We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at this lovely, serene property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls

Save Saved
You added The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
21190 State Route 374, Logan, OH 43138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rekindle Romance
Ranked #2 of 3 Logan B&B and Inns
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another great stay at this lovely, serene property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Friends and I returned to the Inn and the same cabin, Hickory Hollow, this Fall and were again impressed. The property is wonderful and secluded while very close to most of the local trailheads. With the Fall colors just past their peak, it was absolutely beautiful. Although we worried when we read that the executive chef had left earlier this year, the food remained as delectable as it was last year. Once again, the stay provided relaxation, quiet, natural beauty and fresh air. The full moon really made the property glow.

Room Tip: 3 women shared Hickory Hollow which I believe is the only one with 3 beds. One is a bunk though so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hickory Hollow is an ideal cabin for a girls getaway or families. We pride ourselves on outstanding food, even when one of our talented chefs has left. By the way, our new Exec Chef, Jeramy started this week. Come back soon and try him out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    249
    51
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
24
221
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We rented "Dogwood" one of several cabins at the Inn. It is a lovely two story log cabin which beautifully appointed with Americana. It features a kitchen, living room and bath on the first floor, and the master suite down a spiral staircase. Both levels have walk out balconies over a deep ravine.

The lack of a bath on the lower level is a bit of a drawback, since the spiral staircase is really narrow. It is overpriced at the $300/night we paid, unless you factor in the beautiful isolation of the cabin.

The location places you just 5 - 10 minutes from the major attractions in the area, and there is a restaurant on site.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Happy to learn you enjoyed your stay in the Dogwood cabin. Next time, you might try the TreeHouse or RedBud cabin as they both have a bathroom on the same floor as the bedroom. And, they are secluded on their own two acres too. Hope you took advantage of additional amenities like our free hearty breakfast, homemade cookies, cozy bathrobes and slippers and the two person whirlpool tub.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

This was our first trip out to the Inn at Cedar Falls and it will probably not be our last! We went based on a recommendation from a friend. We only stayed one night, but I think one night was all that we needed! We used this place as base camp for hiking at Hocking Hills. We ended up showing up early - had lunch at the restaurant. The food was AMAZING - both my wife and I commented that they were some of the best bites we've ever had. My wife had a caesar salad and a bowl of the bean soup and I had the turkey club. Their sourdough bread is amazing and the sandwich had a delicious pineapple chutney! Afterwards, we checked in early without any problem (check-in is normally 3 PM but our room was ready at 2 or 2:30 PM). The girl at the desk was very friendly, professional and informative. She told us everything we needed to know. We opted to rent a cottage instead of a cabin since it was only the two of us. I think cabins are for larger parties or if you want to be able to cook while you're there. Our cottage was beautiful! Very clean, very nicely decorated and it had everything we needed. It was fun reading the journal in our room (be sure to leave an entry!). We also enjoyed playing board games at our table. We opted to have dinner at the restaurant as well. Be sure to make a reservation before coming - they are required. Dinner, like lunch, was amazing - we both had the filet with mashed potatoes and carrots. We haven't had food like this in a long time so we really enjoyed it. The cheese ball for the appetizer was also really good and my wife had the apple, walnut, and cranberry salad. Delicious. We opted not to have dessert. We had heard great things about their desserts... but in true wilderness fashion, we wanted to make s'mores! Behind the restaurant, there is a fire pit, complete with firewood, tinder, and a common room in the inn nearby with matches, newspaper, etc. We made our own fire and roasted marshmallows! We did unfortunately have a scare at the fire - please be advised that it is VERY dark outside at night due to the lack of lighting and the fact that you're in the country (no city lights, etc.). We heard a rustling in the woods in front of us and a snort noise that sounded like a dog (coyote). This spooked us - we made loud noises to try and scare it (or them) off... 5 minutes went by before we heard something again! We also heard something thrown at us (likely dropped - there is an apple tree next to the pit). SO... we packed our stuff up and got out of there! Good thing we had a flash light - we had walked down for dinner. I would recommend driving down if you plan on staying out past dark. It was a scary walk all the way back to the cottage! But, we made it and had a good night sleep in our king bed. The bed itself was a little springy but the pillows and bedding were awesome - very soft, pillowy, and comfortable. We woke up and packed up the next morning - breakfast is 8 - 10 AM (complimentary) and checkout is at 11 AM. The breakfast was pretty good - I had scrambled eggs with a "spicy" sausage patty (just a regular sausage patty) and sourdough toast (again amazing). They also had an area with yogurt, fruit, and their homemade granola which was also delicious! My wife had eggs with bacon and she gave me her inn muffin, which was a delicious muffin with chocolate chips - warm and melty delicious. Checked out after that - no problems and my wife picked up a couple of unique items from the gift shop. Tip - there is a $5 coupon in the magazine they give you when you check in that is good for $5 off $25 in either the restaurant or gift shop! I bet a lot of people miss that.

