We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, pretty good, although a few things to point out....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
117 N Main Street, London, OH 43140   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 London B&B and Inns
Peoria, IL
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
“Overall, pretty good, although a few things to point out....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

The location is about a 30 minute drive from Columbus in a small town. The main house has maybe 7-8 bedrooms, a few sitting rooms, and a dining room. There are nice porches on both the front and back of the house as well as on the second floor. The "carriage house" which provides more of an apartment stay, is out back. I stayed in the main house.

Overall, everything was clean. The owners were very friendly--no problem checking in or out. Breakfasts were good. A serving of fruit, a main dish, drink, and a side of sausage and some breadlike pastries.

One thing to be aware of is that even if a room is listed as having a private bathroom, it doesn't mean the bathroom is private WITHIN the room. For instance, one of the hot tub rooms (maybe both of them) just have a divider separating the tub/toilet from the bed area. The divider doesn't go the entire length of the wall or all the way to the ceiling. If you're comfortable with the person you're staying with, I suppose this isn't a problem, but it wasn't for me. I actually used one of the bathrooms down the hall that is usually shared by some of the other rooms. No one else was staying in those rooms at the time so it wasn't a big deal.
A few other things seemed odd-the magazines in the bathroom are over 5 years old. Also, instead of having small traveler shampoos, soaps, etc., there are just giant bottles of shampoo, etc., sitting out like what you'd buy at Walmart and then you're supposed to leave them for the next person. It felt weird to use a half used bottle of soap when you didn't know who'd used it before.
Other than that, everything was fine.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    6
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
11
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Centerburg, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2011

Decor, food and hospitality is outstanding. This is an owner operated business and the love and care they take in the B&B and the service they provide is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

Stayed here with a group of ladies on a "retreat" week-end and had a wonderful time. I would highly recommend a stay!

Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

My new husband and I spent our wedding night at Alexandra's and we were less than thrilled. We arrived around 6:30 and were greeted with surprise and "I wasn't expecting you this early." Needless to say we felt less than welcomed. We were also surprised by the fact that our bathroom was down a hall shared by another room. The whole set up of the room was weird and not comfortable. There weren't any bedside tables, the t.v. was next to the head of the bed making watching awkward and the remote was broken. We were there the end of March and it was chilly out, but the heat in the house wasn't turned on and we were freezing. We were also only supplied with a partial roll of toilet paper and had to go hunting through the house in the middle of the night for more. In addition to how the house was lacking in physical comfort, it lacked in visual appeal. There were gaudy wedding dresses hanging everywhere and creepy baby dolls on the back of the toilet. It was cluttered with lots of knick-knacks which weren't apparent in the website pics. I have been to quite a few B and B's in the Central Ohio area and this was by far my least favorite. I usually prefer B and B's for their value, beautiful rooms and little extras you don't get at a similarly priced hotel, but this was not the case this time. All in all we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jamjLondonohio, Owner at Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 28, 2011
We appreciate all comments and regret you did not feel welcomed. It is our sincere attempt to make sure this does not happen. Over the 10 years that Alexandra's has been open, this is the only comment that we have ever received like this.

As for the bathroom comment, we never require sharing of bathrooms unless family members desire to do so. It is true that bathroom is separate, located just outside the main sleeping room; but it is not shared with other guests.

In reference to decorative wedding dresses and dolls, we realize that not all people have the same taste in decorating. We regret this is not to your taste, but we are very confident because of so many positive comments that others have enjoyed the decorating. We have hosted over 200 weddings at our B&B which gives testimony to the fact many people very much appreciate how the bed and breakfast is decorated.

It is very easy to adjust the heat and air conditioning by simply notifying the managers. In addition, during cold months we supply each room with an additional heating device to accommodate those persons that like it a bit warmer.

We make every attempt to ensure all supplies are in the room and when notified can easily remedy any shortage situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2009

The owners of Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast are owesome. If we needed anything they were right there to help out. Especially helpful with tourist directions. The whole Bed and breakfast experience was outstanding from the room, the private Jucuzzi tub to the service. My husband and I loved it. We would definately return for future experiences. Alexandra's was a beautiful quiet place to get away. Just to see all the beauty within its walls was worth the trip for us!!!

Stayed June 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B.C. Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2008

My husband & I were bicycling through London and by chance came onto this B & B where we were treated very well by the lovely owner of the place. It was very cozy and comfortable.

  • Liked — in very old large mansion
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington D.C.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2006

The B&B will provide the best weekend getaway for the romantic couple or even just a wonderuflly comfortable night while passing through.

The house is wonderful, decorated meticulously to be accurate to the various time periods of the rooms. Everything is very homey, nothing at all ostentatious or cliche. Very clean and neat.

Really, the prize is the owners. We had a great breakfast, and they were even very able to accomodate me as a vegetarian. Relaxing conversation that was actually meaningful, not just small talk.

Facilities were excellent, service was wonderful, food was delicious and plentiful,

  • Stayed May 2003
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 117 N Main Street, London, OH 43140
Location: United States > Ohio > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in London
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Alexandra's Bed And Breakfast London, Ohio

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alexandra's Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.