We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekday Happy Hour Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Granite City Food and Brewery

Granite City Food and Brewery
24519 Cedar Road, Legacy Village, Lyndhurst, OH 44124
216-297-4495
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 24 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Weekday Happy Hour Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stopped into Granite City for the first time late on a Wednesday afternoon to meet a client for a happy hour. We were both pleasantly surprised. It is a very nice setting to enjoy some beers/food. Our server was very attentive. The beers and appetizers tasted great and the happy hour prices are very inexpensive (For 2 appetizers, 2 beer samplers and 2 other 16oz beers it was around $25 after tip). I would recommend the beer sampler and the flatbreads. I will definitely be returning.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beachwood, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Slow!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Been there 5 times. Every time there are 5 people standing at the hostess stand doing nothing. The manager seemed lost. There was a wait for a table and I counted it took 10 min to fill 2 empty tables. A disaster that won't last thanks to bad management!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Nice little spot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

I have been to GCFB several times since they opened. Food is decent, beers are good, and Sunday brunch looks amazing (haven't tried it yet).

Flatbreads, cheese soup and sticky wings are really good.

Other reviews are accurate... service is sketchy, often seem understaffed. Upset that they stopped weekend happy hour.

If going back, mug club is must.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“They are busy, but....”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

We picked Granite City for a get together with friends to celebrate a birthday. The floor plan is really nicely done, with a good sized bar and tv screen behind it. The decor is attractive, so based on first impressions, this place is going to be a hit as it is packed with people and I liked while we were waiting for a table, that our name flashed on the lobby screen, reading, we would be seated shortly. They do not accept reservations. I think we waited about 25 minutes for a table.

Most of us chose the chopped salad, and it was boring, no crispness to the salad because it was too finely chopped. The avocado was missing. Their chop salad is comparable to the consistency of coleslaw. I was going to say we had poor service, but, on second thought, maybe they are just too short staffed with the volume of people to be more attentive.

They are still new, and maybe need to workout their flaws. The best part of the meal was this huge, plate sized, warm, chocolate chip cookie with icecream that was brought out for my friend's birthday. That was delish and large enough to share with everyone at our table.

This is always been my peeve when dining out: no reason to have, soiled silverware, glasses, and liner dishes, if they are, don't place them on the table. This only takes a second.

Granite City was hit and miss.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very unpleasant experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We decided to come to Granite City for Sunday Brunch on 1/19/2014. We were a family of 5 and checked in at approximately 11:45am. The Sunday Brunch hours are from 10:00am -2:00pm. Upon arrival we were told by management that the Brunch has just ended. We did not expect this considering the website stated 10am-2pm. When we asked why they were ending the Brunch so early, he stated that their Sunday food truck did not arrive so they were unable to accommodate the customers for the remainder of the brunch, but stated that they can accommodate if we stay and order off the dinner menu. I expressed my disappointment along with MANY other customers who came in for the brunch. I was then told that we could still get in on the brunch after all (although many others were turned away and decided to leave). The manager gave out complimentary vouchers for the inconvenience advising us we could come back for another Sunday Brunch. We decided to stay and after about an hour wait we were finally seated. Once seated, we went over to make our plates and noticed that there was an abundance of food. The manager then came over and asked us to give him back the voucher that he gave us. In addition, we were originally told that the Sunday Brunch was $15.95 each but after receiving our bill today we were charged $17.95 each. When we asked the waitress about the increase from just last week, she said management decided to go up an addition $2 due to the unexpected popularity of the Brunch…….Manager’s name is David Heflin. I found him to be very unprofessional and lacking in customer service skills.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Granite City Food and Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Granite City Food and Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Granite City Food and Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.