We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat from the Kids!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls

Save Saved
You added The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls
21190 State Route 374, Logan, OH 43138   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Rekindle Romance
Ranked #2 of 3 Logan B&B and Inns
1 review
“Treat from the Kids!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Our kids surprised us with a trip to the Inn at Cedar Falls in February 2013. I love the Hocking Hills area but never was there during the winter. Was concerned about getting there because it was a 3 1/2 hour drive but we ended up with great weather. We had a fantastic trip! We stayed in the Sumac Cottage which was clean, warm and very comforable. No TV so we had to talk and play games that were provided which was really good for us. The only thing I missed was a microwave. The package the kids got us provided goodies for us and breakfast both mornings. Breakfast was a full breakfast and we loved everything we ordered. The Chef did a fantastic job. We treated ourselves to an evening meal at the Inn and spent about $100 on drinks and food but everything was fantastic from the Inn's atmosphere, service and friendliness of everyone. The bag of goodies we received were great and loved the quality of the shirts and mugs. Hocking HIlls was wonderful in the winter and we really enjoyed our hiking! A few icy trails made us turn back but next time we will come prepared with crampons. We also treated ourselves at the spa which we absolutely loved! We plan to go back again as soon as can!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
What a lovely present you received. Many guests come stay from a gift certificate they received from a loved one. Winter is one of this innkeepers favorite seasons.
Some of the cottages do have a microwave so ask about that the next time you visit. And, in case you ever feel a need to bring a favorite movie (although we have many selections from which to choose), our cabins have TV's to accomodate that.
We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    241
    49
    12
    7
    3
See reviews for
23
212
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

My husband and I took a little weekend get away March 23,-24-13. Cedar falls is located in Hocking Hills, Logan, Ohio. The inn is surrounded by birds, peaceful serenity, wood, hiking trails, and much more. It was our first stay there and we loved it. It has a gift shop and a log
Cabin Restaurant on site. The food was wonderful. The staff very warming, and kind. we drove a few miles down the road and hiked Ash Cave. Also located in vicinity is "Old Man Cave". Cabins are also available at Cedar Falls. We cannot wait to visit with this beautiful place soon!!!:)) John &Pam Wendell, WV

Room Tip: Meadowlark room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Delighted you took advantage of the state parks that surround us. It's one of the perks our guests like best, being ideally nestled in between Old Man's Cave and Cedar Falls. Glad you enjoyed our gift shop too. We have new items coming in daily as we gear up for the busy season. We look forward to your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heath, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We spent a weekend in a cottage at the Inn at Cedar Falls. It was clean, cozy, comfortable and romantic. The fireplace in the room and the two person whirlpool tub were lovely. We also enjoyed the private view of the woods from our balcony/deck. Dinner was included for one night with this package deal but we splurged and went both nights. The food was delicious both times. The couples massage was absolutely wonderful and so relaxing that my husband fell asleep. This was a perfect way to celebrate our 35th anniversary!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Many of our guests come to celebrate a special occasion, glad to see you did too. Happy Belated Anninversary, 35 years is a big one to enjoy. And, what a way to relax, at our spa. Consistency is important and we were happy to see you liked dinner both night's. Keep on celebrating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was our second visit to the Inn at Cedar Falls, and certainly won't be our last. A while back we stayed in the Inn in the summer and had a very nice visit and vowed to return. This time we stayed in a cottage, during the winter season, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Our cottage was terrific, small and cozy, with a gas log stove and a nice size whirlpool tub in the main living area. We made extensive use of both features. We spent a lot of time relaxing in the cottage, but also hiked at Conkle's Hollow and other local scenic spots. Besides the getaway atmosphere, the thing that really draws us to the Inn at Cedar Falls is the restaurant. It is absolutely outstanding. It's not a bargain, but the setting and the food are great. The rustic setting in the old log house, with top notch food, is irresistible. Our cottage was within an easy walking distance of the restaurant, so that was a plus as well. They have added wi-fi in the common area, which was good for checking on things, but in the cottage, we had no cell or wifi, which I liked. A really really nice place. We have no problem recommending it for a romantic retreat.

Room Tip: The cottages are much more private, but we really enjoyed the Inn room as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Now, that you've tried a room and cottage, that leaves an 1840's log cabin. Glad you noticed we have Wi-Fi and cell phone use in the Fireside Lounge. We do have W-Fi in the rooms and cottages, sorry it wasn't working in your cottage when you were here. Although it sounds like you were happy about that! We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powell, OH
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our destination in the Hocking Hills for the past 4 years has been the Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls. We sincerely doubt that we will look elsewhere. Ellen & Terry and the entire staff go above and beyond in all aspects from check-in, room or cabin accommodations, dining, massages, recommendations and check-out. Whenever we leave, no matter the length of time we stay or our stress levels upon arrival, we regret that our time at the Inn wasn't long enough.

