We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special experience, peaceful, comfortable, welcoming.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arbor Lights Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lorain
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arbor Lights Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Arbor Lights Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
3454 East Erie Ave, Lorain, OH 44052   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Lorain B&B and Inns
Galway, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A special experience, peaceful, comfortable, welcoming.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Right on the shore of lake Erie Arbor lights staying in home of an American family is a very special experience, totally different to staying in a hotel. The bedroom was comfortable, clean and very relaxing. The breakfast was delicious. Reed & Gerri Timko just could not do enough for us and of course Maddie the dog. We joined another couple for breakfast, they were so interesting and gave us a lot of advise on where to eat and things to see locally. Gerri recommended a lovely local restaurant on the lake for our evening meal and the second evening she recommended a French Restaurant in Vermilion. Both were superb. The house is is very tastefully decorated and has some lovely antique pieces and a veranda to the back, the shrubs and trees and hydrangea were so calming and beautiful. would I recommend staying at Arbor Lights to a friend? the answer is definitely yes.

Room Tip: Our room was perfect and I would guess the other rooms are equally good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had a very nice sleep in this house as it was so cozy and comfy! The screened in back porch was inviting to sit and read in the evening. Patio in front was also nice at sunset as well as the area parks for watching one of the nicest sunsets ever. Breakfast was VERY good and the conversation with other guests was nice as we enjoyed things in common with all of them!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dryheat15
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is a wonderful place to get away from the stress of everyday life in America! My husband and I were here from Arizona for our nephew's graduation. The location is fantastic, across the street from Lake Erie, it cannot be topped. Gerry made us feel so comfortable and the cuisine was amazing! We were able to escape our crazy world for 4 days and still feel like we were home. The home comes with Maddie, a special greeter. This is a "Doll House!!" I can't think of anything that needs to be changed. magical, just magical!
I

Room Tip: Carsons Corner was wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

My husband and I had a fabulous 2-day getaway at this little bed-and-breakfast. Right across the street from lake erie and about 40 mins. from Cedar Point. Breakfast was AMAZING! Much better than anything you'd get at a restaurant. I would highly recommend Arbor Lights B&B. We had no problems, and everything was very clean and neat!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

My wife and I took a 3 day getaway from the kids and responsibility to just relax and enjoy eachother. This is our first bed and breakfast experience, so we really didn't know what to expect. We were so enamored with the whole experience, we talked about opening our own B&B someday.

Gerry made everything very simple and complete. She seems to love her work and is a gracious host. We added the "Touch of class package". The sparkling wine was not expensive, but happened to be one of our favorites. The chocolates were nice. The package is not extravagant, but well worth the $59.

Gerry also provided excellent restaurant recommendations and planning assistance.

Arbor Lights is a small house across the street from Lake Erie in a cute neighborhood surrounded by.....well Cleveland. The house is not breath taking, but everything is comfortable and welcoming. We immediately felt at home. The ground were very pretty but unfortunatly were too wet to enjoy. Parking is a little challenging, but sufficient.

Breakfast was very good. Gerry served the ham souffles along with melon, strawberries, lemon-poppy bread, and a biscuit. A little starch heavy, but delicious. The coffee is good.

The room was pleasant, comfortable, and charming. The bed was firm, but very comfortable. The quilt was wonderful! We cranked up the AC and snuggled.

Suggestions:

-Offer a truly extravagant trip enhancement. The chocolates, wine, and flowers were nice; but I would have paid for top quality.
-Offer the robes for sale with or without the package.
-Offer more information about the surrounding area. How to get to a decent beach; Other restaurant recommendations; places to avoid; places to go; special events; etc.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

My husband and I had the great please of staying at the Arbor Lights B& B on our way back to Canada. Despite our late evening arrival, Gerry called while we were on route to ensure our safe arrival and made dinner reservations for us and a lovely waterfront restaurant. This beautiful B&B has everything you want - a lovely room with ensuite bathroom, a delicious breakfast eaten with the company of fellow travelers and an innkeeper who really cares about her guests. We are definitely returning to Arbor Lights should we pass that way again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york city
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

I stayed here on a visit from NYC to my hometown in Lorain. It is now my home away from home - well, just down the street from my old home, anyway. The service was unbelievable, the breakfast was gourmet deliciousness, and the house was simply idyllic! They also attract fascinating people from all over the world - we met a couple from Germany, a pair of recent college grads from VA, and a man from Paris visiting his grandkids in Chicago. I can't say enough about how relaxing and lovely it was to leave all the nieces and nephews and aunts and uncles behind at my father's home to retreat to the serene Timko home each evening. I savored every moment there!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arbor Lights Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arbor Lights Bed and Breakfast

Address: 3454 East Erie Ave, Lorain, OH 44052
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Lorain
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Lorain
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Arbor Lights Bed And Breakfast Lorain, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arbor Lights Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.