looks shadow, what make the things difficulty if you need to work, for example. The Internet is quite good and free. The hotel needs a refurbishment (mainly the bathrooms, really small, the sink is out of the bathroom). I was in a no smoking floor, but even there was sometimes a strong smoke smell, maybe some smoke alarms would be good. The price was good. Really simple one, no room service, or restaurant, but you have a small shopping across the street where you have some options. They do not have a Gim romom, but allow you to use a gym nearby, for free.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, OH
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2009

Went to see Dave Matthews at Blossom Music Center - this is a very nice La Quinta about 1-2 exits from the venue. Super-easy to get to, clean, nice continental breakfast, and you can still get a smoking room if that is a priority for you...plus, we only paid $50/night...can't beat that!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia

Address: 268 East Highland Rd, Macedonia, OH 44056
Location: United States > Ohio > Macedonia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Venere, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Cleveland-Macedonia Hotel Macedonia
La Quinta Macedonia
Macedonia La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.