We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Enough Place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Macedonia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Macedonia to your Saves list
Days Inn Macedonia
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   275 Highland Road, Macedonia, OH 44056   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
Southern Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Decent Enough Place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2010

I stayed here for two weeks with my partner and it was great from the get go. We arrived and were greeted with a smile and an upgraded room (at no extra charge) as they realised we'd be there for two weeks and might need a fridge/microwave, so we had it for free. Went through the narrow corridor to the rear of the building and found the room no problem.
The pool was closed for the entire duration of our stay in the height of the summer season, so we found several alternatives to this.
There were also major roadworks going on behind the hotel, which we had to drive through to get anywhere (unless it's Akron, then that's the opposite direction). It's situated within easy walking distance to several other inns/restaurants, but due to the heavy traffic on the roads, we decided to drive to them instead.
We did note the sign on the back of the door which said that due to laws in Ohio, the rooms had to be serviced either every day or it could be left for three days maximum. By the end of the first week, nobody had serviced the room and we'd run out of towels. As it was late at night, I went to the desk to ask for more and explain that the room hadn't been serviced since we arrived, the night manager (a young guy who was very friendly) apologised profusely and gave us more towels and made a note for the housekeep to service the room the next day.
It was early the next day and we heard someone trying the door. It was locked from the inside and the latch was on, but the person was insistant on getting in. They even tried to slide their hand in the gap and undo the latch, I'd managed to get to the door and hold it shut, even then they STILL tried to push the door open. A long lie-in was off the cards, so we decided to get up and leave for the day. When we got back, they hadn't serviced the room, so we asked them to (they were Mexican, so spoke little English).
My OH told me one morning after I had gone to get some ice, that she heard the housekeepers outside the room reading the 'Do Not Disturb' sign "Ah.... Non Moleste!" They left shortly afterwards, which explained why she was in fits of giggles recalling the story to me when I got back.
The Days Inn Macedonia is ideally situated for Akron, Cleveland and all those other little gems (if you visit during the summer, take a short drive up to Hinkley Lake, it's a wee bit shabby, but on a nice day, everyone and their wife is there).
The Night Manager and us had a similar smoking pattern, as he had to smoke at the rear of the hotel, near to our room, so we'd often find ourselves all sitting on the bench talking away to each other in the small hours.
There was a black guy there, and I'm not being racist or stereotypical here, who really freaked my OH out a few times. Most notably whenever he walked past her, he'd stare directly at her chest and get, very much, into her personal space. He also had the habit of watching us, walking back and forth across the parking lot several times when we were out smoking. If he noticed our car coming back, by the time we'd walked the ten feet to our room, he'd have walked past us to stare. It was very off-putting to say the least, but the staff didn't seem to mind him.
The Night Manager, as I mentioned, was very friendly and when we went out for our anniversary dinner, we got some food to take back. When we got back to the motel, we decided that we didn't want it, so we offered it to him. He was VERY thankful for it as he hadn't had a chance to eat all day and he was getting free food from us. We also cleared out the fridge/freezer the night before we left and gave all the unopened food to him. He was a gem and the nights were made bearable by this gentleman.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    20
    27
    48
See reviews for
31
21
11
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

Pleasant enough staff but the facility needs to be upgraded.
Rooms are worn out. Bathroom has mold and toilets aren't very clean.
Heating/Air conditioner are antique.
Don't even consider going in the summer cause the pool will never open again.
I've asked numerous times about it but the manager said it costs too much money to fix the bridge going over to the pool area.....yet they still have it listed as a feature on the website. There are six motel/hotels with in a mile, so your money is better spent there until the management decides to clean up the place.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east coast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

This hotel was not very clean. Sheets were stained and the grounds were very run down. The free internet does not work on the back side of the building. The customer service desk double charged me for the stay and getting a refund has been a problem.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corydon, IN
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

Booked two rooms for two nights for myself and co-worker. We left after the first night. Situated next to a busy road with ongoing construction. The under window air conditioner screeched all the time it was on and stopped with a loud thunk when it switched off. I didn't get a bit of sleep all night. With morning approaching and no sleep in sight, I took a shower without turning on the light / fan as it also screeched so loud it would have awakened everyone in surrounding rooms had I turned it on. There were two bottles of shampoo in my bathroom but no soap. The accommodations are dreary at best. With the "free breakfast" a carbohydrate blowout, I went across the parking lot to the deserted and dirty Denny's restaurant where one person was on duty....the cook, cashier, dishwasher, and waiter all rolled into one. Not a great start to an important business day. If you are on a tight budget and don't mind the noise and dreary surroundings, this might be the place for you. If you are a traveler who prefers clean, quiet, and convenient, this is not your place. My first and last impression is that this place is a real dive. Pay a little more and stay at a better place.

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2008

The property is great! It had free WIFI and a continental breakfast included in the rate. The rooms were very comfortable as you could tell they had new beds in the rooms and the carpet had been redone also. Dining wise there was a large selection of restaurants in the area. A variety of restaurants provided food for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, some of which open 24 hours and within walking distance. Overall a great place to stay!

  • Liked — Free internet, good location!
  • Disliked — Exterior corridor
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Macedonia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Macedonia

Address: 275 Highland Road, Macedonia, OH 44056
Location: United States > Ohio > Macedonia
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Macedonia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Macedonia 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Macedonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macedonia Days Inn
Days Inn Macedonia Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Macedonia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.