Other observations - everyone at the inn was very friendly and made you feel welcome. We went in the middle of the week and noticed that most people were older than us (we are late 20s / early 30s). We overheard one of the employees mentioning how they had recently lost several staff members, that someone else was cooking, etc. - didn't seem to affect anything from what we could tell!

Other than that, be sure to check out the Hocking Hills Dining Lodge for lunch and dinner - we had a really great lunch there. Hiking is a must - we saw Cedar Falls and Old Man's Cave. Can't wait to do it again!

Room Tip: I know the Sumac cottage is handicap friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 12, 2013
Your extensive review provided all the details...the comfy cottage, delicious meals (you ate them all), fun around the campfire (did you know that deer snort?), and purchases in the gift shop. But, the nicest compliment was about our staff and how gracious and caring they were. Thanks for writing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allison Park, PA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very nice enjoyable place. The grounds are so beautiful and the highlight with flowers, view, birds, gardens, plenty of green space. The restaurant is pricey but the food is excellent making the price worthwhile. The main restaurant is in a log cabin built in 1846, a dining experience not to miss. If your expecting to get a few work items finished, go else where. The cell services and WiFi are pathetic! But isn't that why your visiting such a place, to get away.

Staff are quite friendly and treat customers like a first class resort. If you want to spend some hard earned $$ to get away at a remote place. This is your place. Just don't forget your wallet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Next time you visit, check out the Fireside Lounge for wif-fi and cell phone service. The business center has computer use for our guests. Also, the rooms and cabins have wi-fi access.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. If you looked up tranquility in the dictionary.....you would find The Inn and Spa at Cedar Falls. We were In one of the cabins; which was down home rustic with modern conveniences. Breakfast was absolutely scrumptious, something for everyone, and no reason to leave the property for dinner as the food at the Inn was fabulous! Ellen our innkeeper was always around making sure that her guests were happy. Wonderful place to escape to, especially knowing that there isn't any cell service or wifi in the cabins......just peacefulness. When you want or need cell/wifi service, it is available in the main lodge. I also enjoyed my facial at the Spa......we will go back!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Delighted to hear you ate all your meals with us and they were top notch. Appreciate all the kind compliments about our staff. See you next round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medina, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This Inn is absolutely beautiful... so very serene!! We were there from Sept. 30-Oct. 2 with two close friends; we both stayed at cabins (Dogwood & Tree Top - great accommodations!).
Before we played some golf and enjoyed the colors of autumn, the ladies enjoyed an amazing facial massage.
In addition, the food is absolutely delectable and the staff was wonderful!!!
Many thanks for a wonderful stay and look forward to our next visit at this wonderful Inn.

Room Tip: The cabins are peaceful and are equipped with everything you can think of... just like home!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
How perfect, the guys enjoyed a round of golf, while the ladies rejuvenated at the spa. Sounds like nice time for friends to spend uninterrupted time together. Come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

During the past year, I've had two groups (10-20 folks each) for overnight retreats at the Inn at Cedar Falls. It was great. The accommodations are wonderful (great pillows), the food delicious (and served right on schedule by very kind people), the meeting room fully equipped, and the general site in the country is conducive to really getting away and focusing on the Bigger Thoughts. I'll be back whenever I can.

Room Tip: If you want ever greater privacy, ask about the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Glad we met all of your needs for your executive retreat! The Gathering Place was designed and created to for corporate meetings and events. Thanks for your repeat business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls

Address: 21190 State Route 374, Logan, OH 43138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hearty breakfast is included with every stay. Enjoy a fine dining experience in a relaxed setting after a long hike in the Hocking Hills. The restaurant is located on the Inn grounds in an 1840s log cabin. The kitchen is open style so guest may watch their meals being prepared. Lunch is available 11am-2pm. Dinner by reservation. Reconnect with yourself with a relaxing spa treatment in our unique destination spa. Plan your next corporate retreat and business meeting in the Gathering Place with WIFI and all your AV needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn & Spa At Cedar Falls Hotel Logan
The Inn And Spa At Cedar Falls
The Inn & Spa At Cedar Falls Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.