We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Service at the Front Desk” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   268 East Highland Rd, Macedonia, OH 44056   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
london
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Terrible Service at the Front Desk”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I booked a room last minute by phone for my children who were travelling through Ohio. I am Canadian. Obviously they wouldn't have my credit card at check in so I phoned to ask how I could ensure that my credit card was used for payment. I had saved the room with it, but I hadn't been able to pay outright because I booked it directly on their website. When you call the La Quinta number for the specific hotel and select reservations you get a central reservation office. I was advised that I would need to send in an email authorization. I was told to call the hotel directly and ask for front desk. I did this and got a man named 'John' who clearly did not listen to what I was asking, and did not want to understand my dilemma. He told me after I first requested an email address that I could send my authorization to he put me on hold saying he was busy. Calling from Canada I was aware of being frustrated but I said nothing and waited 5 minutes on hold. He came back and I had to go through the whole explanation again. I should add that I had called an hour earlier and was told to call back because the power was out. So my frustration was building. 'John' seemed disinterested in my request and after explaining it again, he told me to call back tomorrow and ask for another man. I told him they were arriving tonight, that tomorrow would be too late, and to please just send me the email form. Just as I was asking this I sensed that he was done with the call, because he told me again to call back tomorrow. I quickly got the words 'please don't hang up' before I heard click. I couldn't believe it. In total it took me 3 hours to book a room with La Quinta and to get the credit card authorized. I was put off so many times before I finally got someone to assist me. I even called the reservation number to explain what happened and ask for a supervisor and before I got put through I was disconnected. I think that was an accident, but I will tell you if my son wasn't travelling with a dog and in need of a dog friendly hotel I would have cancelled out completely. I won't be staying at a La Quinta if this is how they manage their communications.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    60
    39
    15
    16
See reviews for
96
30
27
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Urbandale, Iowa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Greeted by hotel clerk with, "by the way were under remodeling, so the workers will be starting at 8:00 a.m. tomorrow morning (Sunday)" and "oh, and we have a lot of teenagers here tonight." Bed was very good, but the 'cleanliness' is what makes a difference for us. Stains on the desk chair, thick dust on the desk lamp, dust visible in areas of the carpet. The extenuating circumstance, I suppose, was that we suppose this room was one room that had not been remodeled yet. We did stay the one night, canceled the remaining three nights of our reservation, and found lodging elsewhere in the Cleveland area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I travel to Cleveland area once a year on business. This year I decided to stay at The La Quinta Inn in Macedonia. I was very happy in my choice. The hotel is being remodeled so the foyer was a bit undone - but the workers were there each day and it should be up and looking good in no time. My room was in great shape! Comfortable, clean and quiet. I can't remember the last time I slept so well!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I arrived, after a long flight, around midnight, and needed to get some sleep and leave early the next morning. The lobby was under construction. I was given a room on the 4th floor that had been recently renovated. The renovation was nice, but......

1. They never asked for a smoking preference, and automatically sent me to a smoking-permitted room. Yuck! I was tired and it was late, so I didn't ask for another room. Strike 1.

2. Around 1 AM, the couple across the hall started arguing. Not the hotel's fault, but this is indicative of quality of the hotel overall. Strike 1, ball 1.

3. Around 5 AM, the alarm from the room next door woke me up. Must have been due to the paper-thin walls. Strike 2, ball 1.

4. Around 6:30 AM, the light from the ill-fitted curtains and the gaping crack under the door woke me up. Stike 3. Yer out!

I would not recommend this place for business travelers!

Room Tip: If you MUST stay here, ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Great hotel for price, staff is great, new upgraded rooms, I stay here every time I'm in the area which is often and will continue to. Good interstate access and near good restaurants also. Overall great value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia

Address: 268 East Highland Rd, Macedonia, OH 44056
Location: United States > Ohio > Macedonia
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia 2*
Number of rooms: 59
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, LaQuinta, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Cleveland-Macedonia Hotel Macedonia
La Quinta Macedonia
Macedonia La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn & Suites Cleveland Macedonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.