Room Tip: If you can, book a cabin. Unbelievable peacefulness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Consistency is everything. And, your positive review and returning again and again, shows our staff continues to maintain our level of excellence. Thanks for all you do to contribute to our success.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellbrook, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Inn last weekend. Friday's wine tasting dinner was excellent. There was no pressure to buy the wines; she just went around to all the tables and explained how they were made, where they came from, etc. The food was absolutely top notch, as always. Their chef is amazing; the wait staff is also very good. It is pricey, but we've never been disappointed in any dinner or breakfast we've had in our 3 times here. The rooms are comfortable and very clean. This is a great location for exploring Hocking Hills.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellen G, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We agree, our chef, does an outstanding job, time after time. Consistency is extremely important. Hope you join us for another event this year. The Spirits dinner is in April.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

My husband and I have read glowing accounts of the Inn at Cedar Falls ever since it opened (25 years ago?), but we only recently made our first visit. It won't be our last.

We spent two nights in a second floor Inn room, and since it was a midweek, midwinter visit, there didn't seem to be any other guests in the Inn rooms (others were staying in cottages or cabins), so we had absolute peace and quiet. On our first evening we looked out one of our room windows to see a fox on the prowl in the adjacent meadow! The room was perfectly adequate - a VERY comfy queen-sized bed, a small desk and upright chair, two upholstered chairs, a freestanding fireplace/heater, a window unit for heat and A/C (the latter not an issue in February!), and a small refrigerator. Each afternoon there were a couple of Inn-baked cookies waiting for us on the desk (peanut butter one day, sugar cookies the next).

Inn rooms, such as the one we stayed in, are not in the same building as the dining room and lounge, but behind it and up a hill in a large, barn-like building of their own. I can believe that, as an earlier reviewer said, the soundproofing between the rooms is not very effective, but since we had no neighbors during our stay, noise was not an issue. If we return in a busier period, we'll probably choose a cottage for silence and privacy, but in foul weather we were happy to have only a short walk to the dining room.

The included breakfast, available only to Inn guests, is . . . simply wonderful. It begins with a help-yourself buffet of fruit, yogurt, and homemade granola. Then there is a choice among three hot options: eggs (prepared however you like), steel-cut oats, or a daily special (for us it was excellent quiche one day and heavenly pancakes with maple syrup the next), each served with a couple of sides of the diner's choice. Really terrific.

Dinner is by reservation only, and open to the general public. In winter months dinner is not served every night of the week, which influenced when we scheduled our stay since we intended to eat dinner at the Inn both nights, and I'd rate our meals as very good - outstanding in some parts but not all. Over our two nights we tried two salads (just fine); a scrumptious, spicy black-bean soup; a very interesting appetizer of naan (Indian flatbread) with caramelized onions, apples, and I don't remember what else (messy to eat but yummy); and 3 different entrees. My husband had a chicken breast with sage, fennel, caramelized onions served atop sweet potato gnocchi, and I could have happily eaten a bowl of the sauce with a spoon! The chicken breast was overcooked in its thin end, OK in the thicker part. My scallop dish was good, but for the price three diver scallops seemed a bit skimpy, and they were slightly over-seared. The pumpkin ravioli, though, was absolutely fabulous. I don't remember what all was in it - at least sage, nuts, and dried cranberries - (and the winter menu is no longer posted online for my reference), but both of us were in heaven eating it.

Desserts were fine - there was an excellent flourless chocolate cake (more like a chocolate paté), a tasty fruit cobbler served warm with ice cream, and a rum/raisin creme brulee that tasted very good but lacked the expected smooth texture (perhaps it had reached too high a temperature at some point). The wine list is ample with several good options by the glass, and there are various other alcoholic options we didn't explore at all.

Service at both breakfast and dinner was truly friendly and efficient, which made for a lovely atmosphere, as did the rambling rustic building, which, beyond the tavern and dining spaces includes the inviting Fireside Lounge as well as a meeting room at the far end.

I was impressed by the items available in the gift shop and bought several things that had been made locally - although I'm usually not much of a shopper. Both my husband and I also had massages at the beautifully-sited spa, which we enjoyed, particularly after hiking through the spectacular icy winterscape of Old Man's Cave and the Grandma Gatewood trail. Throughout our stay, every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. Unlike the experience of a previous reviewer, we were asked upon arrival if we needed help with our luggage.

Be aware that except for a few handicapped spaces, parking for the Inn rooms (as opposed to the cottages or cabins) and restaurant is located on the other side of State Route 374, and the unpaved parking lot can be messy and muddy in rain or snow. But, after all, this is a rustic area in one of the state's most naturally scenic and rugged areas, so one deals with the topographic limitations! There are beautiful, easy walks in the area as well as more extensive hikes within just a few minutes' drive of the Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zinnLogan, Owner at The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
What can I say, but, "WOW", thanks for the glowing report. And, in such detail. Need I say more, except we can't wait til you return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls

Address: 21190 State Route 374, Logan, OH 43138
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Ohio > Logan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Logan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A hearty breakfast is included with every stay. Enjoy a fine dining experience in a relaxed setting after a long hike in the Hocking Hills. The restaurant is located on the Inn grounds in an 1840s log cabin. The kitchen is open style so guest may watch their meals being prepared. Lunch is available 11am-2pm. Dinner by reservation. Reconnect with yourself with a relaxing spa treatment in our unique destination spa. Plan your next corporate retreat and business meeting in the Gathering Place with WIFI and all your AV needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn And Spa At Cedar Falls
The Inn & Spa At Cedar Falls Hotel Logan
The Inn & Spa At Cedar Falls Ohio/Logan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn & Spa at Cedar Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.