We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not stay here!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Resort at Blackjack Crossing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Logan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
The Resort at Blackjack Crossing
Save Saved
You added The Resort at Blackjack Crossing to your Saves list
18170 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 23 Specialty lodging in Logan
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
“Do not stay here!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Omg!!!!!!the worst place on the Earth:((((the smell is awful, especially in the bathroom. The cabin is soooo dirty and unkept. The dishes are absolute garbage, yuck!!! I was scared to touch them. No tv channels at all. The radio is 100 years old and does not work. The hot tub was perfectly clean:) The cabin is on the perfect location, but please, stay away from this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    1
    4
    13
See reviews for
9
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
WV
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Do not stay here! While the brochure and website both show a very nice pool onsite, it is out of commission and has been for quite some time, and they do not mention this when you make the reservation! We booked our stay back on June 30th for two days in August specifically because of the onsite pool. We did not want to have to drive somewhere for a pool since we traveled with our 3 year old. We had two email conversations and phone conversations between the time of booking and arrival, and were never once told the pool did not work. Upon arrival, we discovered it had no water, and looked like it had been unused for quite some time. We immediately called the office to inquire and were told we could drive to one of two other pools that were 2-8 miles away and pay to use them! We said that was unacceptable and would be happy to stay the first night but wanted a refund for night two so we could make other arrangements to which we were told that couldn't be done. We were given the owners phone number which we called, but were told they weren't around. After calling the office again we were told someone would call us back that evening....surprise, nobody ever did. We never heard back from anyone, so we reluctantly stayed the second night. We called the office after checkout to see why we hadn't heard back and were told the owners were sorry about our disappointment but didn't feel a refund was neccessary, and that someone was supposed to tell us when we made the reservations about the pool. After this, we found many bad reviews online about the owners and their business practices, and read the pool hadn't worked for at least 2 years. The cabin was also filthy, with dirt and garbage on the carpet in the master bedroom. There were also piles of dead bugs all over the hardwood floors in the living area. After seeing the gross condition of the inside, we were afraid to use the hottub so it sat unused all weekend.

Room Tip: If you have any kind of cleanliness standards at all, this isn't the place for you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked a last minute stay based on the online pictures and the great price. Then I read the customer reviews and was plenty worried. However I feel I really got a lot for my money. The location is terrific so close to Hocking Hills State Park and fairly easy to find. Not the most scenic view from our cabin but plenty good enough. Hot tub was fantastic and fairly clean; I am not the most picky house keeper. Nice rustic log interior and wood floors. Beds were clean and fairly comfortable; I had no problem bringing my own sheets and towels for this price. Kitchen was fully stocked and again fairly clean. Bathroom was again fairly clean but needed some updating. The well water is terrible. Bring a full case of bottled water. The TV and air conditioner worked great. There is an efficient convenience and ice cream store just a mile or two away. We stayed in cabin 4 at the top of the hill; worth the steep rocky drive for a little extra privacy. All in all a lot for my money and I will go back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xenia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

We also booked the cabin then I found the reviews. I was sick after reading the bad reviews. We stayed at Black Jack crossing on June 29, 2012 and June 30,at cabin #1. It was very hot out and the cabin was so nice and cool for us. The cabin was very nice and clean. I never saw any bugs in the place not even an ant. NO mice or any droppings in the cabin. The hot tub was already on and heated for us and it was clean. The place is nice and wooded. The cabin has 2 very nice sized bed rooms and nice open area of living room ,kitchen ,dinning.It is close to the caves. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

I got a good last minute deal on a Blackjack cabin and then read lots of scary reviews and was very nervous!! However, the cabin was very clean and cute. We loved the fireplace and the hot tub on the deck. The only things that keep this from being a 5-star review was it would have been nice to have a gas grill on the deck instead of a charcoal grill under the deck. Also the water tastes pretty bad.... bring wine! All in all we had a very nice experience at Blackjack cabins.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Easy to reserve, but realllllly need to update ad with true discription of property.
Ad does not tell you that you need to bring own bed linens and bath towels. It said no cable, but actually there is no tv reception at all. Where was hot tub? Didn't give info on where it was supposed to be located. The lane to get to the cabin was like climbing down a rough log wagon trail, then had to climb same back up. The ad shows a very smooth dirt road. lol.
Owners need to hire a better cleaning crew. So glad now we did have to bring our own bed linens and bath towel. Wouldn't have used theirs.! The shower liner was disgusting.! Bathroom sink was dirty, The kitchen appliances were dirty. This is not exagerating. Micro was dirty, I wouldn't use coffee pot.It's a shame cause the cabin itself was really cute.! They took the time to decorate really pretty, but spoiled the whole effect because it wasn't clean!! Would not come back!!
I have never left a review like this before, so it must have been bad! It's a shame Most of the other reviews about this property were similar and nothing has been done to improve.
I definately will read reviews BEFORE renting anything like this again, not after. Dumb Me.!!

Room Tip: Check ratings of property first if possible!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akranes, Iceland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

I am not sure about the first review..Probably people that nothing ever makes them happy..But, we had a great time..The cabin and hot tub were very clean..The key was on the table and we got there early and there was no problem..Will be going back again end of September..Renting 2 cabins for our family weekend away..Will be trying the zip line adventure this time..Great place

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Resort at Blackjack Crossing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Resort at Blackjack Crossing

Address: 18170 State Route 664 South, Logan, OH 43138
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 23 Specialty lodging in Logan
Also Known As:
The Resort At Blackjack Crossing Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Resort at Blackjack Crossing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;